We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tiny restaurant”
Review of L'Arrabbiata - CLOSED

L'Arrabbiata
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: L'Arrabbiata Restaurant – a cozy intimate italian restaurant with a warming atmosphere, where the easiness of ingredients is blended with the taste of authentic italian tradition's dishes. You will taste hearty starters of fresh hand made pasta as filled ravioli and fettuccine, each served with plenty of typical sauces of italian cuisine. And no lack of music and good wine to come with a meal which anyone can afford, whether a tourist or not, thanks to the moderates prices.
Mill Valley California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic tiny restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Add my voice to the chorus of great reviews. I was astonished at how anyone could put great pasta on the table in such a micro-restaurant but she did. The proprietor does it all from bussing the tables to cooking your food. It really reminded me of an Italian family restaurant. It's very reasonable and extremely welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank wineandtravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very good tasting of wines and pastas. I try an italian wine very good quality and the pasta is very autentic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SchulzJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just as if Laura invited us to her kitchen!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We made a reservation for 6 people over the phone and found particular that the person on the line asked if we were really going to come because the restaurant was small... Well what a surprise to discover this wonderful small place with 2 tables for two and 1 table for four!

When we arrived, the four other guests of Laura (the owner) were finishing their dinner and soon left us alone with the her, who does everything (even laughing at our joke from the kitchen, which is really 6 feet away from the tables!). Everything here is typical Italian (Laura is from Rome) and home made. She goes to the market everyday. When we sat down she advised us that there was no more Bolognese and no more deserts. It had been a busy day for her. Nevertheless, everything on the menu looked amazing.

We started with an extremely fresh and tasty bruschetta. It was served in batch of two which came in waves with 5 minutes interval but this did not matter as we are between friends and enjoying ourselves in this little paradise. Then the pastas came and we were all amazed at the tastes and freshness once again. The dinner was impeccable and the host amazing. she talked with us and we learned all about how she fell in love with San Cristobal and decided to move there. She is very colorful and have an amazing Italian accent when she speak Spanish!

She offered us a glass of wine on the house which turned to a bottle. We spend the evening there and completely enjoy ourselves.

Be aware; this is not you high class top service restaurant. this is like being invited for dinner to your best friend's house. Service is a bit chaotic sometimes as conversation extend but the experience is priceless.

I fell in love with San Cristobal de las Casas for the beauty of the place and the friendliness of it's people. Laura made it an even more lovable place. I could see myself moving there to live and going to eat at L'Arrabiata every other day (yes, the prices are very low so you can afford it)

This place is a MUST if you are passing by San Cristobal de las Casas!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy place for homemade pasta”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our last night in San Cristobal.
The place is very small (only 3 tabled) so at first we had some second thoughts... but we were wrong. As soon as we ate the toasted bread with garlic and tomatos we anjoyed every bite. The pasta with slmon and vodka (hardly felt) was great and comforting.
Not a place for fancy dinner, but for a nice homemafe pasta with an italian wink :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmerMargalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Little Italy in Mexico”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at this beautiful restaurant. The girl who runs the place is a real Italian who moved to Mexico two and a half years ago.
The food was amazing! The service was great and the ambiance was very cozy! You can't miss! We recommend you try it yourselves when you get there. It was worth every peso!

Helpful?
Thank Ariel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arrabbiata also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing