We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful Mexican colonial town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Joya Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful Mexican colonial town”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We love La Joya Hotel! We woke up every morning in our super comfortable bed to see the sun come up over the mountains surrounding San Cristóbal. The hotel's location is perfect—one block from the pedestrian zone, but sheltered from the hubbub. San Cristóbal is full of colonial buildings, lots of color, and is surrounded by natural beauty. If I could give La Joya six stars I would. The sixth star is for the wonderful owners, Ann and John. They gave us guidance on what to see and do, got us a wonderful and very knowledgeable guide, and treated us like kings.

Room Tip: We loved La Concha for its patio and beautiful view toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed La Joya Hotel and the many adventures that you had in San Cristobal and Chiapas, from the shops and amazing holiday/new year celebrations in the surrounding villages to the Maya ruins of Tonina, Palenque, Bonampak, and Yaxchilan. You saw it all! Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
97
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

From the moment our family walked through the front door to our last day at La joya Hotel, we felt so pampered and at home here. We enjoyed nine days of adventures that owner Ann helped plan, in which each day we would leave early in the morning and return late in the evening, exhausted but full of all we saw and did...including visiting local Mayan towns and cutural events, exploring Sumidero Canyon, Cascadas Chiflon, and touring amazing Mayan ruins and much more. The Hotel offered a wonderful retreat after our long days of sight-seeing. Coming in the front door we were greeted by a world of beauty...with art, books, flowers, and beautifully appointed sitting rooms and outdoor patios. Every day our hosts and staff would change things around...giving us a new treat of different flower bouquets, books, sweets, and other luxuries that were unexpected!

This review would not be complete without mentioning the fabulous breakfasts that owner John, created every morning....always a surprise and always accompanied with freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, and many sides from which to choose!

Kudos to Ann and John, for giving us a vacation we will never forget....every aspect was perfect! From connecting us with extremely knowledgable guides and timing where we would go to corresponding local festivities (we especially enjoyed watching the New Year's celebrations from their rooftop patio)...to the tranquility of our room with its own woodburning fireplace and the extensive art and artifacts collections in every corner throughout the hotel....this was the most enjoyable hotel stay we have ever experienced. We will need to come back soon to really absorb everything that is offered at La Joya Hotel!!

Room Tip: Each room is completely different....you will need to check with the owners to decide which room bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
You packed in so many adventures during your stay with us! And such fun seeing all the treasures that you discovered in the stores and markets. Hope you will come visit us again! Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having visited Mexico many times over the years, we feel that San Cristobal de las Casas is a very special place, sort of an up-and-coming San Miguel de Allende. This charming town is walkable and there are many interesting parks, open air artisan markets, and churches you will encounter in your walks, not to mention the opportunity to visit small indigenous villages with easy access by taxi or local bus. It was a exceptional 8 days well spent!

The accommodation far exceeded all our expectations and is probably the nicest accommodation we have stayed in all over the world. Whether you are coming from a long bus ride or disrupted flights from the U.S. (as we were), once you enter through the doors of La Joya, all your stress and fatigue dissipate. (Word to the wise: try to stay with ONE airline so as to avoid transfer challenges.) The water cascading over the rocks upon the entry to La Joya offers complete tranquility for the traveler and is complemented by the abundance of oriental carpets and Mexican and international antiques throughout the inn.

Although newly constructed, the hotel's décor takes you back to the culture of Spanish era. This is truly a 5 star accommodation, with fireplaces, patios, jakuzzis, and other unique niches found throughout the hotel. The rooftop patio, library reading room, and charming breakfast room offer the guest many places to read or just sit and relax.

What does exceed the charm and uniqueness of this hotel is the hospitality of its proprietors, John and Anne. John is truly an epicurean, as you will note from your breakfast, and his knowledge of the indigenous cultures and places to explore not only in SC but in surrounding areas will assist you in your travel adventure. Anne's vast firs-hand knowledge of numerous countries and cultures that she has lived and worked in offer any guest the taste of a most interesting experience.

The hotel is the perfect place to use as your base. We were fortunate enough to arrive in SC on Shrove Tuesday to participate in the festivities of the local villages. (There are many other festivals to enjoy at other times of the year as well.) It was magical for us and after the running of the bulls, we do not feel a need to experience Pamplona, Spain. We did travel to Palenque, about 5 hours away by bus, well worth the trip and spent two days in the lowlands exploring the various Mayan Ruins. It would be a shame to go to the part of Mexico and not avail of this cultural opportunity.

This Mexican experience is two-fold, first the interesting culture of Chiapas and secondly, the uniquely charming ambience of LaJoya. Even if you spend most of your time at the inn, you will still have a wonderful experience and a trip of a lifetime.

We give a thumbs up plus/plus to both San Cristobal and La Joya and hope to make another trip there with family and friends. We guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We preferred the corner room off the left of the library although we missed not trying the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
You have so beautifully captured the magic of San Cristobal and Chiapas and why we love to welcome guests to our home. We look forward to opening our doors and finding you once again ready to celebrate this special place with us. Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful details in the decor, delicious and sustaining breakfasts, and perfect beds (complete with ironed cotton bedding) for a restful night's sleep, Hosts Ann and John have created a true jewel in the highlands of Chiapas. The hotel provide a peaceful retreat in the heart of San Cristobal, convenient to the museums, markets, churches and all the sights of the city. Our hosts arranged a wonderful driver who showed us the celebrations of Day of the Dead and a knowledgable archeologist to guide us through Mayan ruins. They also had great recommendations for wonderful restaurants, local museums, and artisans. The hospitality of Ann, John, and all the La Joya staff was outstanding. I arrived in need of respite and rest and felt very warmly welcomed and pampered - just what I needed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful (yes, I checked them all!). I chose Room 3 with a working fireplace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We're happy that you were able to take time from work and travel to beautiful Chiapas during Dia de los Muertos. It's such a special and colorful time of year. Congratulations again for climbing to the top of Tonina!!! Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My seven-day stay at La Joya Hotel was an vacation that will long be remembered. From the moment I stepped into the door, I was captivated by its serenity and enchanting decour. Each space artfully displayed unique and beautiful family collections and treasures gathered from Ann and John's travels throughout the world. I have never had a more beautiful and comfortable bedroom wih luxurious linens, seating area with fireplace and a private patio with mountain view. Many restaurants and shops were located within easy walking distance to the hotel. Ann and John were perfect hosts and worked with us to plan an interesting itinerary of sightseeing in the local area. We were connected with attentive, friendly and knowledgable guides and drivers that gave us a fascinating sense of the local culture. I will be telling all of my friends about my special vacation in San Cristobal de las Casas and eagerly recommend this charming one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a private patio with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Manager at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Glad you found your stay at LJH comfortable and relaxing. With all there is to see and do in San Cristobal and surrounding villages, it's hard not to pack each day and night with adventures. Thanks for introducing us to a new textile store! We'll be recommending it to future guests. Hope you son enjoys his scarf! Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This has to be the most comfortable and welcoming hotel I have ever stayed in and Ann and John are the most gracious and thoughtful hosts. From delicious and creative breakfasts, to the most comfortable beds ever to the glorious views of the mountains from the patios and from my room, staying here was a delightful experience. The hotel is located only four blocks from the walking streets that are packed with shops, restaurants, churches and museums. The hotel is decorated with a mix of family pieces and souvenirs from Ann and John's travels around the world, so every guest room is unique room and every common area has the most interesting collection of artifacts and books. The environment they have created is one that allows you to unwind, relax and appreciate beauty of the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, hearing about your adventures in Chiapas, and seeing the treasures that you discovered in the tiendas of San Cristobal. Hope you are enjoying your "smiling jaguar"! Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I spent an amazing week last year at the beautiful La Joya Hotel. La Joya is a labor of love, the results of which are spectacular. Ann and John are gracious hosts and made us feel so comfortable throughout our stay. They had great recommendations for exploring the surrounding area and their attention to detail and passion for interior decorating and arts from around the world really makes the hotel special. Breakfast on the rooftop, fresh flowers and a wander down to the andador are just a few of the treats that await you at La Joya Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Love your photos! They remind us of the special time we had during your visit to San Cristobal and La Joya Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back home! Ann and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya Hotel San Cristobal

Property: La Joya Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero # 43A, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Joya Hotel, San Cristobal's newest gem, is located one block from the Guadalupe walking street and two blocks from the colonial center. Five boutique suites welcome guests to relax in the luxury of wood or candle burning fireplaces, sumptuous mattresses, 800-1000 thread count sheets, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, and private bathrooms that look like they stepped out of a design magazine. Gourmet breakfast included. Enjoy the elegance of a boutique hotel, the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. Prices $160-$205usd plus 2%tax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Joya Hotel San Cristobal San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing