We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of greatest atmospheres around the world!”
Review of Iguana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iguana Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“One of greatest atmospheres around the world!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

One of the best relaxing places around Mexico, and probably around the world too! I stayed there for a long time and while travelling around I was dragged back there multiple times...and I was not the only one, what got me the feeling of meeting sort of a second family every time I got there. I've been there during empty and busy days and I may say the problems are minor. If you're really looking for a friendly place to meet nice people and have a lot of drinks, meals and cool events engaging almost every guets, this is the place. Remember to check the tours sold at the front desk: Chiapas has some unique stuff going around!
Pretty much all you need to do there to get a cool staying is showing up and start smiling around.
Will definitely go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLARordrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    42
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
40
168
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent 4 or 5 days at the iguana (not to sure, lots of tequila was involved!). I had great time there, the owner is a sweet man, very happy and freindly! During my time there I celebrated my boyfriend Bday AND my friend Bday the following one! Great atmospher, we enjoyed diner party with all the other guests and staffs. It is very close the the center of town and the artisanal market (bad for my wallet I spent to much! =). Thank you guys for a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietaxi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

In the five months I've travelled central America and Mexico, Iguana Hostel is by far my favourite hostel so far!

Where do I start?? Upon entering the hostel the staff were so awesome that we all became instant friends. Every person staying at the hostel was a legend too...it just makes for the best vibes and if you are travelling alone like me its nice to feel part of a family :)

The whole place is bright, spacious and clean at all times. The kitchen is as good as it gets! Beds are comfortable and the dorms are just beautiful...even when the dorm is full there is ample space for all.

Iguana is close to everything - parque central, every church, the incredible markets and the main cafe strip are all a short walk away!

Do yourself a favour and feel at home in this beautiful hostel while you get to know the gorgeous pueblo magico that is San Cristobal. Best. Experience. Ever!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at the Iguana Hostel for a couple of days when it had just recently opened, back in 2010, and we really loved it. Clean facilities, good location, friendly atmosphere and an awesome Sunday BBQ. The owners, Rudy and Monika, are a lovely couple who made us feel right at home, invited us on an trip to a community outside San Cristóbal where we participated in local festivities, and took really good care of my friend who became sick after a couple of days. To this day we remain in contact with them. All in all, I highly recommend the Iguana Hostel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The bedrooms are really good and the people who works there makes ou feel youre at home. I totally recomend this place.
Tip: Talk to Rudy hes the owner of the hostel and will introduce you quite good parties in San Cristobal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThegreatJambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

An amazing hostel with a very warm welcome! Painting on the walls, hammocks and a colorful garden! Very nice terrace upstairs where everybody gets together to eat, talk and have parties! Very nice view from the roof. Nice rooms, clean kitchen and common areas. A very nice and varied breakfast and cool staff! I had so much fun and met so many nice people in this hostel that came back to celebrate my birthday! Rudy, the owner, is great and shares good times with us. This place really really rocks!!!!! Brilliant!! You can't miss it if you go to San Cris!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamerebatard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

excellent from every angle. nice family feeling. only hostel where all the guests were dining, partying, going out, doing excursions all together. we nick named it "hostel california" because it's really difficult to leave. i stayed there 3 weeks instead off the planned 4 days. and so almost everyone i met extended their stay. rooms and toilets are clean, good breakfast, close to everything, nice staff, good common areas, and Rudy, the owner, is a pearl. it will help you with anything you might need and it will make sure the atmosphere is always good. nice parties without bothering who needs sleep.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cicciopirrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#62 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Azulejos
Hotel Azulejos
#57 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 102 in San Cristobal de las Casas
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Hostel

Property: Iguana Hostel
Address: Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16 | Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iguana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four years since opening, IGUANA HOSTEL is well known among backpackers for its family, chilled out and fun atmosphere. People come to the Iguana for two nights and they stay for two weeks... This is because Iguana Hostel can host only up to 27 people, so it's easy to make friends to share fun with, and we will always take good care of you. Our main asset is our staff: travellers on the road, who love making friends, and speak your language. The IGUANA HOSTEL is situated in a historic Barrio del Cerrillo, with a panoramic view from the terrace. The hostel is located near Santo Domingo a church surrounded and a colourful handcraft market, 2 blocks from the public market and only 7 minutes walk from the very heart of the city: la Catedral and el Parque Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Iguana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Iguana Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing