We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hostel in san cristobal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Sancris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Sancris
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best hostel in san cristobal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

very lovely staff - help with every thing you want and need
best free breakfast - tasty and rich - you can ask in advance what you want and most chances they gonna make it for you
quiet place but good location
very safe
great value for the money
they really make an effort to please their guests and its warm the heart
we came for one night and staied for 5.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omri o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
74
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. The staff were a real mix, overall very nice and keen to help though not very efficient, a bit like watching a comedy!
Room was a bit cold, but lots of blankets on the bed and I had a great nights sleep.
Wifi service was excellent.
Breakfast was not too great - we had fresh fruit and juice that was nice, though the coffee was undrinkable. We also had some very dry toast (stale?), some cheap margarine and some weird marmalade that smelt funny - we're not that fussy (eat street food and all sorts) but I couldn't eat it. Meanwhile the family guests next to us somehow scored big plates of eggs, ham and frijoles. Made us feel really uncomfortable watching the difference, especially looking at our poor breakfast, with no attempt was made to offer us the same.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and large rooms, quiet but close to the main historical centre. It was very good value too and the owner was very hospitable and accommodating to us. It was also great value for budget travelers like us!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewNg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Well located on walking distance from all the main places in San Cristobal. We were happy that we could park our rental car inside.

Price is relatively low. Rooms are clean and ok. Staff is friendly but did not really try to understand us with our limited spanish.

We can definitely recommend you to stay here but still a lot can be improved (especially staff and breakfast)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolpallandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ofilia and Ernesto as well as the staff are very helpful, friendly and treated us as family members. The included breakfasts are generously proportioned and delicious. We appreciated staying in this quiet neighborhood that is only a few minutes walk from all the action (and noise). I would recommend this B&B without hesitation.

Room Tip: I think the room behind the front desk might have the best light since there are 2 windows opening o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi_Zu_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent several weeks traveling through Chiapas, Mexico and passed through San Cristobal de las Casas three separate times. Each time we stayed at Posada Sancris on Tapachuela street (2 days each time). You will not find a cleaner, more friendlier place to stay than this Posada. There are several types of rooms to choose from upstairs and down and all are very economical with breakfast included (We favored room # 4). The area is quiet and peaceful yet only a short walk to town. If you have a car, there is offstreet parking. If not, the owners can arange for trips to all the major attractions witin Chiapas. To say the owners are courteous is a huge understatement. They will help with whatever problem you have and do it eagerly. Wi-Fi is free throughout the Posada and the grounds. The signal is very strong at all locations. Rooms have full baths and showers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Terrible service. Noisy loud staff from morning to night. Over priced. No hot water, unless you request the boiler to be turned on. Breakfast was appalling served by 2 young girls who could barely boil an egg without getting it wrong.

Whatever you do please take my advice, the hostal 2 doors up called posada de abuelita is cheaper (even for private room with double bed) and absolutely charming with great service and great breakfast!

Workmen banging and crashing from morning til evening.

The worst hotel in mexico, in 3 months.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattk2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#41 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Sancris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Sancris

Property: Posada Sancris
Address: Calle Tapachula # 14 | El Cerillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come To Have The Best Resting Time Of Your Trip With Us in all Clean & Comfortable Private Rooms, Only In Posada Sancris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Sancris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Sancris San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing