We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful space and amazing staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have only good things to say about Puerta Vieja--beds are super comfy (new mattresses and new blankets!), it is always clean (I saw people cleaning around the clock), and the staff becomes your friends! Super helpful and they want to make your experience there the best. I came back twice to stay there I loved it so much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Puerta Vieja Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Solicitar dormitorio 4, es pequeño y con mas privacidad
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank valepasetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
144
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank BCKPCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#53 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta Vieja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Vieja Hostel

Address: Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta Vieja is a brand new hostel, recently opening its doors with the certainty of becoming one of the top traveler’s spots in no time. The reasons for this are simple: a stunning neo-classic house, with friendly, helping, fun staff willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A great ambiance, in a fabulous location: only a block away from the main square (Zócalo). Tasty meals and good parties, an approach to the cultural diversity this beautiful city has to offer, a rooftop terrace with a view that will take your breath away, a massive garden with a Temazcal (Mayan sauna) and hammocks in it. Different room sizes: private bedrooms, small and big dorms, depending on your needs and privacy desires. The freedom to cook your own food or treat yourself with one of the delicious meals our top chef has to offer. All in all, the possibility for the traveler to fully enjoy San Cristobal in a nice, friendly, clean, spacious hostel.We are in the very heart of the city centre: Only one block away from the main square, and a five minutes walk to the main pedestrian zones where the best bars, restaurants and clubs in the city are. There are many things to do in San Cristobal, and we will be happy to provide you with information on what to do during the day or when going out at night..The building is a big neo-classic house, though modernly refurbished to meet the traveler’s needs. The fun and friendly ambiance will make you feel comfortable immediately, along with our accommodation options, which are suitable for all families, individual travelers or groups of different sizes. There are 17 full bathrooms which are spacious and clean at all times. Our main purpose is for you to have fun and feel cozy enjoying your visit in San Cristobal.The hostel has three common areas, for the travelers to meet and share experiences, chat and have a good time. The garden at the back has got a deck and hammocks where you can chill out. BBQs take place in a regular basis, so expect a few of these! There is a Temazcal in the garden too, which is the traditional Mayan sauna, experienced through a purifying ritual. The main central patio is the place to have your meals, whether prepared by yourself in the fully-equipped self-catering kitchen or by our chef, so you can taste an authentic regional or Mexican meal. The rooftop terrace offers one of the best views of San Cristobal while enjoying popular drinks from Chiapas, Mexico and around the world.We guarantee spacious accommodations, be in the private rooms with ensuite bathrooms or in the rooms and large dorms with shared facilities, within a range of competitive prices, breakfast included. Our private rooms with ensuite bathrooms cater up to four people, whilst there are private rooms with shared bathrooms catering from three to six people. We have two large dorms, for eight and sixteen people each.Meeting other fellow travelers at Puerta Vieja Hostel will be simple, as different kind of activities are daily organized, such as tours, theme parties, pub crawls, all this with no curfew.Daily housekeeping and clean fresh bed linen are included in the price. Towels are included for private rooms or available to dorms for a small fee. Wi-Fi, hot water and power showers and luggage storage are among the services the hostel provides for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Puerta Vieja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Vieja Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing