We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than we expected!”
Review of Guayaba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guayaba Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I had an amazing time at Guayaba Inn! We really weren't expecting so much but were surprised by the romantic architecture and decoration, the incredible service, delicious food, and hospitality from the concierge, waiter, cooks... We had room #4, which has an outdoor little patio that's kind of private. So in the mornings, we would order our yummy Mexican breakfast and have it out in the patio... amazing! Although the hotel is small, the rooms are quite big, but really cozy with a fireplace. We were more than pleased with our stay here and would DEFINITELY come back soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 307 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

After 7 days staying in a hotel on Real Guadalupe as part of a tour, with traditional Mexican rock hard beds....we were ever so ready for the Guayaba Inn. We entered and I knew we'd booked the correct place for our last 2 nites in San Cristobal. Room was wonderful......plenty of hot water.I took a long soak in the oversized tub. Art everywhere. Wonderful linens and bed so comfy I slept 10 hours the first night. We ate at the Inn both nites rather than venture back into town and the food was good and the service great. Breakfast was plentiful..We have no complaints whatsoever and would definitely stay here again. Lovely gardens, koi pond too....ever so quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was part of our package, so I'm not sure how what price bracket it's in, but it felt like a 5 star resort tucked away in a corner of the city. The room was enormous and beautifully presented, the staff were friendly (even coming out to sing the traditional Mexican happy birthday to my girlfriend), the food was amazing, and the gardens provided a calm place to sit and chill away from town. Town itself was only a ten minute walk, so we could spend as much time as we liked there, and come back to rest as often as we liked. I can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murraygunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful room with tasteful furnishings and art! fantastic bed and bedding! great hot shower and a tub as well, gas fireplace warmed the room right up, staff got us a taxi for a trip to the outlying villages ( ask for Guillermo as he was Mayan and also a good guide). The breakfasts were great. Pretty gardens with coi pond and waterfall. We found it too far from the square to walk and took taxis, which are 30 pesos within town. However the location was a few steps from Na Balom, which was cool and we made friends with a family of Lacadon Indians there. We were there for 4 nights and we're very comfortable and happy with our choice

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This small boutique hotel with a beautiful, peaceful courtyard garden is absolutely delightful. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was lovely and we particularly enjoyed the peace and quiet. I cannot fault this hotel in any way. We wished we were staying longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaG262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Guayaba Inn is an extremely well run, and very well designed establishment. My wife and I stayed in one of the Suites for 3 nights. We absolutely loved it. The rooms are huge with a 4 posted king, a sitting area and a minibar that even has 4 bottles of very affordable wine. The food is also very good.

A very important consideration for those driving as we were if access to parking which they have as parking on the street in San Cristobol can be problematic.

This place really deserves it high Tripadvisor rating!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is beautiful and very relaxing. It was perfect for our honeymoon. The breakfast was delicious (probably the best food we had in San Cristobal). We had the pleasure of staying in two different rooms here (on different days)- both rooms were gorgeous and we felt very warm and cozy playing board games by the fire. The service was excellent and very accommodating (Can we only have egg white in the omelet? no problem. Can we leave the bags for a couple of days until we are back from Palenque? no problem. Can you help us find a private guide? no problem. etc.). The (wifi) internet in the rooms is fast- we were able to download a few TV episodes from iTunes and enjoyed watching them in the beautiful bed with the (free) welcome cocktails that the staff provided. It's also very close to the center (about 10 min walk).
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eado351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#4 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#3 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Lum
Casa Lum
#5 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayaba Inn

Address: Calle Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $113 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayaba Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guayaba Inn, a converted traditional home in the historic district of EL Cerrillo, is located in remarkable colonial San Cristóbal de las Casas. The Inn is certainly its own relaxing destination, but it also caters to those wishing to explore Chiapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guayaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaba Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing