We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Joya Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

John, Ann, and staff I checked out the reviews on this page and find it difficult to say more than has already been said your place is head and shoulders above the rest the hospitality was above and beyond what you would expect anywhere. It's close to everything, but very quite when you need a quite place to come back to as we did.
Very close to good restaurants,easy walk to the markets shops for amber.
The entrance to the motel is a large carved wooden door immediately inside the door is an atrium that is stunning this offset with gorgeous reading room, classic rooms with walk in showers.Upstairs for breakfast (el fresco on the roof) was wonderful inside in an intimate dinning area if you like.
So John I'm not sure I'll get back to your part of Mexico but if I did I would stay with you without hesitation I loved the "Ying and Yang" of you and Ann a perfect balance Jen and I missed you as soon as we left.
All the best Southern Industrial Officer Greg

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

You and Jen have been very gracious and fun guests and we have enjoyed your stay with us for Paola's and Mike's wedding. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment. We are already missing your jovial and kind-spirited banter and the crash course on Rugby League. We hope your team does better than 54-7 this season and that your adventures at the Mayan Ruins of Chiapas have made you both ardent fans of Marvellous Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

After a long day's travel I walked into a storybook world-La Joya Hotel in quaint San Cristobal de las Casas. All is new yet all appears to have been in place for hundreds of years. Every convenience is at hand; each item, from the antiques to the in-room fireplaces to the comfy beds has been thoughtfully chosen; the staff has been thoroughly vetted in how to pamper and anticipate every need-in short, perfection. World travelers, John and Ann kindly provided insight into the town and the surrounding indigenous area. They arranged my trip to Toniná, a pre-Columbian archeological site with Ruben, a delightful, English speaking driver. As a world traveler for over 50 years I know value and quality, La Joya has both. Go and enjoy the town, the people and the hotel, you'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All are quiet and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We’re happy that you found La Joya Hotel San Cristobal and that you have become a fan of this beautiful part of the world. We won't soon forget the festivities in Chamula and hope we’ll see you down here many more times to enjoy the celebrations! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at La Joya Hotel for two weeks in February and early March, so we came to know it well. We found it outstanding, both in its “physical” and esthetic qualities, and in the people there who continually helped us. Those people were: owners Ann Conway and John Do; the staff Alejandro, Carlos and Miguel; and the two travel guides that Ann and John use most, Damian Alvarez and Alex Aranda.

We also found La Joya unique. “Joya” is Spanish for “gem” or “jewel”, and it certainly is one. It’s an exquisitely-designed and run boutique hotel. To get your mind around it, read some or all of the (so far) 18 reviews of it here. I did, prior to writing this review. They are rich in description, and glow with praise. I found nothing in them I disagreed with. Overall, they very much correspond to our own experience at La Joya.

Rather than repeat what’s already abundant in the reviews, here are some examples of why we describe La Joya as unique:

Ann provides all manner of planning support for your visit to Chiapas, starting well before your arrival. She provides services that normally you’d expect to get only from a travel agent, especially one with specialized knowledge about Chiapas. The extent and quality of the support was beyond anything that we had ever experienced before from a hotel. She worked with us to put together a full set of activities for our 2-week stay in Chiapas, prior to arrival. Then she also worked with us to make adjustments to the plans once we had arrived. She was always “there” to help us on issues ranging from where, how and with whom to travel in Chiapas, to what restaurant to have dinner at on a given evening.

To learn about what her husband John will do to help you, just read some of the following reviews.

Ann and John take considerateness and graciousness to about as high a level as one can imagine. We experienced this directly as soon as we’d walked through La Joya’s front door in mid-evening. Our arrival at the hotel had been delayed due to an issue at the airport in Tuxtla Gutierrez, so we were late. Rather than suggesting a restaurant we could go out to, Ann and John (who already knew about our problem) had prepared a big hearty soup, had set a table for us, and had wine ready to go -- compliments of the house. They sat with us and discussed everything we wanted to know about.

I could multiply this example many, many times over from our 2-week experience with them, but you’d do better to just read the following reviews.

We commend La Joya to you enthusiastically.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterInToronto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We had such fun during your stay at La Joya Hotel, and even before as we Skyped in order to create two weeks of adventures! Thanks for welcoming us into some of your activities, especially the two cooking classes that we all enjoyed with Kippy. Your enthusiasm for everything that you encountered brought sunshine to all of us! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I grew up in Tuxtla (a nearby city) and have stayed in San Cristobal in many different hotels (I can safely say in over 25 different places) and this is by far one of the best places to stay in.
It is an ideal place where to rest and have a wonderful quiet time, but only a few meters away from entertainment and shopping - it is walking distance from the main square and literally 100 meters from Real de Guadalupe, a pedestrian street full of restaurants, bars, shops. Also walking distance from Santo Domingo, the local arts and crafts market.
The hosts, John and Anna, are very loving, caring and the service and attention is unbelievable. They balance well a good chat with the space and privacy a guest would want.
Breakfasts are very well served, so make sure you wake up with a hungry stomach. Also you can enjoy their delicious breakfast, if weather permits (and it did every day for us), in a terrace with great views of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leonor_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your gracious comments about La Joya Hotel San Cristobal. As we continue to provide our guests an experience that surpasses their expectations, from fresh fruit platters and Belgian chocolates to individually ironed bed linens, choice of pillows and sumptuous beds, we would appreciate receiving your recommendations on how we could have given you the perfect sleep quality that you deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Cristobal. Happy travels to you and Keith! John and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was blessed that my good friends mother recommended LaJoya Hotel. The experience was really something special. John and Ann, the owners, are so sincere, warm and friendly that I felt so comfortable from the moment I walked though the gorgeously carved wooden doors. The location is perfect for any one visiting San Cristobal. The rooms are so immaculate and comfortable with a classic detailed design. Ann so kindly helped me with all my requests and John's breakfast's were amazing. I sincerely recommend that you choose to stay here when you visit San Cristobal, you will not be disappointed. I am also telling all my friends, family and colleagues the same!
-Malini

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaliniNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Manager at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and Gus! We could not have been more blessed with gentler and more appreciative guests. We already miss seeing you at breakfasts in the upper patio and the lovely chats we have had. We look forward to welcoming you back home to La Joya Hotel San Cristobal. John and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed in MANY! hotels around the world and this is by far the best i've ever stayed in.

John an Ann are very friendly and accommodating to your every need, they make you feel very wanted and customer service by the staff was fantastic.
No complaints at all!!!!

you will feel right at home in this hotel.

Very thankful to have stayed in this hotel.
Thank you John and Ann!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnKorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

You have been one of the kindest and most considerate guests we have hosted. We have thoroughly enjoyed your company and are very appreciative of your invaluable tips on how to maximize our internet capability. We sincerely hope that your travels take you back to San Cristobal and La Joya Hotel someday soon. John and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Once you cross over thethreshold at La Joya Hotel, your travel weariness is instantly abated and you are transported into a space of great beauty, elegance and tranquility. Your incredibly wonderful & gracious hosts, Ann Conway & John Do, greet you at the door with a warmth & graciousness that is so genuine & generous, you feel like you've been friends forever. Then you may meet the staff - three young men, always with big smiles, whose kindness & attention to service makes you feel like royalty.
I believe there are 5 guest rooms in total - all different but equally fabulous, appointed with art & treasures from Ann & John's world travels. You may have a wood burning fireplace and/or a private balcony. Your sheets have been ironed and if there's a chill in the night air, you can turn on the mattress warmer so your bed is cozy warm from the start. Just in case you want a midnight snack, there is fruit and chocolate near your bed. The bathroom? It will be a surprise - of luxury.
In the morning, you will be the very lucky recipient of John's cooking for breakfast. Each day of your stay there will be a different combination of delicious delights and it goes without saying that Ann & John have pre-checked with you for your food preferences & taboos.
Ann is a master at planning excursions customized just for you. She knows the dates, times, even festival routes of the surrounding pueblos' holidays & fiestas. She knows because she has checked each one personally. With your particular interests in mind, she will suggest the best guides. We were so fortunate to be in the wonderful care & knowledge of Damian, Alex and taxista, Rubin.
There is so much more - tea at 5, if you wish. Too tired to go out at night - how about a movie? John will light a fire, offer you a great selection of DVD's, and bring wine and cheese & crackers to your comfy seat in the TV lounge.

I could go on & on. The combination of a 5 star hotel with the the hospitality & friendship of Ann & John is an unforgettable combination. Our ten days at LaJoya Hotel truly felt like we were living in Shangra La. There are many beautiful comfortable places to stay in the world but only one of those comes with Ann & John. San Cristobal de Las Casas is the winner. There is no other place as wonderful and meaningful to us, as Ann & John's La Joya Hotel.
Suzanne K.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed your 10 days with us! And it was a pleasure creating an itinerary of the various treasures in and around San Cristobal. It seemed that everywhere you went there was something special going on. We hope you'll come back for more adventures and fireside chats! Happy travels! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero # 43A, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $145 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Joya Hotel, San Cristobal's newest gem, is located one block from the Guadalupe walking street and two blocks from the colonial center. Five boutique suites welcome guests to relax in the luxury of wood or candle burning fireplaces, sumptuous mattresses, 800-1000 thread count sheets, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, and private bathrooms that look like they stepped out of a design magazine. Gourmet breakfast included. Enjoy the elegance of a boutique hotel, the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. Prices $160-$205usd plus 2%tax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Joya Hotel San Cristobal San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing