We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not in the holy bible, but its one of the best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

we found the review here, and so happy we did! Super big hostel, with a heart just as big. The beds are super comfy, best matress ever without plastic, or too thin, or layed out, extra sheets available for the cold nights. I was lucky not to have snorry ppl, but it's a 16 bed dorm... Bathroom is nice, no plastic walls, but tiled.... Breakfast is NOT the continental toast with jam and butter, it's pancakes with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, or even a warm breakfast!!! Outside is a nice place to hang around in the hammock during the warm days, and in the night to sit around the camfire. Beers available...
IF there is one thing to say, it that the kitchen equipent could be replaced, and the kitchen (fire, sink) could be more practical...
And something that has nothing to do with the hostal: BRING WARM CLOTHES for the nights during winter!!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakkevaneyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 501 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travelled quite a lot and there are clean hostels, fun hostels, confortable hostel, well located hostels....but puerta vieja has all of this plus A LOVELY SOUL, and this is something I ve never seen before. Owners and staff are just the greatest hosts ever. Will be hard to leave this place. If you stay here your journey in san Cristóbal de las casas will be inforgettable, trust me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Comfortable bed, big room, everything very clean. Staff burnt incense in the room before we checked in which was a pleasant surprise. Couldn't check in early but could leave our bags locked in their laundry. Didn't find the staff particularly friendly or unfriendly- probably just indifferent.

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground level that faced on to the courtyard, noise not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegoober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently returned to stay in Puerta Vieja after travelling in central america. I stayed here at the beginning of my trip and did not realise at the time how lucky I was to have found it. The staff were all friendly and helpful and did their best fulfil any request, the place is constantly being cleaned, location could not be more convenient, the showers are powerful and hot (which at times can be very useful in San Cristobal), and the beds are big warm and comfy. The breakfast which is included in the price is tasty and the options change daily. There are plenty of areas to socialise with other travellers and often there will be a bonfire in the garden which creates a lovely atmosphere. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. Thank you to all the lovely staff at Puerta Vieja. Xxx

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_01220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and let me check in before the check-in time and invited me to have breakfast with other guests.So after night bus,I could refresh myself and recharge energy.The room is clean,but the light is weak,so the room looks so dark.The bathroom is clean but the kitchen is not so clean.The common area is good,nice place to rest.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haixia q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place definitely is one of my favourite places on our travels through Latin America.
We were lucky and got a three bed dorm to the two of us, and even we had booked through Hostelworld which would only let us book the room for three people, the staff there refunded us the third person without us even asking. The bathrooms are clean, the showers are good and warm and the rooms are really spacious and cosy and the beds comfortable. The location is great with a sorrt walk to main church. Staff are really friendly and very happy to help. In the evenings the atmosphere is social by the big fire out the back, away from the rooms, so that if people kick on you don't disturb people who want to sleep. Breakfast changes everyday and is decent, but you also have e option of cooking in the provided kitchen. An all round great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

very clean, everything is new, great beds and showers, good atmosphere, you probably wont leave as fast as expected. It is more like a nice hotel than a hostel. I dont really like hostels/dorms that much but this place is not like your usual hostel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#53 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#3 of 122 in San Cristobal de las Casas
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal el Rincon de  los Camellos
Hostal el Rincon de los Camello...
#2 of 122 in San Cristobal de las Casas
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta Vieja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Vieja Hostel

Address: Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $14 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta Vieja is a brand new hostel, recently opening its doors with the certainty of becoming one of the top traveler’s spots in no time. The reasons for this are simple: a stunning neo-classic house, with friendly, helping, fun staff willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A great ambiance, in a fabulous location: only a block away from the main square (Zócalo). Tasty meals and good parties, an approach to the cultural diversity this beautiful city has to offer, a rooftop terrace with a view that will take your breath away, a massive garden with a Temazcal (Mayan sauna) and hammocks in it. Different room sizes: private bedrooms, small and big dorms, depending on your needs and privacy desires. The freedom to cook your own food or treat yourself with one of the delicious meals our top chef has to offer. All in all, the possibility for the traveler to fully enjoy San Cristobal in a nice, friendly, clean, spacious hostel.We are in the very heart of the city centre: Only one block away from the main square, and a five minutes walk to the main pedestrian zones where the best bars, restaurants and clubs in the city are. There are many things to do in San Cristobal, and we will be happy to provide you with information on what to do during the day or when going out at night..The building is a big neo-classic house, though modernly refurbished to meet the traveler’s needs. The fun and friendly ambiance will make you feel comfortable immediately, along with our accommodation options, which are suitable for all families, individual travelers or groups of different sizes. There are 17 full bathrooms which are spacious and clean at all times. Our main purpose is for you to have fun and feel cozy enjoying your visit in San Cristobal.The hostel has three common areas, for the travelers to meet and share experiences, chat and have a good time. The garden at the back has got a deck and hammocks where you can chill out. BBQs take place in a regular basis, so expect a few of these! There is a Temazcal in the garden too, which is the traditional Mayan sauna, experienced through a purifying ritual. The main central patio is the place to have your meals, whether prepared by yourself in the fully-equipped self-catering kitchen or by our chef, so you can taste an authentic regional or Mexican meal. The rooftop terrace offers one of the best views of San Cristobal while enjoying popular drinks from Chiapas, Mexico and around the world.We guarantee spacious accommodations, be in the private rooms with ensuite bathrooms or in the rooms and large dorms with shared facilities, within a range of competitive prices, breakfast included. Our private rooms with ensuite bathrooms cater up to four people, whilst there are private rooms with shared bathrooms catering from three to six people. We have two large dorms, for eight and sixteen people each.Meeting other fellow travelers at Puerta Vieja Hostel will be simple, as different kind of activities are daily organized, such as tours, theme parties, pub crawls, all this with no curfew.Daily housekeeping and clean fresh bed linen are included in the price. Towels are included for private rooms or available to dorms for a small fee. Wi-Fi, hot water and power showers and luggage storage are among the services the hostel provides for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Puerta Vieja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Vieja Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing