We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was not the last time that I spent gorgeous days in hostal akumal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Akumal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Abtwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“it was not the last time that I spent gorgeous days in hostal akumal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

i was quite sceptical about spending holidays in mexico. but what i saw and felt there was just incredible. the couple (cinzia& erick) were just so customer-orientated and tried to read all my wishes from my lips. they gave me priceless hints about cultur, music and art. were to find when what, and i have to admint, they were right each time. i came as close to the mexican culture as i would never have dreamt about.

the hostel is situated at a great spot, near to everything. nice rooms, always kept tidy and nice. warm colours and a lot of tiny spots to retreat, to read or to dream about future adventures.

THANK YOU CINZIA & ERICK! I spent an amazing time in your paradise!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herisauer_hillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    11
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
26
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

This hostel was owesome. I stayed here 3 days with my friends. Location was great. A big supermarket was in only 3-5mins from the hostel and Zocalo was in only 10mins. Staffs(especially Erik) and Simon were always very friendly and helped us. I spent a great time with them.

¡¡¡¡¡¡me gusta esto hostal!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyungseok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stayed there for a month. As soon as I walked in the hostel, it felt like home. It looks like a family home, and that´s why I felt really comfortable there. The couple who owns the place are extremely nice, friendly and helpful. It is also where they live, and thereforeit is very well kept and inviting. They make you feel as comfortable as possible during your visit. There is a kitchen that´s always clean and inviting, fast internet, a great rooftop with hammocks, and a great patio to sip your coffee and enjoy the sun! I recomend this place with all my heart!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiSegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbon, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I really enjoyed the days i've been there! Very helpful staff and great atmosphere. We had quite a party going on in the evening. Fantastic people and san cristobal is absolutely worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birreflade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Very laid back athmosphere, hammocks in the backyard to chill out and have a few drinks. Staff is very friendly and the girl that runs the place really looks after the place and the guests. They also know alot about the area and will get you any information you need. The rooms are exceptionally clean!

This is the real mexico off the beaten path!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is a one-of-a-kind place to stay! The atmosphere is unique, the owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The place is clean and nearby downtown and the market. It's perfect to chill out and meet many people from all over the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalalupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Brilliant stay, lovely hosts, great atmosphere with cosy chimney light-ups in the evening and get-together ambiance in the patio and chill-out factor on the veranda. Nice little spot where staff was always keen on making me feel comfortable. Thanks akumal!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassjopeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Media Luna
Hotel La Media Luna
#34 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#2 of 85 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Akumal

Property: Hostal Akumal
Address: Av. 16 de Septiembre | Between Gautemala y Venezuela, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our delicious breakfast: homemade wholemeal bread with homemade jam, a delicious egg-dish, organic coffee from regional production and fresh milk and butter.One block away from the central zone and colorful market of Santo Domingo, Hostal Akumal is one of the most centrally located hostels in San Cristobal.Its harmonious atmosphere offers tranquility one step from the exciting downtown life.As the hosts share this house they treat the building and its inhabitants as their home and family.You can expect to curl up in front of the fireplace on one of Chiapas cool, crystal clear nights, enjoy the sun on the patio or the garden-like terrace. Prepare a delicious meal in our fully equipped kitchen, organize your travel plans in the practical book and computer corner or on the comfy couches in the candle-lit living room: The uncomplicated ambience of this place makes you get involved with other guests quickly. check in: 6:00 amcheck out: 12:00breakfast includedcredit cards not accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Akumal San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing