We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food”
Review of Restaurante Miura

Restaurante Miura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Excelente lugar para venir en grupo o para celebrar una ocacion especila. Nuestro tradicional buffet a lo largo de 10 anos nos ha hecho uno de los mejores de la ciudad. Tambien nuestro nuevo menu a la carta y las especialidades de cortes sterlin silver nos coloca como el mejor lugar para comer en San Cristobal. Visitanos, no te arrepentiras
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We ate here three times, the first time we had tapas although they were more like small meals one each was enough and they were very tasty. On the other occasions we both ate the rib of beef with mash which was superb, the wine was good too. We did not like the way the restaurant was open we always felt cold but the locals seem impervious. Super food we liked it a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    46
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We picked this restaurant for one of our "special" splurges while staying for two weeks in San Cristobal. It started out okay, friendly waiter, picking the meat and tour of the wine cellar. We ordered salads and steaks and a bottle of wine.

We were in the beginning stages of eating our salads when one of the "worst restaurant sins" was committed. They brought our steaks and vegetables. I have a background in restaurants and this is totally inexcusable in a restaurant selling itself as top end.

You make room on the table - all of a sudden you rush with your salad - your vegetables are cold - your meat gets cold....We asked if it could be kept in the kitchen to keep warm. When our salads were done they brought our meat but the vegetables came about 10 minutes later. The meat wasn't that good either. We both had mounds of fat and gristle that we had them pack up to feed the street dogs. We kind of just wanted to finish and get out of there. Not very impressive for a relatively expensive San Cristobal restaurant. Although the waiter was friendly, they need to get it together with service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gatopaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I thought the food was extremely good and tasty. I enjoyed the decor and the friendly manner of the service. I recommend this restaurant very highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
625 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Reasonable steak”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The restaurant atmosphere is pleasant with very attentive service. The wine list is good and there was a Spanish guitarist playing that added to the atmosphere. The Gnocchi with pesto was good. The steaks were reasonably priced and okay for flavour. They salted the steaks, however, which interfered with the taste. It was a pleasant night out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A dreadful dining experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Being a no fuss Englishman I never complain about food, I just put it down to another experience. However on this occasion I felt the urge, as I was paying 310 pesos for a Porterhouse steak, at a highly recommended steakhouse. I asked for my steak to be cooked medium, the steak arrived still sizzling and on cutting, clearly grey, not pink. I called the waiter over to explain, who in turn got the Manager who asked what the problem was, I explained and he took it back to the grill. The waiter then came back over with a ribeye, will this be ok, as we have no Porterhouse. Yes, I said. The steak then landed back in front of me minutes later, clearly still raw! The Manager asks if its ok, no I say, its not medium. He then grabbed the plate from me and almost threw it down on the table next to us and proceeded to cut into it, telling me in a very aggressive way that is how I asked for it. No, I asked for medium! He then stomped off like a child that has had he's sweats taken away! Not the way I expect a Manager of an expensive steak house to behave! One of the waiters comes back over and asks do I want it cooked more, yes medium would be nice! The steak then comes back and is cooked correctly this time! In England we have many pubs that cook great steaks properly and for a fraction of the cost. How a steakhouse can get it so wrong is beyond me! Plus when the bill came my ribeye was charged as a Porterhouse, I didn't make the manager aware, as I feared that he would become violent!

I was dining with 2 friends whose steaks were a little better, well just slightly over cooked, we took the English approach and simply gritted our teeth and paid the almost 1200 peso bill, service charge was already included so avoiding paying the tip wasn't possible! However the waiting staff did deserve the tip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biggsy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Miura also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to Restaurante Miura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing