We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guayaba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guayaba Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful room with tasteful furnishings and art! fantastic bed and bedding! great hot shower and a tub as well, gas fireplace warmed the room right up, staff got us a taxi for a trip to the outlying villages ( ask for Guillermo as he was Mayan and also a good guide). The breakfasts were great. Pretty gardens with coi pond and waterfall. We found it too far from the square to walk and took taxis, which are 30 pesos within town. However the location was a few steps from Na Balom, which was cool and we made friends with a family of Lacadon Indians there. We were there for 4 nights and we're very comfortable and happy with our choice

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
172
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This small boutique hotel with a beautiful, peaceful courtyard garden is absolutely delightful. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was lovely and we particularly enjoyed the peace and quiet. I cannot fault this hotel in any way. We wished we were staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaG262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Guayaba Inn is an extremely well run, and very well designed establishment. My wife and I stayed in one of the Suites for 3 nights. We absolutely loved it. The rooms are huge with a 4 posted king, a sitting area and a minibar that even has 4 bottles of very affordable wine. The food is also very good.

A very important consideration for those driving as we were if access to parking which they have as parking on the street in San Cristobol can be problematic.

This place really deserves it high Tripadvisor rating!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is beautiful and very relaxing. It was perfect for our honeymoon. The breakfast was delicious (probably the best food we had in San Cristobal). We had the pleasure of staying in two different rooms here (on different days)- both rooms were gorgeous and we felt very warm and cozy playing board games by the fire. The service was excellent and very accommodating (Can we only have egg white in the omelet? no problem. Can we leave the bags for a couple of days until we are back from Palenque? no problem. Can you help us find a private guide? no problem. etc.). The (wifi) internet in the rooms is fast- we were able to download a few TV episodes from iTunes and enjoyed watching them in the beautiful bed with the (free) welcome cocktails that the staff provided. It's also very close to the center (about 10 min walk).
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eado351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Guayaba Inn is located a short walk from the center of San Cristobal. The guest rooms and public areas (dining room, lobby and library) are arranged around a patio and a garden, and the garden has a pond with large coy fish. The whole place is lovely, tranquil and decorated with folk art and original art by one of Guayaba's owners, Kiki.
There are only 6 rooms. We stayed in number 5, the Maya Suite, which was spacious and had a four poster king sized bed. The bathroom was also spacious and had windows looking out on the hills and the city of San Cristobal. The room was decorated with original art and a beautiful rug that I think was hand woven. The inn was a wonderful place to withdraw to after a busy day. Good choice of books that guests have left that you can curl up with.
Breakfast was delicious: juice and fruit and sweet bread, followed by your choice of eggs, chilaquiles, enchiladas, etc. One evening we had dinner by the fireplace in the dining room (they serve food from 5-9 in the evening) and it was cozy and delicious.
The staff was very attentive and the owners' son helped us arrange a trip with a well known anthropologist to the nearby town of Zinacantán. I had read about the owners and how they decided to start Guayaba Inn after staying at a bed and breakfast in the US. I don't know if they take a role in the day to day administration of the hotel, but it would have been nice to meet them.

Room Tip: I think room 5 (Maya Suite) is lovely. There is a "Master Suite" that costs slightly more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnL777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked Guayaba Inn because of the Tripadvisor reviews and we are so happy we followed others' advice!

It has only 6 rooms so the hotel feels like an intimate hacienda. The rooms are spacious with beautiful hardwood floor, four-post bed with the most delicious sheets and down comforter. It has a gas chimney which makes the room extra cozy without the smokiness of a wood fireplace.

We had to leave early to go to Lagunas de Montebellos this morning so we asked for our breakfast to be delivered to our room before the kitchen opened and the staff was very accommodating.

The shower has extra hot water with great pressure. We were planning to stay one night only and had to extend to a second night because of the great night sleep we had.

Amazing hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aligola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My stay was super pleasant. Defiantly would recommend this place for its cleanliness, excellent food menu, quiet and cozy atmosphere but most of all the staff. They were highly professional yet, so very genuinely friendly. Am pretty hard to please and have traveled around and this is one of my highest rated recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 323Rocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayaba Inn

Property: Guayaba Inn
Address: Calle Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#1 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayaba Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guayaba Inn, a converted traditional home in the historic district of EL Cerrillo, is located in remarkable colonial San Cristóbal de las Casas. The Inn is certainly its own relaxing destination, but it also caters to those wishing to explore Chiapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guayaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaba Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing