We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iguana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iguana Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
San Agustinillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

A really comfortable and relaxing place to hang out with nice people. The hostel is clean and tidy, has wifi and good communal areas, hot showers and breakfast is a great added extra! Everyone working at the hostel and Rudy the owner are helpful and friendly. A great place to stay in San Cristobal for that homely feel after a day out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapurna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    40
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
38
168
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have stayed at Iguana Hostel twice and cannot wait to make it back there for a third stay some day! The staff and Rudy are always super friendly and helpful, there's always a great selection of foods at breakfast and there is the amazing food market just around the corner, and the terrace and hammocks are great for chilling out on. From adventures to see the nearby sites, to being a part of a hostel barbeque, to sitting around for hours having all sorts of conversations with strangers who are soon good friends, the vibe here is always welcoming and relaxed. It's hard not to become a part of the fun family of ever-changing friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

After a four months travel trough central america, I remember of Iguana as one of the best hostel I've been to. Charming people, relax, helpful and nice ambiance. Everyone getting along together, charing meals, people staying way longer than they said just because the place, and the city, are great.

Room Tip: The girl dorm is smaller, so I guess quieter than the mixed dorm... but I tried them both and I pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tata, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Random words to describe this hostel
Relaxing, Rowdy, Quaint, Fun, Romantic, Chill, Adventurous, Taboo (in that sort of addictive way knowing that it might be bad for you but you just want it so much and you'll never get enough)
_________________________________________________ insert your words here....

It was so great I came back, and get this... I'm coming back again in the future. Perfect location, great facilities, awesome staff.
"Whoa man this place has some killer vibes man" Damn right it does and those infectious vibes might be taken over your thighs. Dance Party Woot Woot.

Seriously though this place is great. You wont find a hostel that has more of a community feel that this one anywhere. Comes as a traveler and leave as family (a saying from this hostel now tattooed on my Italian friend) We all ended up staying for weeks it was just a good place to chill after you lay down a few thousand miles.

I love you guys, see you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Iguana hostel is nothing fancy, but staff and location is great. The courtyard is nice with great upstairs patio. The breakfast was good, and more than just cereal and toast. They had a nice bbq one night too, where everyone chipped in, and made a bunch of good food. It's walking distance to everything. My biggest complaint is that it was freezing! They were nice giving me extra blankets no problem. The shower was hot for about 30-60 seconds, and then cold:( Other than that, the hostel was safe and relaxing. San Cristobal is the most charming city!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in February. Perfect place to explore San Cristobal from, close to food and artisan markets, as well as El Centro. Easy walk from the bus station, and the neighborhood is great! The staff was awesome, free breakfast, and the hottest shower I had in Mexico! The beds were average, but wi-fi was good. Gets a little chilly at night in the dorm, so bundle up or ask for an extra blanket. It was a steal at $100 Pesos a night! Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morges
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

It s a nice hostel not expensive, very cosy. Plus, it s a perfect location in teh middle of teh citty, to box from the market, and a The people working there are so friendly .... And very helpfull. They speak all perfect english and can help you out with issue if you dont speak spanish !! The owner is very kind. Bel endroit, convivial, centré, propre, bon rapport qualité-prix, Le responsable et son équipe sont très chaleureux mais surtout prêts à rendre service et inquiets de ton bien-être.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#60 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#3 of 85 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Hostel

Property: Iguana Hostel
Address: Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16 | Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iguana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four years since opening, IGUANA HOSTEL is well known among backpackers for its family, chilled out and fun atmosphere. People come to the Iguana for two nights and they stay for two weeks... This is because Iguana Hostel can host only up to 27 people, so it's easy to make friends to share fun with, and we will always take good care of you. Our main asset is our staff: travellers on the road, who love making friends, and speak your language. The IGUANA HOSTEL is situated in a historic Barrio del Cerrillo, with a panoramic view from the terrace. The hostel is located near Santo Domingo a church surrounded and a colourful handcraft market, 2 blocks from the public market and only 7 minutes walk from the very heart of the city: la Catedral and el Parque Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Iguana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Iguana Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing