We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable rooms and very obliging staff make ut a perfect spot”
Review of Villas Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Casa Morada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the ambiance, peace and helpfulness of the staff. Really great.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EireDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

we spent two nights at the Villa Casa Morada. The location is not right in the centre but still central enough to easily stroll to the central square and take the whole city in on foot. The old renovated colonial building is a charming home to not many hotel rooms. OUr roo, a juniour suite, had a little living room with kitchen and a separate bedroom. the living room opened up to the interior garden (lovely) and also had an open fire place that came filled with firewood. as evenings get quite chilly in San Cristobal, we had a fire on both nights. the whole place is clean and well kept. Staff are friendly. Fast and free wifi access in the rooms. Free parking in secure parking lot around the corner from the hotel. Overall no complaints about the hotel, very nice place, lots of charme and in a good location. I did have the impression though that there are many places like this in San Cristobal (and many more than listed on Tripadvisor) , so it is probably worth to look around and find an even nicer place for a better deal. As most hotels in Mexico, the Casa Morada was not really a bargain. A must to visit is the "Na Bolom" foundation, housed in a colonial building. The foundation promotes Maya culture and helps the indigenous peoples of the region. The complex also houses a restaurant (we had breakfast there twice - very tasty) and a hotel. I did not visit their rooms, but I would think that would be the best place to stay in San Cristobal!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasibru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I live in San Cristobal and wanted a special place to celebrate our anniversary. The Villas Casa Morada was perfect! We had a delicious dinner in the dining room in front of a fire. The service both for dinner and at the front desk was impeccable. The room had everything we needed--extra blankets and a heater because the night was cold. And the price was reasonable for the quality. Beautiful bathrooms!
And all local artwork on the walls.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soyalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Absolutely charming suites with fireplace and separate bedroom with excellent prices, restaurant on premises, wifi, free internet, etc. Walking distance (about 10 blocks) from city center, near Na Balom museum/inn/foundation. Very accessible. Nice, helpful staff.
(Only problem - only one bed in bedroom. Other rooms - large, but not suites, have two, if you need them.)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a small, tasteful boutique hotel. It's only a few blocks walk to the crafts market and church in one direction and about four or five blocks to a ton of restaurants and shops in the other direction.

The staff, especially Victor, spoke great English and were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a delicious continental complimentary breakfast each morning and they also have other cooked breakfast options for a reasonable price. We ate dinner here twice, once in the restaurant and once they brought our dinner up to our room. Both times the food was good.

Our suite was really comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful fireplace and they provided firewood each day (additional firewood can be purchased for $4). We had a kitchen (equipped and drinking water provided), a very comfortable bed, lots of hanging space for clothes and suitcases, a safe deposit box and they also provided Italian toiletries. Our seven-year-old was traveling with us and they set up a single bed in the living room for him.

We enjoyed having a glass of wine in the evening by the big fire in the restaurant/bar area before going out into the chilly December night-time weather. There is also a garden courtyard area with a hammock and chairs that is available for relaxing with a book during the day (they have a selection of books you can borrow by the frontdesk). The wi-fi worked well too. They have free parking for guests as well.

I definitely recommend this very friendly and well run hotel. I think our rate per night was about $120 - really good value. We enjoyed our stay here and would gladly return again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WSISonoma_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

This is our third trip to San Cristobal and we stayed in Casa Morada for two weeks. The hotel has villas (1 and 2 bedroom) with a sitting area, fireplace, kitchenette and bath, and there are several hotel rooms with just bed and bath. Newly built and well designed, it is convenient to the pedestrian walkway that crosses San Cris, Na Bolom ( a "must see" in San Cris), the artisans market and major landmarks. Very easy to get a taxi to where you want to go, too.

The staff are friendly without being intrusive and go out of their way to make you feel at home. There are beautiful local textiles in the rooms (bedspreads and curtains), the villa kitchens make it easy to have breakfast at leisure (refrig.,cooktop, micro, coffee maker, purified water).

Our villa was on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the garden. We used our fireplace or the bedroom electric heater for cool nights. There is a restaurant and small bar.

Owner speaks perfect English and has lived in San Cris for a long time. He has his own doctor, who is English speaking, on call for hotel guests. We didn't need the doctor but were glad to know this has been set up.

With 8 villas and 2 regular hotel rooms it is quiet and personal. We are planning to reserve for next year. By far the nicest place we have found in San Cris....our home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanMiguelTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We enjoyed a lovely spacious room complete with fire, kitchen, sofa. Breakfast is served in the city in a good restaurant 10 minutes walk away, although I understand a restaurant is being built on premises. Our room was very quiet, and the service was excellent. Due to Mexicana's demise we were unable to make our first night but the staff were very accommodating and did not charge us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Casa Morada

Address: Av. Diego Dugelay 45, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#4 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $83 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Casa Morada is a small boutique hotel with 10 rooms, 8 of them suites with one or two bedrooms located in the historic center of San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico. All Suites do have an equipped kitchen, dining and living room with fire place. Free WIFI access. Villas Casa Morada is an ideal place for an extended stay in the Highlands of Chiapas in order to discover the ancient Mayan Culture or even learn Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Casa Morada Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Hotel Casa Morada
Villas Casa Morada San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing