We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!”
Review of Axkan Arte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axkan Arte Hotel
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We wandered into San Cristobal with no plans and no preconceived ideas. While the town in general is a gem, bumping into the Axkan Hotel made the whole trip even more special. They are new, clean, quaint, hip, reasonably priced, helpful...need I say more! I felt like I was in a ski lodge in Aspen with the cultural overlay of old-world Mexico. Great blend! Their restaurant looked and smelled intriguing but since we didn't have a lot of time in the city and wanted to explore other areas, we skipped it. This time. Not next time for sure!
Don't miss it! We'd do it again in a flash.

Room Tip: Some rooms look directly across the courtyard into another room. Just check first to see which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Axkan Arte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Nosotros nos recordamos de ustedes con gusto y en efecto, cada vez que los veíamos regresar al hotel nos gustaba ver su cara de satisfacción al conocer los lugares de Chiapas.

Del restaurante BELIL quedaron pendientes saborear un rico mole tradicional o nuestros chiles rellenos en salsa de azafrán.

Envién fotos, nos gustaría verles de nuevo!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 197 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great and superfriendly staff and good service, clean room. The room was pleasantly cold in contrast to the outside weather and had a bit screen TV with English and Spanish channels. We had 2 double beds for 2 people, so you can imagine that the room was spacious.

Internet usage was free of charge, a computer could be used in the lobby area in case you don´t have your own device.

Breakfast is not included but you can eat at the adjacend restaurant, which deserves 5 stars for friendly and attentive service and tasty food!!!

The Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centrum, so it´s location is central-ish.

My criticism with the hotel is, that:
- loud echo from people talking somewhere in the hallway before 7:30 in the morning woke us up, despite wearing ear plug and despite me being not a light sleeper.
- Noise from sounds inside the garden area prevent you from sleeping.
- the set up of the building. We had a room at the bottom floor with "Terrace" view into the garden. So that means, you need to keep the curtains shut the entire time if you don´t want people to look through the glass doors into your room.

Since I couldn´t sleep much the 2 nights we were there, I can´t rate the hotel as very good, even though everything else was allright.

Another advice: If you want to do the tour to Chamula and Zinacantán I wouldn´t go with the leaflets that the hotel recommends (250 pesos), unless you want to pay 70 pesos more than necessary. Instead meet at Templo de San Cristóbal with Alex and Raul.

Room Tip: Don´t take a room at the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is perfect located, close to the center and very close to the bus station. It deserves the title Arte hotel, modern and completely new. Very stylish interior and very good price value relation. Ricardo cares lovely for his guests and all food prepared is healthy and tasty. Coffee awesome!! No doubt I am coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volker N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Axkan Arte hotel. It's a boutique hotel near the city center, with bright, clean rooms. It offers an outdoor cafe and restaurant, with very friendly, knowledgeable staff. The food is delicious, organic and locally produced. I also took several tours offered by its tour agencies, which were great outings, to Monte Bello Lakes, indigenous communities and Maya ruins, which were outstanding. I highly recommend the hotel, the restaurant and the tours, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatherineRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was my first time to visit Chiapas and just want to say thanks to all lovely people in San Cristobal de las Casas..Hotel Service was just as any 5 stars hotel or maybe better..The food, mmhh.. Deliciously prepared and served by very friendly staff.. Next time will visit them again...

Room Tip: Any room at any level will be perfect..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great experience! Only stayed for a little while, but for sure would go back. Was hard to find at first but worth spending the time looking. Breakfast was great, and coffee even better. For sure coming back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Axkan Arte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013
Google Translation

Hola!!

Sirva la presente para agradecer su preferencia al hospedarse con nosotros; esperamos poder verle pronto o atender a amistades y familiares en próximos meses.

En el Restaurante BELIL siempre habra una rica taza de café para invitarle.

Un abrazo cordial

Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lupita_ramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
462.7 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Inn San Cristobal de las Casas
Fiesta Inn San Cristobal de las ...
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes
Hotel Villa Mercedes
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#42 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axkan Arte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axkan Arte Hotel

Address: Calle Alvaro Obregon # 2 | Barrio de Sta. Lucia, San Cristobal de las Casas 29250, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Axkan Arte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AXKAN in Nahuatl means Here and NowIn AXKAN Art Hotel conjugates the elegance of a contemporary architecture and of Mexican sound with the mixture of colonial forms in functional and modern installations. Its special sound of the simplicity covers the 18 comfortable rooms in its concept and with a luminous environment calls to the sensibility of the senses. Our politics based on the good deal to all our members to offer them an unique and unforgettable experience today, here and now.Respectful with the environment the hotel is equipped with photovoltaic boards permitting the conversion of the solar energy in thermal energy. It promoted, to the ecological conscience to implement measures of care to our planet land, Axkan Art hotel is also compromised with the social responsibility through the impulse of concrete actions, therefore in our rooms you will find articles carried out by women chiapanecas that show also the effort by take care of the nature.It located in the historic center of SanCristobal de las Casas, AXKAN Art Hotel offers a range of services to your disposition to do still more comfortable your stay with us.In Axkan Art Hotel we count 18 comfortable rooms that include:•Extensive windows toward the garden•6 rooms with balconies•Television with Sky, with channels in English, French German and Italian.•Room service•Local products•Internet WIFI high speed without cost•Desk and closetHOTEL•Travel agency•Tours and walks personalized•Restaurant BELIL (traditional and festive food)•Café Axkan, sale of coffee 100% organic•Room service 24 hours•Art gallery•Reading zone•Parking•Wi Fi•Laundry•Dry clean•Nanny•Medical service 24 hours•Private terrestrial transportation•Advising on cultural and historic destinies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Axkan Arte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axkan Arte Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing