We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This is exactly how a hostel should be and more.
I stayed in a private room and it was extremely clean and very nicely decorated. The room was large with high ceilings and a lovely, huge wooden door that makes a great entrance. The best part was the fantastic bed, the comfiest I've experienced in Central America.
The rest of the hostel is great too. The shared bathrooms were separated to male and female and were modern and very clean. The showers were also excellent and always warm from my experience. The communal areas were large and welcoming, there is a large garden at the back with a bar that served sol on draught which was nice. There is even a fire pit to sit around in the evening to keep warm. The kitchen is large, modern and well equipped too.
The location of the hostel is also very central, only a two minutes walk to the main square with all the bars and restaurants.
Overall I think this is an excellent hostel and I'd say the perfect place to stay in San Cristobal, especially for the value.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucasGR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Puerta Vieja for 3 nights and stayed in a private 3bed dorm. I intended to book two beds but booked 3 by accident. When I got to the hostel we got a nice welcome from Daniel, the owner. He adjusted the price for me and we ended up having a private room for two regardless of the 3rd bed. Daniel and his business partner Fer run a great hostel. They are both very involved and are always around to answer questions or to have a beer with. The beds are the most comfortable beds I've slept in in 2 and 1/2 months of travel through Mexico. The hostel is constantly being cleaned and the are plenty of bathrooms. They switch up choices for breakfast as well, which is nice. The hostel offers you plenty of tours, they simply organise the transport as some places are a little harder to reach, but you get to do your own stuff or hire a guide when you get to your destination. The hostel is also in a great location. It has a lovely backyard with a bar and a welcome drink the day you arrive. Even if people want to stay up late and party in the backyard, you can't hear a thing in the hostel, so it's quiet. Honestly this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is without doubt the best hostel I have ever come across, even better than many hotel I've stayed in. The building is new, spacious and very clean. The rooms are all made of wood with big comfortable beds. There is a big open space downstairs where people can hang out, and there is also a nice garden with hammocks and an outside bar where staff and guests hang out together in the evening around a bond fire.The bathrooms are always clean, the location is good and staff members are exceptionally friendly and helpful. All in all, the place just has a really good vibe.
I would highly recommend Puerta Vieja Hosetl to to anyone staying in San Cristobal de las Casas

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at Puerta Vieja while traveling through San Cristobal and thought the place was absolutely fantastic.
A bed in the dorms set me back by about 120 MXN which was an absolute steal for how clean and well kept the place was. It's an interesting mix of old and contemporary, has very comfy beds and large lockers for your 80 liter.
The hostel has a great vibe with a nice bar and garden where residents hang out most evenings.
Breakfast is great and I recommend the pancakes over whatever else they offer.
Remember to tell them the night before if you intend extending your stay because the place does fill up fast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved my time in San Cristobal, and I know that it was hugely thanks to this hostel.

The most comfortable beds, powerful showers and best breakfast I have ever experienced for a hostel.

I particularly loved the garden area. Hammocks in the day and bonfires at night. They just had a new outdoors bar fitted too- and the drinks were so cheap!

I will be back again- a huge thanks to the wonderful owners for making my time there so special

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Rooms clean, beds comfortable. Bathrooms and public areas are cleaned daily and kept in great shape. Showers are consistently hot! There was some confusion/room shuffling done with us when we checked in; I think it is a relatively new operation and/or they are still ironing out some quirks. That said, it took no time to get sorted and we were very pleased with our private room.

Free brekky every morning is great and we even had a band/bonfire night one weekend night - awesome little party but they keep it out back where the noise won't affect anyone who choses to have a quiet night in their room. When we stayed there was a lot of street noise (some sort of festival?) but not much to be done about that. And it's a couple blocks from the main square; close to supermarkets, markets, shops, bars, restaurants, museums, tour companies, etc..

Hosts helped us book tours, gave directions, stored our bags when needed etc. Everything was helpful and they remembered my name the whole stay. GOOD SPOT!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

fantastic hostel, very friendly staff always happy to talk (or eat/drink) with guests...we stayed in two different private rooms for over a week, extremely comfortable mattresses and great furnishings...the hostel is in a beautifully modernised old hacienda with a beautiful back yard (hammocks/deck/plants) and twice we ended the evening around a massive outdoor fire pit...location is excellent (2 minute walk to main square)
great place, we will stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#55 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#25 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta Vieja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Vieja Hostel

Address: Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 116 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $14 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta Vieja is a brand new hostel, recently opening its doors with the certainty of becoming one of the top traveler’s spots in no time. The reasons for this are simple: a stunning neo-classic house, with friendly, helping, fun staff willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A great ambiance, in a fabulous location: only a block away from the main square (Zócalo). Tasty meals and good parties, an approach to the cultural diversity this beautiful city has to offer, a rooftop terrace with a view that will take your breath away, a massive garden with a Temazcal (Mayan sauna) and hammocks in it. Different room sizes: private bedrooms, small and big dorms, depending on your needs and privacy desires. The freedom to cook your own food or treat yourself with one of the delicious meals our top chef has to offer. All in all, the possibility for the traveler to fully enjoy San Cristobal in a nice, friendly, clean, spacious hostel.We are in the very heart of the city centre: Only one block away from the main square, and a five minutes walk to the main pedestrian zones where the best bars, restaurants and clubs in the city are. There are many things to do in San Cristobal, and we will be happy to provide you with information on what to do during the day or when going out at night..The building is a big neo-classic house, though modernly refurbished to meet the traveler’s needs. The fun and friendly ambiance will make you feel comfortable immediately, along with our accommodation options, which are suitable for all families, individual travelers or groups of different sizes. There are 17 full bathrooms which are spacious and clean at all times. Our main purpose is for you to have fun and feel cozy enjoying your visit in San Cristobal.The hostel has three common areas, for the travelers to meet and share experiences, chat and have a good time. The garden at the back has got a deck and hammocks where you can chill out. BBQs take place in a regular basis, so expect a few of these! There is a Temazcal in the garden too, which is the traditional Mayan sauna, experienced through a purifying ritual. The main central patio is the place to have your meals, whether prepared by yourself in the fully-equipped self-catering kitchen or by our chef, so you can taste an authentic regional or Mexican meal. The rooftop terrace offers one of the best views of San Cristobal while enjoying popular drinks from Chiapas, Mexico and around the world.We guarantee spacious accommodations, be in the private rooms with ensuite bathrooms or in the rooms and large dorms with shared facilities, within a range of competitive prices, breakfast included. Our private rooms with ensuite bathrooms cater up to four people, whilst there are private rooms with shared bathrooms catering from three to six people. We have two large dorms, for eight and sixteen people each.Meeting other fellow travelers at Puerta Vieja Hostel will be simple, as different kind of activities are daily organized, such as tours, theme parties, pub crawls, all this with no curfew.Daily housekeeping and clean fresh bed linen are included in the price. Towels are included for private rooms or available to dorms for a small fee. Wi-Fi, hot water and power showers and luggage storage are among the services the hostel provides for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Puerta Vieja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Vieja Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing