We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right now is a fraud!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Grigua Hostel

La Grigua Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grigua Hostel
Mexico city
1 review
“Right now is a fraud!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

This place no longer exist, meanwhile it still appears in the travel pages as a place to stay and you can pay your stay in advance only to find out that is a private house and you have been stolen. The italian couple who previously managed the B & B have left the country but are still advertising and getting money for this place! They didn't have permission from their landlady to run a B & B, so it's been a complete fraud from the very beggining!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank campirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

Staying at La Grigua was certainly an experience! The double room was spacious and bright, no problems there. My complaint concerns the overall atmosphere of the casa. Run by an Italian couple, who seemed so laid back at first, I was surprise to find that once the initial welcome was over, I felt "in the way". It doesn't help that the living room is their own private living room and you walk straight into it via the front door.

The couple are both heavy smokers and I was rather annoyed that the house was smoky most of the time. I did feel persuaded to try the Italian cuisine that the couple offered and was sorely disappointed in the portion and flavour. I also didn't like the fact that they smoked whilst preparing my dinner.

The couple will book tours for you but they charge more than the going rate at travel agents on the main plaza. There are dogs and several cats in the casa. They are friendly, of course, but when they come bounding into your room when you need to use the bathroom late at night it can cause some alarm. Oh and the nearby roosters can make sleep a virtual impossibility. If you like animals, don't mind a smoky environment and can tolerate the changeable moods of the hosts then this place is for you.

  • Liked — Double room, location
  • Disliked — Noisy, smokers run the property.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderlusterUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milano
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

i was there for 2 weeks
the italian food is very good
Paolo e Laura, the owners are very friendly
there is the chemisty corner
i'll be back soon

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank camayMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesena
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

la grigua in san cristobal was one of the nicest thing i had in my trip...laura and paolo are really nice peaple full of attention for their guest. the house is clean and confortable. and they have an exellent italian menu!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank markovna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#29 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#2 of 85 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Azulejos
Hotel Azulejos
#54 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grigua Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grigua Hostel

Property: La Grigua Hostel
Address: Calle Brasil # 31 | barrio de Mexicanos, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 105 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Grigua, a comfortable Hostel situated in the colonial city of San Cristobal de las Casas, the cultural capital of Chiapas , Mexico. San Cristobal lays in the heart of the 2,300m high Altos, surrounded by Indigenous villages and positioned on the Ancient Mayan Route "Ruta Maya" which even today can be retraced in its original historic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Grigua Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing