We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Media Luna
Nearby Hotels
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$76
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Mexicana(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Santa Lucia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Escaleras by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diego De Mazariegos(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion del Valle(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$45
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Docecuartos Hotel(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bo(San Cristobal de las Casas)
$185
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas(San Cristobal de las Casas)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
131
106
39
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
106
39
17
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 305 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel la media luna is located at the entrance to the city, close to the bus station.
It is close to the main street, and close to many restaurants. It is not close to the open air market.
The rooms are ok,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felizmujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la_media_luna, Owner at Hotel La Media Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hi,
thank you for taking time in reviewing our property. I'd just like to point out that the hotel is located downtown, not at the entrance of the city. We are only 3 blocks away from the main place (some 300 meters), and a few meters from one of the main pedestrian streets crossing the historical centre.
The open marketplace is at the other end of the centre (a little outside the centre itself).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I want to start my review by emphasising my disapointment when I saw the Hotel. Firts of all, this is not a hotel, this is not much better than a hostel.
I stayed there in September 2013 and this accommodation was the only downside of my visit to San Cristobal de las Casas. I made the reservation (for five days) based on the reviews on tripadvisor. The reviews are good so we thought it was going to be good. But at our arrival the staff was not helpful or friendly, the smell of damp was unbearable and bedroom's ceiling was covered in mold, the bathroom was filthy and the shower took ages to get warm, poor ventilation and the pillows were smelly!
To keep it simple" STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! I went to look for other options in the town and they were way better, cheaper and staff super friendly and helpful.
There are many hotels and 'posadas' in this town, so there are many other options. I cannot understand how people can give good reviews to this place.. I saw one called 'Tepeyac' was cheaper and way nicer, or any other real hotel!!
Besides this bad experience, the trip to San Cristobal de las Casa was great.. So if you go and want to have a nice holiday, keep away from this place!

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here, rooms upstairs are slightly better than downstaris (rooms from 9-11?)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeneO8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We got what we expected and Can only recommend the hotel. It has all the things we required for two nights. The Best part of this place is that it is situated in the center and all is in walking distance. The staff is great and ask Jesus to give u a map of town and he Will describe everything.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Although, we missed our first night (partly due to our fault and mother nature (read: thunderstorms)), once we arrived, it was a nice place to settle into for a good night sleep. It is only a few steps to the beginning of the walking market on Miguel Hidalgo, which leads you directly to the historical city center, the Cathedral, and many places to eat. If you forgot to exchange money at the Mexico City International Airport, there was a place to exchange your currency about 2.5 blocks from the hotel (I just remembered that we walked on Hermanos Dominguez about 2 blocks West, then we turned left or walked South on Crescencio Rosas for half the block and found a place to exchange currency)

Room Tip: If you have heavy bag,s ask for a room on the first floor. There are no elevators and usually it's ladies at the check-in desk. However, if you don't mind the climb to the third floor, which is where we stayed, then you don't have to worry about people walking above you...the floors are tiled.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Media Luna is located close to all the downtown sites of interest. It is a simple hotel with good value for the price. The owners arranged a taxi to pick us up in Tuxtla because our flight arrived late. The owner was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randi607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews