We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of San Cristobal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of San Cristobal”
Reviewed March 5, 2007

I sayed in this hotel for 2 nights last february 2007. It's a beautiful hotel, in the very heart of the town. The hotel is in a very nice colonial style, with beautiful inside patios. The atmosphere is just great! The rooms are large (at least mine was...) and clean. Buffet breakfast good on quality, maybe a little bit poor on variety. Great their free internet service!!
Averall, I strongly feel to reccommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in San Cristobal.

  • Liked — The desigh and style, which created a nice athmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolphin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    104
    47
    14
    14
See reviews for
90
96
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2005

This hotel is now being run under the Holiday Inn Brand name. We checked in to a moldy, filthy room. When looking for another, cleaner, less smelly room, we discovered that, in fact, ALL the rooms are smelly, moldy, and filthy. They tried a bait and switch breakfast option - "Oh, you had fruit with your cold toast, that'll be 100 pesos.

Holiday Inn did not respond to complaints, other than to say, "too bad."

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thesaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2004

we spent 2 night at the Hotel Flamboyant and we enjoyed our stay.
The hotel has a lovely courtyard, and some rooms open on to it.... unfortunately we didn't get one of those because we arrived on a night where a large group was staying as well.
Breakfast can be buffet or a la carte depending on the number of guests.
The quality was quite alright.

Our room was nice, not too humid although a bit dark. Lovely tiles in the bathroom!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara, mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2004

Wonderful 4-star hotel with a magnificent patio and terrace, with beautiful flowers and coffee tables. Close to everything in San Cristobal. Absolutely the place to stay. Just be sure to ask for an inside room not facing the street, since you?d be awaken very early in the morning.

Helpful?
3 Thank GMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2004

The Hotel Flamboyant has a lot going for it. The location is great, one street back from the Zocola. The interior spaces (rooms and courtyards) are beautiful - plants, tiles, wall-colours. The service is friendly.
The prices seemed reasonable.

The restaurant was more expensive and less interesting than out in the streets (could be a positive for the cautious eater!)

Some tour-groups came through - their visits were noisy but mercifully brief, which made the place feel even calmer after they had gone.

Overall, I would recommend the Flamboyant.

Helpful?
8 Thank Keenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal

Property: Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Calle 1ro. de Marzo 15 | Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol)
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas
San Cristobal De Las Casas Holiday Inn
Sombra Del Agua Hotel San Cristobal San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing