We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent in every way!”
Review of Axkan Arte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axkan Arte Hotel
Izamal, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly excellent in every way!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and our stay was wonderful in every way! The rooms are immaculate and beautiful, the courtyard is lovely, the food in the restaurant is delicious, and the staff is absolutely the best! The hotel will even arrange tours for you. Great location near the main plaza. I will always choose this hotel when I visit San Cristobal.

Room Tip: We loved staying on the ground floor, we had a beautiful view of the garden coutyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
38
82
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean and conveniently located. It is 3 blocks from the ADO bus stations, and five blocks from the main square. It also has a restaurant on site for when you're too tired to venture out. The only downside was the room we had was very noisy. We could hear lots of noise from the reception/restaurant from 5am. This is probably because the room we had was the closest to the reception. We could also hear our neighbor shower. The rooms and bathroom seemed to be recently renovated. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor, farthest from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtamsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a short time with my girlfriend. The room was lovely & spacious with a great flat screen tv & clean smart bathroom with good complimentary toiletries.
Great location just a short walk from bus station & about 5 mins from square. Not as soulless as it looked online either & lovely courtyard.
Good selection of beers & wines(didn't try food)the option of a safe box at reception which on all fairness prob isn't necessary as whole place felt very secure. They were also kind enough to look after our valuables & luggage long after check out as we were booked on overnight bus to Oaxaca. Great little town & hotel would defo recommend both :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pussycattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I led a group of 17 university students and faculty which took 10 rooms at the small hotel for 8 days in March 2014. So we had a good look at what went right and what went wrong at the hotel and far more went right than wrong. The rooms are modern, extremely clean with flat screen televisions that get both Mexican and English-speaking programs. The hotel, which works in concert with a travel agency, arranged to pick-up us up at airport in Tuxtla Gutierrez in a first-class mini bus. The driver was waiting as we departed the luggage area. The check-in was pretty seamless even though we arrived hours before the designated check-in time. The restaurant was very reasonably priced and the food, especially the regional cuisine, was consistently good. In fact, most of the group decided to eat the bulk of their meals there even though there are many offerings throughout the city. The service at the restaurant was very good and personable. The location was quite good -- yes, it is on a small one way street with parking a block away. But much of downtown San Cristobal is similar in layout -- it's a colonial city with narrow cobblestone streets. For the adventurers who prefer day trips on their own, the bus station is two blocks away. The main zocalo is a five to 10 minute walk. The internet worked consistently well. The restaurant staff, particularly Karen, and the front desk staff was helpful and patient with those who did not speak Spanish. Importantly, everyone felt safe at the hotel and that they could leave expensive camera equipment in rooms with no worries. The courtyard is nicely landscaped and charming. When we left, the hotel arranged for a mini-bus to pick us up at 3:30 a.m. to drive us at the airport and the driver was right on time. On the down side, the hot water for showers is inconsistent; some days it was plentiful, some it was ok and a couple of days it was almost non-existent. The hotel is located a block from a church where an eager bunch starts ringing the bells at 6 a.m. and follows up with an even larger chorus 20 minutes later. It didn't bother me because I am an early riser but some complained. Also, it can get cold in the rooms; our timing was right because it didn't happen often. But all in all this is an excellent value: modern but charming, extremely clean, excellent food and very good service. Pretty much all of the group said they'd come back again. In fact, some said they didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a modern hotel not far from the hub of this pretty little mountain town. You can walk into the heart of it within 5 - 10 minutes.

It's a bit of a nightmare to find given the network of narrow one-way streets. There is parking, it's a block away. It's a public car park that charges a fee (which is waived for guests) so it's locked around 7pm and opened again in the morning. If you need access outside of these times, someone at reception will need to unlock it for you. There is nowhere to stop outside the hotel & check in without holding up the traffic but it is possible for one person to get out, haul the luggage out and let the driver navigate back to the parking lot! We parked in the vicinity, tracked the place down on foot, checked in and then parked in the car park, wheeling the bags with us.

The rooms are spacious and modern. The staff are not that friendly. Perhaps the biggest gripe for us, which will not be the case for everyone, was that it was utterly FREEZING there when we visited (mid-Jan) and there is no heating in the room. The outside temp was about 8c and the room 15c. (There is also no air-con - not sure if the climate warrants it though!) The hotel was not at all bothered about this which I found quite sad - whilst these temperatures may not have been normal & therefore not the hotels fault, I would have expected them to lay on some form of heating or compensation for having to exist in such low temperatures. Basically,we sat huddled in bed in jackets and scarves and god-forbid, when it was time for shower....The bells of a nearby church also tolled at 6am then every 10 minutes for an hour.

Internet went down a couple of times but came back up quickly.

The rooms all have a view of the pretty courtyard. Sadly, this courtyard remained lit by bright lights all through the night. The curtains are white and blocked out nothing, so I spent the whole night waking up on and off (freezing) and thinking it was dawn.

On the whole it was not an enjoyable stay or a good nights sleep but we did perhaps have exceptional circumstances. However, I believe a good hotel should overcome these exceptional circumstances and ensure there guests are happy and warm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enerijazmin, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Axkan Arte Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Google Translation
Buenas Tardes:

agradecemos su preferencia y las buenas referencias que indica sobre nuestras instalaciones, sobre nuestros espacios de cultura , ya que como aun estamos estruturando los servicios hacemos lo mas confortable y entretenida su estancia.

le reitero que sus comentarios nos son de importancia ya que esto hace que crezcamos y mejoremos, esperamos poder brindarle nuevamente nuestros servicios, para que tenga un buen descanso con una nueva experiencia con nosotros.

saludos cordiales de Axkan Arte Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very helpful staff and great rooms: comfortable, quiet, organized around a patio. The staff is very focused on service (though sometimes a bit lost if the boss is not around)

A few glitches though:
- It is quite cold in the room, it definitely is useful to use the space bed covers
- Breakfast is quite expensive for what it is (and the voucher system is slightly disingenuous as you think you have a free breakfast but you really don't)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife do not speak Spanish but this did not stop the Axkan staff from bending over backwards through the language barrier in order to make our stay a comfortable and pleasurable experience. Each and every staff member worked very hard to ensure we had a productive and fun stay in San Cristobal, recommending places to visit, places to eat, and just generally being very cool! The rooms were immaculate in their cleanliness, wifi worked great, the on-site restaurant had good food, and the entire hostel is decorated in beautiful local art.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Histori...
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axkan Arte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axkan Arte Hotel

Property: Axkan Arte Hotel
Address: Calle Alvaro Obregon # 2 | Barrio de Sta. Lucia, San Cristobal de las Casas 29250, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Axkan Arte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AXKAN in Nahuatl means Here and NowIn AXKAN Art Hotel conjugates the elegance of a contemporary architecture and of Mexican sound with the mixture of colonial forms in functional and modern installations. Its special sound of the simplicity covers the 18 comfortable rooms in its concept and with a luminous environment calls to the sensibility of the senses. Our politics based on the good deal to all our members to offer them an unique and unforgettable experience today, here and now.Respectful with the environment the hotel is equipped with photovoltaic boards permitting the conversion of the solar energy in thermal energy. It promoted, to the ecological conscience to implement measures of care to our planet land, Axkan Art hotel is also compromised with the social responsibility through the impulse of concrete actions, therefore in our rooms you will find articles carried out by women chiapanecas that show also the effort by take care of the nature.It located in the historic center of SanCristobal de las Casas, AXKAN Art Hotel offers a range of services to your disposition to do still more comfortable your stay with us.In Axkan Art Hotel we count 18 comfortable rooms that include:•Extensive windows toward the garden•6 rooms with balconies•Television with Sky, with channels in English, French German and Italian.•Room service•Local products•Internet WIFI high speed without cost•Desk and closetHOTEL•Travel agency•Tours and walks personalized•Restaurant BELIL (traditional and festive food)•Café Axkan, sale of coffee 100% organic•Room service 24 hours•Art gallery•Reading zone•Parking•Wi Fi•Laundry•Dry clean•Nanny•Medical service 24 hours•Private terrestrial transportation•Advising on cultural and historic destinies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axkan Arte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axkan Arte Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing