We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super tranquilo and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super tranquilo and comfortable.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful hostel, seems to be in a recently renovated building. Super comfortable beds, big rooms, clean, lots of air and light, yummy breakfast included, and nice kitchen, atrium and gardens to hang out it. Super hot showers. Decent wifi connection and big lockers. Centrally located with everything in San Cristobal on your doorstep. Pretty much a perfect hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    57
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
83
176
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

You come in and you think: waaw. This building has a very cool atmosphere with much light, a nice garden and the wooden doors. The second waaw is when you hear the price (125 pesos). The third waw is when you notice they thought about your convenience: tours are cheaper through the hostal than with tour operators, there is good wifi everywhere and even an xbox, you get a good overview of nice places to eat and go (also on the wall), there is always someo,e around to help out, ... Then there are also the bonfires, the superb changing and healthy breakfast (so friendly, those people) and yoga classes and the ideal location in the city.
Look, there are some things that can be better (more cozy common room for example), but this is just a great place.

Room Tip: 16 in a dorm room can be a bit much, maybe good idea to take a doible or quadruple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is not about what you would expect from a hostel – every single facility is there, perfectly done, location, common spaces, backyards, garden, rooftop terrace, hammocks, kitchen, delicious breakfasts, cleanliness, confortable beds, lockers, every detail is precious here, every nook, secret spot, hidden corner. But this is so much more than you’ll expect from a place where you’re just passing by. Here the people make the difference – they have this special skill to turn the ambiance in something really warmth and familiar. They will certainly turn your days here in one of the most tender and unforgettable experiences of your trip. So, if they invite you to a piñacolada or chat by the fire, just open your door, and you’ll understand what we’re talking about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Best hostel, very good people, there's a great garden and good enviornment! We loved it and stayed for a week. Breakfest is great and for free, very low price and the owners are loving and caring to everyone..there's a fire place, music and alcohol free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen_avidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My brother and were planning to stay at the Puerta Vieja hostel for 2 nights and ended up staying a week. It had everything we want/expect from a hostel and more. Great, central location, comfortable beds, secure parking for our motorbikes, hot water with excellent water pressure, everything was clean and nice, plenty of common areas to chill out in, free wifi, included hot breakfast, hammocks, a fire pit in the garden and really friendly, fun and well informed staff. This is by far the nicest hostel we have stayed in in Mexico so far, and all at a very good price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This winter my partner and I travelled around southern Mexico with our ten-month-old daughter. Both of us are somewhat seasoned travelers and have always preferred staying in hostels for both the economic price and the community vibe. But when our daughter came along we thought our hostel-staying days were over...that is until we lucked upon the Puerta Vieja Hostel.

What made this hostel great for us as a family was that it was clean, quiet, and safe-- all things you want when you have a baby--and was also beautiful and full of friendly staff and guests--things we appreciate as travelers.

The hostel was also ideally located two blocks from the main plaza and the pedestrian malls. The staff helped us get oriented and gave us lots of great suggestions for our stay. I short, if you visit southern Mexico you must visit San Cristobal, and if you visit San Cristobal you must stay at the Puerta Vieja Hostel. Your wallet, your partner, and your baby/kids will be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elwendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have nothing but positives to say about Puerta Vieja. It's in a great location (2 short blocks) from the main plaza where there is a multitude of activities. We stayed there almost a week in one of the private rooms (my husband, teenage son and myself) and we were all quite comfortable. Overall, the building itself is very cool and has been tastefully re-done. All the spaces are very clean and the grounds are well-maintened but the real treasure are the beds. They are incredibly comfortable and nicely outfitted in warm sheets and blankets (The nights and mornings in San Cris can be chilly). In fact, I would venture to say that the beds are far more comfortable than beds we have stayed in at much fancier places! It's also worth mentioning that the showers in the private rooms were quite nice and there was always plenty of hot water. The common spaces are also great; especially a back hide-away sun-filled garden/courtyard that was our favorite place to chill after a long day of traipsing around San Cris. Our routine was to explore the city by foot all day and then have a little siesta time in the courtyard for a few hours before ramping up to take advantage of many of the local restaurants and musical venues. As another plus, there is a grocery store in very close proximity to the hostel where we would stop and pick up snacks and "cerveza" to enjoy on either the chairs clustered around a fire pit, hammocks, etc. in the courtyard. The hostel owners are also committed to cultivating a social vibe at the hostel - on the nite we arrived, there was a gathering on the rooftop terrace and the night before we left, there was a really nice bonfire in the courtyard. Also, on another night, one of the owners escorted a bunch of guests (including my husband and teenage son) to a favorite local bar to hear a salsa band. Needless to say, they had loads of fun. Finally, the staff is extremely helpful, cheerful, and motivated to make your stay at the hostel and in San Cris excellent. As a new business in town, they are very receptive to guest feedback. If you don't speak a ton of spanish (neither myself or my husband did), Daniel and Sarah are quite fluent in english and were enormously helpful to us in terms of providing general information. Specifically, Sarah helped us make arrangements for a 2 day excursion to Palenque and book a very early morning taxi back to the airport. We can't recommend Puerta Vieja hostel enough as a fabulous base for your stay in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: We stayed in both of the private suites (one double bed and a bunk bed) plus private bathroom on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta Vieja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Vieja Hostel

Property: Puerta Vieja Hostel
Address: Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta Vieja is a brand new hostel, recently opening its doors with the certainty of becoming one of the top traveler’s spots in no time. The reasons for this are simple: a stunning neo-classic house, with friendly, helping, fun staff willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A great ambiance, in a fabulous location: only a block away from the main square (Zócalo). Tasty meals and good parties, an approach to the cultural diversity this beautiful city has to offer, a rooftop terrace with a view that will take your breath away, a massive garden with a Temazcal (Mayan sauna) and hammocks in it. Different room sizes: private bedrooms, small and big dorms, depending on your needs and privacy desires. The freedom to cook your own food or treat yourself with one of the delicious meals our top chef has to offer. All in all, the possibility for the traveler to fully enjoy San Cristobal in a nice, friendly, clean, spacious hostel.We are in the very heart of the city centre: Only one block away from the main square, and a five minutes walk to the main pedestrian zones where the best bars, restaurants and clubs in the city are. There are many things to do in San Cristobal, and we will be happy to provide you with information on what to do during the day or when going out at night..The building is a big neo-classic house, though modernly refurbished to meet the traveler’s needs. The fun and friendly ambiance will make you feel comfortable immediately, along with our accommodation options, which are suitable for all families, individual travelers or groups of different sizes. There are 17 full bathrooms which are spacious and clean at all times. Our main purpose is for you to have fun and feel cozy enjoying your visit in San Cristobal.The hostel has three common areas, for the travelers to meet and share experiences, chat and have a good time. The garden at the back has got a deck and hammocks where you can chill out. BBQs take place in a regular basis, so expect a few of these! There is a Temazcal in the garden too, which is the traditional Mayan sauna, experienced through a purifying ritual. The main central patio is the place to have your meals, whether prepared by yourself in the fully-equipped self-catering kitchen or by our chef, so you can taste an authentic regional or Mexican meal. The rooftop terrace offers one of the best views of San Cristobal while enjoying popular drinks from Chiapas, Mexico and around the world.We guarantee spacious accommodations, be in the private rooms with ensuite bathrooms or in the rooms and large dorms with shared facilities, within a range of competitive prices, breakfast included. Our private rooms with ensuite bathrooms cater up to four people, whilst there are private rooms with shared bathrooms catering from three to six people. We have two large dorms, for eight and sixteen people each.Meeting other fellow travelers at Puerta Vieja Hostel will be simple, as different kind of activities are daily organized, such as tours, theme parties, pub crawls, all this with no curfew.Daily housekeeping and clean fresh bed linen are included in the price. Towels are included for private rooms or available to dorms for a small fee. Wi-Fi, hot water and power showers and luggage storage are among the services the hostel provides for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Puerta Vieja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Vieja Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing