We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place in town for great food and fun company!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayambe - CLOSED

Mayambe
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Our lovely covered courtyard dining area is located one block off the Central Cathedral.Once a hacienda has been home to Mayambè for the past 7 of our 12 years doing business here in Chiapas.Along with Indian food we offer./Arabic and Thai Cuisines.We are allways happy to accomodate large groups.Please allow lead time as we are a small staff and want to make our best impression
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in town for great food and fun company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Always the choice for my whole family when we are looking for great tasting food in in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We always seem to meet new people from around the world while relaxing by the fire. I recommend this restaurant to all of my family and friends.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Social Space, and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have lived in San Cris for a while but on the other side of town but I had not visited Mayanbe for a while.I was always one of the choice places to eat but the greeting that met me was a revelation after a change of management. Along with the good food, it has become a great cultural space with owners who really articipate in the experience, attracting the best conversations and a range of fascinating subjects of discussion between the various clients. It was a real pleasure to visit alone and feel really valued and included as a customer.
I know this town well. This is absolutely the best social space available for those wishing to really wish to get to know people, discover more of life and the food is great too.
Thank you

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you're looking for great eastern food and an excellent service, you have to go to Mayambe. They have variety of dishes and desserts, and everything is delicious! The owners are very nice and friendly, so, you can have a really good time there. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious treasures-great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Delicious treasures after all those tacos and beans( no offence) Great variety of pan asian foods, veg and non veg options, exotic cocktails and great and friendly service at very reasonable prices- A must go to!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cecilia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden culinaty oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Tired of tacos, and moles, I found myself looking at fast-food as a pleasant option. I was told about a place called Mayambe. The atmosphere was great, the music was pleasant, and the food was phenomenal!! The family enjoyed large portions of wonderful and exotic foods. The family highly recommends to anyone tired of the local cuisine to stop by Mayambe. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayambe also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing