We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel Bo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent three days in this amazing hotel. The architecture is modern, but it reflects on very old traditions. The rooms are very chic, nicely decorated with local textiles. The gardens and grounds are very well maintained. The common areas are very nice and comfortable. There was even a room for our pre-teen with an x-box and plenty of games in case the Chiapas culture was too much for him. The staff is courteous, discrete and willing to please. The doorman went beyond the call of duty to make sure that during a torrential rain we would not get wet. The concierge arranged for excellent tours of San Juan Chamula and surrounding areas. The restaurant is very good. We could not be happier and will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Enrique, thank you so much for your visit and lovely review, we are glad that we were able to accommodate you and your family. We are always looking for ways to surprise our guests and take the experience to the next level.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel b¨o.

With Gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Marketing & Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are into boutique hotels that are all for including their community in the designs, food and profits you should visit Hotel Bo.

Known for being the Governor´s favorite place to eat, you can view the mountains of San Cristobal while feeling you are in the most chic boutique hotel of NY. Every detail is taken care of, specially food which is local and served in world class style.

Even if you don´t stay you must go by and take some pictures!

Room Tip: There is a special loft made to entertain guests, a room close by will make you think you have a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Hugo,

So glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed every single detail of your stay, we also appreciate your recommendations to other Trip Advisor followers to come a see us and enjoy a meal, or and afternoon at the property. Without a doubt our views are priceless and we are blessed to be part of the magical scenario of San Cristobal de las Casas.

We look forward to welcome you again.

With Gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Marketing & Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

An exquisite boutique hotel designed to enjoy the location, the ambience, the food and the warm treatment of the gentile staff. The design is very simple, but its simplicity is part of its beauty along with the colors, the mix of materials and the vegetation. The food, designed by the renowned Mexican Chef Ricardo Muñoz Zurita, is delicious, from breakfast to dinner. The always smiling staff is very attentive and can give you the Spanish translation from the tzotzil (one of the many local languages of Chiapas) of “b¨o” (the name of the hotel) and “Lam” (the name of the restaurant).

And the surroundings: located in San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas, a beautiful “Magic Town” with a lot of local and native flavor, with magnificent churches and museums. Very safe to walk along its picturesque streets at any time, and full of handcraft stores (textiles, leather, wood, clay, its famous amber, silver, gold, etc.) and small restaurants and coffee shops.

Nearby (30 minutes by taxi) is San Juan Chamula, famous for its mixture of paganism and catholic rites and its Sunday market where people from the surroundings to sell the products they harvest the day before.

After a long day walking San Cristobal’s streets, nothing like a good shower in the comfortable bath of your intimate room and relax.

You need to be there!

Room Tip: Rooms 14 (with a big window to watch the mountains) and 21 (the best of all: with a terrace to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAUL Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Raul,

It is fantastic to read such a detailed review on our property and the destination. When we started the project we always envision the idea of our guests loving hotel b¨o as much as we did since the conception of the project and reading your review is a confirmation that we are on the right track!

San Cristobal in deed is a magical town that captures you since you set foot on the cobblestone streets and see the smiles and faces of the locals!

Thank you for being today a #BoFan

With Gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with my wife in late June 2013. We had a great experience. The hotel's decor is wonderful, mixing contemporary and regional elements. Many of the fabrics in the hotel are made by indigenous women of the region through a fair trade civil association called El Camino de los Altos. The staff is very helpfull and attentive to guests' needs. This is not a cheap hotel but is worth every penny. Our room was a bit cold but the bedding was warm enough to keep you comfortable. We stayed at an "executive room" but next time we stay here we will try and book one of the two suits, we actually went into one and were sorry we didn't choose that room. The hotel's location is another plus, just 2 blocks away from a main pedestrian/tourist road; that is close enough to be near the action but far enough to get away from all the noise. Also you can borrow a bike from the hotel (which we did for one whole day) and move all aound town with relative ease. we loved the experience and will most certainly recommend to all our friends.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FReiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Fernando,

Thank you for your review and great details on your stay, working with the local community and talent was a must for us since the planning of the hotel and its concept. We exist because of Chiapas and San Cristobal and is definitely honored thru the entire bo experience.

We look forward on having you back and stay in one of our two suites!

With Gratitude

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've stayed in all sorts of hotels all over the world and BO ranks way up on my list. The place is beautifully designed and decorated and the service is top notch even before you get there. I exchanged emails with Ruben from the front desk who was incredibly helpful in organizing my itinerary and all types of tours. Once I arrived he proved to be by far one of the most knowledgeable hotel employees I've ever met. The hotel also went the extra step in making us feel welcome and comfortable: our clothes, soaked from the rain, were dried and folded without us even asking for it. The rooms are awesome and the beds are bits of cloud to sleep in. Food at the restaurant is delicious and very reasonably priced. Overall BO gets a solid 10 out of 10. Best part is that the rate on hotels.com was even lower than the published rate at the front desk. #winning

Room Tip: Get an executive room on the second floor that is sold for the standard rate for not having a provat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Just read your posting and we are thrilled to learned of the wonderful time you had while staying with us. Thank you for sharing with others the beauty of our property and San Cristobal de las Casas, the room tip is lovely!

With Gratitude

Jacqueline Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As others have noted, Hotel Bo is a curious experience. A remarkable property full of surprising design and stylish features with a very contemporary upbeat atmosphere. It wouldn't be out of place in any of the great cities of the world, but instead it's in this far flung outpost of Mexico, a beautiful Mayan village a very long way from the high streets of London. Look a little closer however and you'll see that this look has been achieved with a lot of cut corners. Nothing has been built to last. No big deal though, since the effect is what matters and the rooms are genuinely comfortable and the property full of charm.
But being a long way from big cities means that you shouldn't be expecting high end service. The staff are absolutely wonderful and happy to do whatever they can to help you, however, if you've been to lazy to brush up your Spanish, expect there to be a few communication breakdowns and a small edge of chaos to proceedings. But everything is handled in the best of humour and works out in the end.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you have taken to write such a detailed review on our property, we are aware of the challenges we faced in relation to the bilingual staff. We are in the process of fixing this particular situation for the comfort of all our abroad guests.

We are glad that at the end the human component and kindness of our staff overcame any negative situation and the experience of living San Cristobal thru our hotel was pleasant, we welcome you to return to Hotel b¨o on your next visit to Chiapas so you can re connect with us.

With Gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Oh I wanted to be able to write a totally glowing report of this hotel as it strives for what I want in a hotel: great design in a unique (off the beaten path) location, but alas there were too many problems....
The good:
1. the design is wonderful, quirky but local.
2. the food is amazing, every single time.
3. the bathrooms are like having a personal spa in your room.

Ughhhh. now the bad:
1. The staff is too green, too young, too in-experienced to deal with even the most simple issues, everything gets twisted around or takes many more attempts to get done than what is necessary.
2. The staff don't speak enough English to be able to really help or add value to your experience.
3. The staff really don't know good local tips, they just send you to the most touristy spots.
4. Enough with the staff, the WIFI doesn't work at all, the TV has only Mexican channels.
5. At breakfast they didn't even have cereal. At dinner I was told over and over they didn't have plain pasta for my son, and then they did when I asked the manager.
6. The organization with outside contractors bordered on dangerous, they just got me a guy that was available to take me into the jungle with my two kids, they had never vetted him before or used him before and the experience I ended up having with him was as close to dangerous as I ever want to get.

The good (again);
1. The manageress, when told of my experience was unparralleled in her helpfulness and made me believe if that type of care would have been taken all along, my experience would have been a whole lot better. She didn't push back or be defensive at all and was pure joy to deal with.
2. Johnny-was amazing, but was sadly only there on our last day.

Alas, stay at Hotel Bo, there is nothing like it in San Cristobal. Give them tips as they want to improve! Ladies, Chiapas is still a little macho and a few years behind the rest of Mexico, which we found otherwise very sophisticated, dignified and just a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you have taken to write such a detail review on us. We will work on the areas that you so kindly mentioned training is a never ending process; we are always looking for the best talent to come and join our family.

Glad to see that you loved our culinary options and that at the end the pasta was fixed for your son, trust that we will work on every single detail noted on your review.

With gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#3 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#4 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#16 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bo

Address: Av. 5 de Mayo 38 | entre Escuadron 201 y 28 de Agosto, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Parador Mexicanos)
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $180 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bo 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bo San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing