We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price with extras”
Review of Hotel D'Monica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel D'Monica
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We planned to stay for only one night but ended up staying for 3 nights because it was just too good for the price to look for something else. We stayed in the 'economica' section, which meant there was no heater in the room. We were gone all day and it was warm enough when we went to bed - it only seemed to be a little cool in the mornings. The room had a private bathroom, plenty of hot water for showers, and clean sheets and towels every day. There is a beautiful garden in the hotel and its conveniently located a few blocks from the main square and across the street from one of the tourist goods markets. We paid 300 pesos a night, about half the price they advertised at the front desk.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the 'economica' section - I think we were the only ones that stayed t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeBetsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Hotel D'Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here one night, arriving early one morning and leaving early the morning after, the hotel let us use the room from 8 or 9 am and were helpful at every turn.

I remember that the towels were pretty rough and the shower and bedroom weren't great but the grounds were nice.

The hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the bus station one way and the town square the other. Perfect for our needs.

My tip if you are coming from Oaxaca is to get the overnight Platinum bus which was about $5 more than the standard but you get a wide comfortable seat and you wake up at about 6am coming through the mountains into San Cristobal. Stunning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice colonial building with extensive garden. Rooms are basic and old fashioned, water for shower was minimal. Breakfast is extensive but very basic and scrambled eggs cold.
Good internet in lobby and restaurant and sometimes in the room. Staff at reception desk was not very helpful, did not speak english and reacted with " non comprendre " when a question for printing an e-ticket was asked. Restaurant is sober and not cosy.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank RickRots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We switched from a less expensive hotel to this one because they had a heater in the room which was a deal breaker! Pleasant stay - very friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2011
Thank mexigringaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brylof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariana berenic... c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Azulejos
Hotel Azulejos
#30 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Angelina
Hotel Maria Angelina
#62 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
17 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villas Vanessa
Villas Vanessa
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Clara
Santa Clara
#31 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#53 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Monica

Address: Calle1 De Marzo 15 Zona Centro | Chiapas, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $40 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Monica San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing