We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unmissable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bo
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've stayed in all sorts of hotels all over the world and BO ranks way up on my list. The place is beautifully designed and decorated and the service is top notch even before you get there. I exchanged emails with Ruben from the front desk who was incredibly helpful in organizing my itinerary and all types of tours. Once I arrived he proved to be by far one of the most knowledgeable hotel employees I've ever met. The hotel also went the extra step in making us feel welcome and comfortable: our clothes, soaked from the rain, were dried and folded without us even asking for it. The rooms are awesome and the beds are bits of cloud to sleep in. Food at the restaurant is delicious and very reasonably priced. Overall BO gets a solid 10 out of 10. Best part is that the rate on hotels.com was even lower than the published rate at the front desk. #winning

Room Tip: Get an executive room on the second floor that is sold for the standard rate for not having a provat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just read your posting and we are thrilled to learned of the wonderful time you had while staying with us. Thank you for sharing with others the beauty of our property and San Cristobal de las Casas, the room tip is lovely!

With Gratitude

Jacqueline Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    39
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
70
120
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

As others have noted, Hotel Bo is a curious experience. A remarkable property full of surprising design and stylish features with a very contemporary upbeat atmosphere. It wouldn't be out of place in any of the great cities of the world, but instead it's in this far flung outpost of Mexico, a beautiful Mayan village a very long way from the high streets of London. Look a little closer however and you'll see that this look has been achieved with a lot of cut corners. Nothing has been built to last. No big deal though, since the effect is what matters and the rooms are genuinely comfortable and the property full of charm.
But being a long way from big cities means that you shouldn't be expecting high end service. The staff are absolutely wonderful and happy to do whatever they can to help you, however, if you've been to lazy to brush up your Spanish, expect there to be a few communication breakdowns and a small edge of chaos to proceedings. But everything is handled in the best of humour and works out in the end.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you have taken to write such a detailed review on our property, we are aware of the challenges we faced in relation to the bilingual staff. We are in the process of fixing this particular situation for the comfort of all our abroad guests.

We are glad that at the end the human component and kindness of our staff overcame any negative situation and the experience of living San Cristobal thru our hotel was pleasant, we welcome you to return to Hotel b¨o on your next visit to Chiapas so you can re connect with us.

With Gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Oh I wanted to be able to write a totally glowing report of this hotel as it strives for what I want in a hotel: great design in a unique (off the beaten path) location, but alas there were too many problems....
The good:
1. the design is wonderful, quirky but local.
2. the food is amazing, every single time.
3. the bathrooms are like having a personal spa in your room.

Ughhhh. now the bad:
1. The staff is too green, too young, too in-experienced to deal with even the most simple issues, everything gets twisted around or takes many more attempts to get done than what is necessary.
2. The staff don't speak enough English to be able to really help or add value to your experience.
3. The staff really don't know good local tips, they just send you to the most touristy spots.
4. Enough with the staff, the WIFI doesn't work at all, the TV has only Mexican channels.
5. At breakfast they didn't even have cereal. At dinner I was told over and over they didn't have plain pasta for my son, and then they did when I asked the manager.
6. The organization with outside contractors bordered on dangerous, they just got me a guy that was available to take me into the jungle with my two kids, they had never vetted him before or used him before and the experience I ended up having with him was as close to dangerous as I ever want to get.

The good (again);
1. The manageress, when told of my experience was unparralleled in her helpfulness and made me believe if that type of care would have been taken all along, my experience would have been a whole lot better. She didn't push back or be defensive at all and was pure joy to deal with.
2. Johnny-was amazing, but was sadly only there on our last day.

Alas, stay at Hotel Bo, there is nothing like it in San Cristobal. Give them tips as they want to improve! Ladies, Chiapas is still a little macho and a few years behind the rest of Mexico, which we found otherwise very sophisticated, dignified and just a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you have taken to write such a detail review on us. We will work on the areas that you so kindly mentioned training is a never ending process; we are always looking for the best talent to come and join our family.

Glad to see that you loved our culinary options and that at the end the pasta was fixed for your son, trust that we will work on every single detail noted on your review.

With gratitude,

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel's architecture is so smart and fun. With beautiful gardens and simple, functional bedrooms that are cozy and comfortable keeping the local flavor with small touches throughout. The service is friendly with very helpful staff. It has a great restaurant and it is located within walking distance to everything. Definitely the only one of its kind in town and for sure the place to stay. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review on our behalf
Hotel b" o we are celebrating our first year of operation during
The month of april, 2013. So we are thrilled to see you are now a #boFan

With regards,
Jacqueline Maria Benitez
Marketing / Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

great hotel and great service!!!!!!!!! i loved my room it was really comfortable and the hotel the food is really really great.............. if you visit san cristobal you cant miss this hotel its lovely and great desing.. we really enjoyed this hotel...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria2222p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest!

We are thrilled to read that you loved our hotel and thank you for your kind recomendation, we are looking forward to have you back!

With Regards,

Jacqueline Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

As with love, sometimes words diminish the experience. Hotel Bo is all about nuance, detail, warm light, attitude. If beauty and taste touch your heart and put you in the mood, add the magic of the perfect "home away from home" pampering to the ultrasurrealism of San Cristobal.

Do not miss the Regional Costume Museum a few blocks away (by appointment), "Cielo y Tierra Tours" of Chamula with Alex. Do not miss the mystic and the unbelievable. Mexico is for world class travelers.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, specially room 7 and 14, as they are corner rooms. And there is something about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karunafreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely review

Everything that comes from us it is definetly from the heart!

Warm personal regards,

Jacqueline Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you visit San Cristobal de las Casas, you can't miss this lovely charme and design hotel. Everything is perfect here, from the staff with people like Ruben whose smiling approach and availability represent a great value, to the location, to all other details. We really enjoyed their deluxe hospitality and highly recommend Hotel Bo for a relaxing, surprising 5 stars holiday vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbMexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valentina, thank you for your review and recognition to our services, staff and the beauty of San Cristobal de las Casas. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and that we surprised you in so many levels!

We look forward to welcome you back!

With Gratitude!

Jacqueline Maria
Public Relations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bo

Property: Hotel Bo
Address: Av. 5 de Mayo 38, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Parador Mexicanos)
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bo 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bo San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing