We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but staff doesn't speak English well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but staff doesn't speak English well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, it was really nice rooms, and our terrace above the city was very nice!
The hotel has a comfortable garage and we could park our car and also asked the staff to clean it which was perfectly done.
We tried the breakfast as well, which was not part of the room price and we found it very nice, however closeby you have wonderful bakeries to try!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank szirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    45
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
73
88
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel despite it being more than $200 a night because we were tired after travelling for more than a month and decided we needed some luxury for a few days. And part of that tirednss came from having to always use our extremely poor spanish and, of course, a hotel priced at this level would be able to supply some respite, surely? No. We arrived and they had lost our booking and it took far too long for them to even give us a key to a room. The hotel was seemingly bereft of guests but no, two tired senior travellers had to wait in the lobby while they searched every drawer looking for a lost piece of paper. And, the big surprise? Breakfast was not included in the price - the only time it was not in our four weeks in Mexico! At $200+ dollars a night - you have to be kidding! It is a very comfortable hotel completely spectacularly decorated but lacking in warmth and competence. Save your money. There are lots of charming, less self-conscious hotels in gorgeous San Cristobal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas. The hotel is in a nicely renovated house, it is well located, walking distance from town's downtown. Rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated with local accessories. Bathroom is also very comfortable and has a very nice size. Service is very courteous and have an excellent and helpful attitude. Agree with comments from other guests, found service in the restaurant somewhat slow and while employees had a good attitude, seemed somewhat inexperienced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a one week trip to Chiapas. The first three nights were spent at the Casa del Alma. We did not expect to find such a luxurious hotel in such a perfect location. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, with designed with the traveler in mind. Comfortable beds, wide choice of pillow types, large flat-screen TV, and top quality bathroom facilities and bathroom supplies. The hotel location is perfect. Two blocks from the Zocalo makes it close to all the restaurants and attractions, but far enough away that the rooms are exceptionally quiet. The hotel is beautiful and the restaurant is attractive. Our only complaint was the very slow service in the restaurant. Breakfast, although good was agonizingly slow in coming even if we were the only customers. Nevertheless, we highly recommend Casa del Alma

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palenque room on the third floor. I think the third floor rooms away from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juannyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have just stayed 4 nights with my family at this great hotel. Nice staff - not a lot of English speaking, but then I was forced to speak Spanish.
Rooms are huge, very clean and with a very nice bathroom.
Restaurant was really nice, a bit expensive compared to other places in town, but it is an upmarket hotel.
Hotel also features a spa and gym and secure parking underneath the hotel.
Will definitely recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this charming hotel and found it to be very nice. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, bathroom large, Pineda Covallin toiletries, was a nice touch. Restaurant is excellent, they serve a salpicon that is to die for. Location can't be beat, it is right in the middle of everything. We went with a large group and everyone was satisfied with the hotel, thanks for making this a very nice part of our vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel staff was very accomodating, the rooms were spacious and very clean with a small terrace with a pillow menu and friendly service. Unfortunately, for a hotel that calls itself boutique-spa i was very dissapointed after I had the worse massage I've ever experienced. The price for a couples massage is 2300 pesos with taxes, the spa has nice facilities but the masseuse was terrible. It seems to me that she had no previous experience or training at all since she had no clue of what she was doing. I felt it was a waste of my time and money. the hotel SHOULD hire experienced staff for those prices. My boyfriend thought his massage was good. I spoke to the front desk and they told me they were going to take it into consideration and that they will let the manager know.
Overall I would stay there but would not use the spa facilities again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamssita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa

Property: Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Address: Avenida 16 de Septiembre No. 24, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#2 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#2 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#2 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa pays tribute to the essence of Chiapas in its every detail, representing its incredible colonial legacy, cultural identity, ethnic richness, and biological diversity in an exceptionally designed space where history and modern comfort unite. We invite you to enjoy the Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa, an exceptional environment that evokes past times in a space of striking modernity. Located in the heart of the historic center of the magical city of San Cristobal de Las Casas, Casa del Alma, Hotel Boutique & Spa offers 27 suites, each one containing unique details of Chiapanecan luxury, beauty, and quality, complemented by state of the art technology, security, and comfort. In addition, our guests can enjoy our greatest pride: El Secreto, a restaurant offering unique fusion dishes, which emphasize the delights of the many flavors of Chiapas. To make your stay an unforgettable experience, we offer specialized care in our spa, where treatments and massages will bring you great joy. We aim to please and indulge your senses in this unique space representing the spirit of Chiapas, Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing