We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked the hotel 2h before arrival, paying with priority club points. We arrived and had a pleasant surprise. Normally the Holiday Inn hotels are standard hotels with no special details. This hotel is located directly in the center with a beautiful patio and (at least our room) a nice, spacious and clean room. also the hallway was nicely decorated with local art.
Unfortunately the breakfast was only average, only a buffet was offered and no a la carte. But San Cristobal has enough alternatives for good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 881CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed two nights in this beautiful colonial building with three patios. Our room was spacious, beds were comfortable (I like a firm mattress) and we had no problem with noise but that was because we looked out onto a patio. No problems with hot water either but we did have problems with the heating and aircon. There appeared to be a hot water pipe running under our bathroom floor and up one wall of the bedroom making both hot to the touch. The air con did not work either so even in early February we were much too hot. After the first night we complained and reception offered to get maintenance to look into it - but despite the promise nothing was done and we sweltered for a second night

Breakfast was a buffet with a better choice than in most Mexican hotels that we stayed in, plus they made pancakes, omelettes and other egg dishes to order. However after breakfast they would serve nothing - not even a drink in the patio - until 6pm. and on our second day they did not even open for evening dinner because they were decorating. our whole group found it incredible that in a hotel of that category did not have any bar facilities.

If you are thinking of staying here check very carefully on maintenance works, and availability of services ( we saw no evidence at all of the pool and fitness room that others have mentioned).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear chesterbuff,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our beds.

However, We’re sorry about the poor air conditioning. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights in San Cristobal. Our rooms were not large but they were nice. The beds were firm and comfortable with multiple pillows to choose from. Each room has an in-room safe (a must when traveling) and windows that open for fresh air. We had no problems with hot water. The faucets are vertical vs. horizontal so maybe those who had water problems did not try using the lower facet first to start the hot water. The courtyard area is nice for gathering with fellow travelers and they provide a very nice breatfast buffett. On the downside, the business area computer could use an upgrade, there is no pool or workout area (possibly under renovation?) and there is no restaurant or room service. Even a very basic room service would be nice after a long day out exploring.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarriedinMx2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nothing intrinsically wrong with the hotel. The staff were helpful, the garden courtyard was very beautiful, and the breakfast buffet was ok. However, while our room was clean and a good size, there was very little natural light, and the WiFi signal was virtually nil.
There is a lot of competition in San Christobal and I am quite sure it would be possible to find something better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozziehash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear fozziehash,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pros: Good location, comfortable bed and pillows

Cons: Extremely noisy, no hot water, ridiculously overpriced, unhelpful staff, small rooms,
slow internet

This hotel is possibly the worst option I could ever imagine. We arrived in the city late, and most other hotels were booked so we decided to spend the extra money and stay here for the night.

Big mistake. Upon hearing the price tag of the room, we thought we were in for a treat but instead it was closer to a nightmare. The room was so small that there was hardly enough room to walk on either side, and the first thing we were greated with, after a long day of travel, was an ice cold shower. It proceeded to get worse; we went to bed at 02:00 am and the staff decided this would be a great time to do some maintenance in the courtyard. For the entire night all we could hear was the staff talking loudy and some sort of mechanical noise (pump?).

Overall I would say only go here if you absolutley have to. San Cristobal is filled with many charming options so don't settle on a poorly run expensive option like this.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlairMacKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear BlairMacKay,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

PRO
* great breakfast buffet
* 1000 pesos/night/double room (incl. breakfast)
* good location
* incl. parking (2 min walk away)

CONTRA
* A small window glass was missing
* There was some dirt in the room (they cleaned it right away)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is beautiful colonial style just a block from the central square. Room was a bit small (two double beds), but bathroom was nice size with large walk-in shower. My main complaint was noise. With no air conditioning (as climate is much more pleasant), if we had windows open, we could hear people walking in open corridors. Not sure if it would help to have windows open to street instead. We were there just before a fiesta weekend, so we could hear fireworks and music rather late into the evening. The city was busy with lots to do within walking distance (don't miss Palenque Rojo show). Two main streets were blocked off for craft market and vendors. This is a great place to shop! We had breakfast in the hotel--a wonderful array of foods to please everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
0 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Calle 1ro. de Marzo 15 | Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $67 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas
San Cristobal De Las Casas Holiday Inn
Sombra Del Agua Hotel San Cristobal San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing