We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing and beautiful property”
Review of Guayaba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guayaba Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Paris - France
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What an amazing and beautiful property”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Inn is not just by the zocalo, but it is near enough the center of San Cristobal de Las Casas that you can walk there without issues.
We had trouble finding it at first, because our GPS was not aware that some streets were only one ways, but we quickly solved the issue.
On arrival, we were welcomed nicely, and someone from the staff accompanied us to the parking lot that is in the next street and included.
This done, we went to our room... Almost, because our attention was directed to huge noise outside, and all the people in the street were pointing to the sky ! There was a huge tornado a few hundreds of meters away, a lot of debris in the air. It did not last long, but there was some damage afterwards in the city. It was quickly taken care of by the army forces and other helpers.
Then , we eventually went to our room, located on the ground floor. My first thought was what a nice haven we have found !!
Our room had all the charm I was hoping to find, was beautiffully decorated, had nice furniture, a chimney we used because in the mountains it can get a little cold.
Not to mention the huge bathroom, with the huge shower and bathtub.
We were given the menu for the dinner and breakfast, and for the massages.
I was a little tired from our journey, so a massage was appealing to me.
I went to the reception and asked if I could have a massage, the receptionist called the masseuse and organized it in the half hour.
The massage took place in a cabin of the inn that is specially designed for that purpose.
I have to say that it was one, if not the best massage I had, and I had lots in my different trips and also home.
It was very professional, and I was so relaxed at the end. The masseuse was very sympathetic also. I was so happy I chose to indulge.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent, the menu was varied and we were happy to choose from all that.
If I ever return to San Cristobal de Las Casas, there is no doubt I will return there !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
182
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here and May and it rained a lot. Can't rate the hotel on that obviously. The staff was lovely and seemed quite concerned that we were happy. (We were) The town was unexpectedly cold (didn't do our homework) but we were warm inside and were able to purchase sweaters in town. The room was lovely - loved the bathtub and the breakfasts were quite nice. It wasn't as quiet as I hoped, but it's on a rather busy street and upstairs is probably noisier than downstairs. We had to move after three days, and I wish we'd been closer to town (in fact we moved closer in) - the inn is a bit from town and the streets are quite slippery in the rain, but a taxi is only about $3 so that helped. But for the location I would have given five stars. We did not take advantage of the steam room, but can see how it would be so nice when coming home cold. Thanks for all the attention!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1SuzieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Can´t say enough good things about this hotel. The place is beautiful, a real pleasure to spend time in. Fireplaces in the rooms, super comfortable beds, personality to spare. One of the best places I think I have ever stayed. Personnel are very accommodating. The breakfasts are delicious, and we even had a light dinner there which was just what we needed after a big lunch. We had a jr. suite, and the bathroom was amazing, complete with copper tub! Yes, it´s a little far from the center of town, but well worth the extra steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is an old house that has been converted into a hotel and its simply amazing. The rooms are spacious and the tub is a super nice touch. The grounds are incredibly maintained the hotel is very secure with high walls and locked doors. The staff bends over backwards to make suer you are fully satisfied..Lastly, the breakfast is incredible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I adored Guayaba Inn! It was about a 10 minute walk from restaurants, a mercado and other sites. The breakfast was delicious and in the evening, staff light the fireplace in the room to take the chill out of the air. San Cristobal is an amazing city and Guayaba Inn was the perfect place to stay! I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: My room faced the patio near the entrance. It was so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

All the reviews are true - this place is great. It was the first place we stayed on our 2.5 weeks holiday in Mexico and the best.

We stayed in room 5 which was lovely - on the first floor with its own private balcony, a beautiful bathroom with freestanding copper bath, and comfortable bed.

The breakfasts were wonderful - something for everyone and plentiful.

All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

We have no criticisms. GI is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre which we enjoyed and took as an opportunity to explore different parts of the town. Some may find this too far but taxis are easy to get and cheap.

We would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the first floor is recommended but all the rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

San Cristobal de las Casas and Guayaba Inn should be on the must visit list of any Mexico itinerary!Guayaba Inn is a beautiful boutique hotel, tucked away down a cobbled street of San Cristobal. The breakfast is superb: fresh coffee, orange juice, fruit, warm muffins and eggs. The garden around which the rooms are located is stunning: a koi pond, lemon tree and brightly coloured flowers all around. Ricardo is really friendly and couldn't have been a better host. He also arranged a return taxi to and from the airport.
The rooms are huge, luxuriously appointed, and the bathroom has an enormous bath and shower. You won't be disappointed. The hotel is extremely peaceful and relaxing.

It is true that Guayaba Inn is 10-15 minute walk from the centre of San Cristobal but don't let that put you off. San Cristobal is a photographers dream, so the short walk is wonderful for discovering less visited cobbled streets and taking some wonderful photos along your way.

Aside from San Cristobal, if you have the chance you must visit Palenque: Mayan temples and ruins in the rainforest. It is a long drive (4-5 hours each way) but is most definitely worth it!

Thanks Guayaba Inn, Ricardo and your team for a wonderful stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SN0rris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayaba Inn

Property: Guayaba Inn
Address: Calle Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayaba Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guayaba Inn, a converted traditional home in the historic district of EL Cerrillo, is located in remarkable colonial San Cristóbal de las Casas. The Inn is certainly its own relaxing destination, but it also caters to those wishing to explore Chiapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guayaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaba Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing