We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming quiet hotel”
Review of Villas Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Casa Morada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My wife and I looked at a few options of where to stay in San Cristobal, but we were glad we picked the Casa Morada. It's just under a ten minute walk into town (downhill) and this was fine by us as we were far enough away from the louder central streets but close enough to everything you would care to see in San Cristobel.

Our room was on the first floor, it had a kitchen and dining table, sitting area, bedroom and bathroom / sink area. We had a small balcony with chairs to relax on which overlooked the courtyard which had a very comfortable hammock!!

The room was beautifully decorated, in fact we stayed in 5 hotels around Mexico on our stay, and this room had by far the most character. There were murals on the fireplace and above the bed, Mayan textiles on the walls and the bedspread and cushions too. There isn't air conditioning, however it's not needed. During the day it was mid-thirties, but as the sun sets it gets a little chilly due to the mountains, and I was wearing jeans and t-shirt & cardigan by the evening. They also provide firewood and matches to light a fire should you want to.

All around San Cristobal the sound of cockerels can be heard, and we did hear some early in the morning during our stay, but to me that added to the atmosphere of the place. This is semi-rural Mexico at its best.

The staff were very friendly, and ordered us taxi's as and when we needed them.

The hotel is also close to Na Bolom, which is a must for any visit to San Cristobal.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

Villas moradas is a very nice hotel with really helpful staff. a couple of problems you should be aware of. they are currently under construction in the main single unit buildings and the noise starts at 7:30 am. they switched us apartments to a quieter building but not until we asked. there are no screens on the window so you get mosquitos and spiders in the apartment (not sure if this is common everywhere here in the city). there is no air conditioning. its not hot in the apartments because of the brick and tile but air conditioning will help with the sound of the roosters from the next door neighbours howling all day and night.

Like i said -- staff was great, very safe and cute apartments but a few problems

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniaEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We spent two nights in very nicely appointed villa last month. It's an easy walk to downtown (less than ten minutes to the main square), but is far enough away that it's quiet at night -- we were awakened by roosters, not people. The men at the front desk were extremely helpful -- from recommending restaurants for breakfast (la Casa del Pan was our favorite) to arranging transportation, to orienting us with maps of town. The villa was comfortable, and immaculately clean (we walked past an open door to another room and saw a housekeeper on the floor vaccuuming under the bed for quite awhile), and nicely decorated with unique touches. Firewood was assembled in our fireplace each night (all we had to do was light a match -- or we could have called the front desk and they would have done it for us). There was a large water cooler (garrafon) in the kitchen. Plenty of hot water (once it warmed up) in the shower. Clean , clean clean. Quaint, cute, pleasant. I would stay here again any time.

One note: Just because this is the highest-rated hotel in San Cristobal on Tripadvisor does NOT mean that taxi drivers from the Tuxtla Airport know where it is. It's small, and a little off the beaten track, and quite non-descript from the outside (don't let that fool you!)Make sure to have the address if not a map with you when you first arrive!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

If you want a spacious, attractive, modern, and comfortable hotel near the center of town, but enough of a little walk to be away from the noise, Villa Casa Morada is the place. The staff are helpful with any request from where to buy something to scheduling a guide for the small nearby villages. We stayed a week and felt grateful for our small suite and kitchen. This was exactly the kind of place to use as a base for exploring San Cristobal and surrounding towns.
We came "home" each day to a relaxing and beautiful set of rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgetsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Don't be discouraged by the poor curb appeal of this hotel. Once you pass through the front door you will be pleasantly surprised. We paid about $20 more per night here than other accommodations in Mexico ( a treat after the overnight bus trip from Oaxaca ) and it was well worth it. The room had kitchen facilities, a fireplace with wood and was very well appointed. The location is a little out of the way but everything is close in Cristobal so that's not much of an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I have visited San Cristobal many times but decided this time to try one of the apartments available at this property. They have several price ranges but I rented one on the lower end of the scale. Nice, basic local rustic furnishings and all very well maintained. This is not for anyone wanting to be in the center--its in a historic neighborhood and a long walk from the center.
The staff was outstanding. I had only one problem and that was that the place had an off smell when I arrived--as if it had been closed up for awhile. But once I told management, the staff came three times that night and quickly took care of the problem and kept in constant touch. Very professional , helpful staff.
I highly recommend --if the location is good for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RobertSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at Casa Morada for 9 nights and felt like family by the time we left. Everyone, from Roberto, Hector and Pablo at the front desk and Pati, who cleaned our room and took care of laundry, were so wonderful to us, helpful and sweet at all times. We had a full kitchen, with a stove, microwave, refrigerator, a 5 gallon container of drinking water and silverware, a coffee maker, etc. so we ate breakfast in the room most mornings, and really appreciated that we had use of this kitchen for our snacks and etc.

There was a beautiful fireplace in the room, and although we needed help making the fire each night, someone would come in and set it up for us and we had beautiful blazing fires each night. Also, we left for two days to go to the jungle and we asked Hector, who was on duty when we left, so have our room warm for us when we returned the next night. We come back to find Roberto on duty and he had built and started a gorgeous blazing fire in our room to welcome us back! We also had a lot of TV channels and tried to practice our Spanish by finding movies in English with Spanish subtitles.

The location was very convenient, a quick walk to the outdoor market, the zocalo, etc. We highly recommend the place and enjoyed our stay immensely. If there is one improvement, it would be a better shower head, although we had plenty of hot water. But the room was very spacious, with a living area, a dining area, the bedroom, and bathroom, with lots of closests and drawers, and a lovely courtyard in back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Casa Morada

Address: Av. Diego Dugelay 45, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#4 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $82 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Casa Morada is a small boutique hotel with 10 rooms, 8 of them suites with one or two bedrooms located in the historic center of San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico. All Suites do have an equipped kitchen, dining and living room with fire place. Free WIFI access. Villas Casa Morada is an ideal place for an extended stay in the Highlands of Chiapas in order to discover the ancient Mayan Culture or even learn Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Casa Morada Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Hotel Casa Morada
Villas Casa Morada San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing