We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in mexico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerta Vieja Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel in mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Dont think twice. Its an amazing hosyel with amazing staff.the rooms are clean and nice and the beds are very comfortable. The hostel staff is very kind and helpful. The hostel have a bar every night. Really nice place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ori123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    55
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
80
167
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is great, it's a beautiful hostel in an amazing area, they have breakfast which is delicious, great atmosphere and the staff and owners are always willing to help with anything, including taking us out partying! We found lots of travellers here to explore the amazing city with and had the best time, it was the best hostel I stayed in in all of mexico by far!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecros92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The best place to be in San Cristobal! The Hostal is really nice and new, the beds are confortable,the bathroom is clean and the kitchen has all the utilities...and the staff is really friendly and party people! I spent 5 days there and I was at home!
The place is 2 blocks from the zocalo and close to all the attractions, they offer all the tours and can recommend the best places to go. Enjoy your stay in Puerta vieja en San Cristobal de las casas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea8583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's one of the best hostels in town. Friendly and helpful staff. The location is quiet in the center. The only thing was the common room was a little bit uncomfortable and very cold for this year of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Podczas pobytu in Puerta Vieja hostel I was doing grat thing. I've got classes of cooking tortillas, we had bonfire, hammocks In this hostel there is huge space where you can meet people , watch movies together and feel just like home. The owner was very protective helped us with not honest company. Everything is new, clean and you can feel nice smell of wooden floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juannita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We have spent five days in this great hostel.
Every thing was just perfect.
The beds ,the rooms,the kitchen,the showers all were fantastic.
Breakfast (is included in the price) helping you to start the morning easily (as it should be while you in vacation...).
Don't miss this great place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liorcarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We got told about this place by a fellow traveller who fell in love with it. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the bedrooms were really cosy, hot water is a great bonus as it was the rainy season here and it was a bit cold. It is close by to all the restaurants and markets and it is a great price. I loved that they had music playing from reception most of the day (good music too). It's a good place to meet fellow travellers if you are on your own.
Thumbs up

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room to yourself
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lainie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta Vieja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Vieja Hostel

Property: Puerta Vieja Hostel
Address: Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta Vieja is a brand new hostel, recently opening its doors with the certainty of becoming one of the top traveler’s spots in no time. The reasons for this are simple: a stunning neo-classic house, with friendly, helping, fun staff willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A great ambiance, in a fabulous location: only a block away from the main square (Zócalo). Tasty meals and good parties, an approach to the cultural diversity this beautiful city has to offer, a rooftop terrace with a view that will take your breath away, a massive garden with a Temazcal (Mayan sauna) and hammocks in it. Different room sizes: private bedrooms, small and big dorms, depending on your needs and privacy desires. The freedom to cook your own food or treat yourself with one of the delicious meals our top chef has to offer. All in all, the possibility for the traveler to fully enjoy San Cristobal in a nice, friendly, clean, spacious hostel.We are in the very heart of the city centre: Only one block away from the main square, and a five minutes walk to the main pedestrian zones where the best bars, restaurants and clubs in the city are. There are many things to do in San Cristobal, and we will be happy to provide you with information on what to do during the day or when going out at night..The building is a big neo-classic house, though modernly refurbished to meet the traveler’s needs. The fun and friendly ambiance will make you feel comfortable immediately, along with our accommodation options, which are suitable for all families, individual travelers or groups of different sizes. There are 17 full bathrooms which are spacious and clean at all times. Our main purpose is for you to have fun and feel cozy enjoying your visit in San Cristobal.The hostel has three common areas, for the travelers to meet and share experiences, chat and have a good time. The garden at the back has got a deck and hammocks where you can chill out. BBQs take place in a regular basis, so expect a few of these! There is a Temazcal in the garden too, which is the traditional Mayan sauna, experienced through a purifying ritual. The main central patio is the place to have your meals, whether prepared by yourself in the fully-equipped self-catering kitchen or by our chef, so you can taste an authentic regional or Mexican meal. The rooftop terrace offers one of the best views of San Cristobal while enjoying popular drinks from Chiapas, Mexico and around the world.We guarantee spacious accommodations, be in the private rooms with ensuite bathrooms or in the rooms and large dorms with shared facilities, within a range of competitive prices, breakfast included. Our private rooms with ensuite bathrooms cater up to four people, whilst there are private rooms with shared bathrooms catering from three to six people. We have two large dorms, for eight and sixteen people each.Meeting other fellow travelers at Puerta Vieja Hostel will be simple, as different kind of activities are daily organized, such as tours, theme parties, pub crawls, all this with no curfew.Daily housekeeping and clean fresh bed linen are included in the price. Towels are included for private rooms or available to dorms for a small fee. Wi-Fi, hot water and power showers and luggage storage are among the services the hostel provides for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Puerta Vieja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Vieja Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing