We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and moldy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Magnolias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Noisy and moldy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms in this hotel seem to be made of paper. It is very noisy. The beds are rock-hard. The room smells moldy.

The only reason this hotel got 2 stars instead of 1 is because the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    29
    6
    12
See reviews for
29
50
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I backpacked through southern Mexico (Mexico city to Cancun) during April 2012. We chose this hotel after a miserable stay in Casa Mexicana the night before. I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and just loved San Cristobal. Cost was $1550 pesos (13.2 to the dollar) using my credit card. The front desk personnel/ bellboy are learning English and enjoyed practicing with me every time we saw each other. The restaurant in the middle of the hotel was the real treat, they took our dining and comfort seriously, and were a real joy to converse with (Spanish). If you enjoy Mexican hospitality, excellent authentic foods, great service, very comfortable surroundings, I know of no better hotel/ restaurant to stay at.
When we returned through LAX on our way home we stayed at a prominent 5-star hotel ($310/night) only the bed was softer than Plaza Magnolia's bed. Mr. Marriot's employees could learn a lot about hospitality and genuine service from the Plaza Magnolia staff.
I was concerned that my chatting with all the hotel help every free moment and the gracious way they were attending to us might upset the Manager. The waiters reassured me they were there to make my stay enjoyable, they treat everyone this way. Later the Manager, who had seen us laughing and talking about every thing under the sun, passed by. He gave me a warm welcome and thanked me for staying with them and asked if he could do anything to improve my stay.
Cons: wifi didn't work upstairs in bedroom, so we emailed from the restaurant. The bed was firmer than mine at home, but we slept like a rock, I think due to the great relaxing experience of San Cristobal and Plaza Magnolia. I want to go back!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are in the back away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154KellyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The 4 star hotel that, despite its excellent location, is an enigma. It is either trying very hard to be a 4 star but doesn't have a clue how to achieve it or, assumes it is a 4 star and is failing miserably. The mere fact that the Manager turns-up for work at 11am and leaves at 3pm is probably indicitive of the answer to. the above.

Front of house is run by a youngsters who focus more on themselves then the guests that come through the door. Beyond the relatively impressive frontage and entrance, the further one goes inside, the more it deteriorates; the bar is empty and cold, the dining room is musty and the rooms are overpriced. Bathrooms are basic.

You do however get a considerable discount if you do pay in cash but we would not recommend it in the first place.

A small addendum if you are travelling, like us we would advise not to use DHR they have mis-allocated us to the wrong hotel, overcharged us and failed to respond to us.

Room Tip: Read the above carefully, the rooms on the higher floors have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I travelled to San Cristobal de las Casas for a conference, and found this hotel to be a perfect haven in the midst of the city. It's well-located only a block from the main square, and provides easy walking to most of the city's areas of interest. From here, you can reach more than a handful of amazing churches, two or three markets, the main pedestrian avenue, and some great restaurants and coffee shops. You'll need to walk a few blocks beyond the main square to reach more traditional restaurants.

The hotel, although the building is old, is well-appointed and the front desk and restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were simple yet comfortable. Because it is old, the hotel can be a bit noisy particularly when early departing guests roll their wheeled luggage across the tile floors. The restaurant menu was a bit of a challenge to decipher on the first morning, but from then on, the favourites were delicious and the coffee hot and rich. I loved the fact that the bells of a nearby church rang at 6:50 am each morning ... what a wonderful and magical way to wake up.

You should note that staff at the front desk spoke very little English, so if you don't speak Spanish, a simple phrase book helps immensely.

If in San Cristobal again, I would stay at the Plaza Magnolia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view window. Some rooms at the back of the hotel have only a small window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CranbrookDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very comfortable hotel, in a good location.
Not a great value for money but
there are cheap and stinky hotels in san cristobal, so beware.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

The Hotel has a lot of potential, but who on earth would put the master suite next to a loud salsa bar? The music went on till 2am, and I felt like the musicians were in the bedroom with me! The staff thought the whole matter hilarious and were very unhelpful and also untruthful about how long the music would go on for.

The breakfast buffet was hardly that - choice of scrambled egg, sweet pancakes and toast every day.

With better service and choice and also scrapping the master suite, this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeechyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
311 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

This hotel is lovely as it built in a traditional Spanish building dated back to the 16th century. However, there are a lot of hotels along the streets between bus station & the main square. As our main purpose is to walk around the city & visit the nearby Mayan villiages and tour to Palenque, we can actually stay in a hotel with similar style but at a lower price.

  • Liked — beautiful colonial style
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Histori...
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes
Hotel Villa Mercedes
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#30 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mision Colonial
Hotel Mision Colonial
#33 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Magnolias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Magnolias Hotel

Property: Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Address: Avenida Insurgentes 14 | Centro Histórico., San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Magnolias Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Magnolias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Magnolias Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing