We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for few days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iguana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iguana Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Great place to stay for few days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was cool place to stay, always friendly and helpful stuff.
Very nice location, next to plaza (square) with old church and nice benches to sit on and chill while viewing mountains surrounding the city.
In the hostel it's very nice too, equipped kitchen, place for bbq and fire, hammocks, sunny roof to make yoga etc. Guests are friendly for each other too, hanging out together, going to tequila bars together in evenings and etc. I liked always clean bathrooms with always nice hot water, things that you not always get in other places.
I recommend it if you want to truly relax.

Room Tip: all of them are nice, doesn't matter if it is private or dormitory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyp h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    40
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
38
168
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

i ve been working at Iguana hostel for a few weeks and very enjoyed it. the atmosphere is perfect. they have a nice garden with some hammocks and cozy fireplace where anyone can set up the fire. i advice everyone to give it a try and you wont get disappointed

Room Tip: all rooms are good. just take a look and pick the right one for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I absolutely loved every minute of my stay at Iguana Hostel. Rudy the owner was an incredible host, and made all of the guests feel incredibly welcome. He remembered my name on the first day, and was helpful in describing the site of the town. The location is perfect - right next to two of the best markets in the city. The food market is great, and buying produce there is a cheap way to make yourself a delicous meal in the hostel's clean and inviting kitchen. The dorms are comfortable, and the people are wonderful. Can't recommend this hostel enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hostel, great people. Wonderful view and really good vibes. I've stayed at La Iguana many times and it always feels like home. You can watch a film, hang around with the people who work there or, if it happens to be one available, even grab a bike a visit the city! Rudy and Monica's hospitality will make you feel welcome! Thnaks a lot!

Room Tip: There are private rooms or dorms. I've slept in the big dorms and they're were warm and cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomedejaponernada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Iguana!
It's awesome hostel in great location (generally in the center, close to food market and handcrafts market) - there is so beautiful view from the roof! Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast included in the price, safety (every room has lockers), hammocks in the garden, cooking facilities.If you want you can buy interesting tours or shuttle to Guatemala.
The whole ambience very friendly and relaxed I loved the atmosphere there! When I'll came back to SC I'm sure I will stay in Iguana again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed twice at la iguana, a few days in august and then again in November. The atmosphere of la iguana just made my trip amazing and made it hard to leave saint cristobal. Rudy, the owner, and the staff just became like a family, they are always happy to show people the best and secret parts of San cristobal to see ...
I came as a stranger and left as a friend....
Go iguana!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been travelling for some time now and needed a good place to stay while in Chiapas. I was recommended El Iguana and can only say that there's no other place I'd rather have been. The hostel is so cute you immediately feel at home; the owner and staff most helpful; location is great, not too far from sheer center but not in the crowded part of town either; atmosphere is awesome; advice and tips on where to go and what to see most welcome and appreciated. Really, if you find yourself in San Cristobal de las Casas, do yourself a favor and stay at Iguana Hostel. You'll have yet another wonderful experience to add on your list!
Cheers! ... and pass it on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#59 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#29 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Hostel

Property: Iguana Hostel
Address: Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16 | Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iguana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four years since opening, IGUANA HOSTEL is well known among backpackers for its family, chilled out and fun atmosphere. People come to the Iguana for two nights and they stay for two weeks... This is because Iguana Hostel can host only up to 27 people, so it's easy to make friends to share fun with, and we will always take good care of you. Our main asset is our staff: travellers on the road, who love making friends, and speak your language. The IGUANA HOSTEL is situated in a historic Barrio del Cerrillo, with a panoramic view from the terrace. The hostel is located near Santo Domingo a church surrounded and a colourful handcraft market, 2 blocks from the public market and only 7 minutes walk from the very heart of the city: la Catedral and el Parque Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Iguana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Iguana Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing