We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and friendly fellow travelers!”
Review of Iguana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iguana Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly fellow travelers!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I know great value usually means that a place is lacking some sort of basic amenity, but that's not always a bad thing. First, San Cristobal is a great city and the Iguana Hostel puts you right in the middle of the action. There was a wonderful craft market about half a block away. The main center was only a five minute walk away! The place was everything we expected for a hostel. We stayed in the private room, which was clean and a good size. The only problem was that it was so dark. There are no windows and the only light provided in the room was not very bright. If you're just looking for a cheap place to stay for a couple of nights in San Cristobal then this probably won't matter so much. We met a lot of friendly fellow travelers who partied a little bit with a game of Rum Jenga(?), but they were thoughtful enough to invite us and quieted down when it got late.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j20andb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    42
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
38
168
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It wasn't a problem to arrive to Iguana Hostel alone, as there were like-minded travellers and very friendly atmosphere. Evenings went fast by enjoying some beer and pox (!!) and you could easily make friends for your future travels. People seem to come back to the hostel or at least stay longer than was planned (happened to me as well). You can book some good tours from the hostel or a transfer to Guatemala.
The location of the hostel is excellent. The fruit market (other stuff available too) and a supermarket are just around the corner. The shopping streets are only a couple of blocks away, as well as the best places to experience the busy nightlife of San Cristobal.
The hostel is clean and seems quite new. It's small, and you instantly feel almost like a part of the family. The dorm room was a bit cold at some nights, but you could ask another blanket. The staff was extremely helpful and relaxed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majak463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night earlier in the month.

The girls who worked here were all very friendly and helpful.

The place is very informal and relaxed. Feel free to chill out on the hammocks or bring your own beers and chill on the roof watching the mariachi band opposite in the square.

The location is great, just a few mins walk from the market.

On the downside this place was fairly quiet and could be a little cleaner. We rented towels too and these were a little grubby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickg385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hostel is nice and clean and comfortable, with a decent kitchen and bathrooms.
However, we stayed in a dorm and made friends with the other people in the dorm. We (all of us in in the dorm) were practically the only people there (apart from another couple in a private room, who we also made friends with), but the hostel workers kept telling us to "shut up" if we were talking past midnight, despite practically all the guests being involved in the conversation, it was very frustrating!
Also, the tours are really expensive - if you can go on your own to Canon Sumidero, you will save lots of money!

Room Tip: The dorms are good quality and clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Staying here has been a pleasure, not only because the hostel is fresh, spacious, clean and comfortable but because the people running it and working here are so kind and welcoming too. There is a big kitchen for all the cooking you might want to do, large communal outdoor terraces, a garden with hammocks to chill out in and space to sunbathe aswell. I have met so many lovely people during my 2 stays here and have enjoyed many beers in the garden with them before going out in san cris. There is a lovely welcoming, family atmosphere here...I would recommend to anyone, especially people travelling alone. Go and see for yourself!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

A friend recommanded me this hostel, and I haven´t been disappointed! I really enjoyed this colorfull and charming place. The staff makes you feel comfortable right away and is always willing to help you. I appreciated the huge kitchen and big tables which are good excuses to share your meal with others travelers. This is my turn to highly recommand it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aurelia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

i came to iguana first time in February 2011.. and since then I'm always coming back here. now again in iguana.. people here are really great. owners and stuff are really helpful, travellers who are staying here .. its just amazing fun.
they have good atmosphere , parties.. and chill out zone with the hammocks for nice afternoon after night out .. or on the roof with amazing view
clean bathrooms, good vibes in the dormitories with lockers and cosy blankets, good equipped kitchen.
@I just fell in love with this place .
ow they also have good deals for transfer to Guatemala and some trips around chiapas. its close to the main veggie market @:) if u in san cristobal u need to enjoy ur time in iguana

Room Tip: dorm 1 has 12 beds its closer to the street but its quiet area so no difference dorm 2 just for gir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaniuta102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#61 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#3 of 86 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Hostel

Property: Iguana Hostel
Address: Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16 | Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iguana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four years since opening, IGUANA HOSTEL is well known among backpackers for its family, chilled out and fun atmosphere. People come to the Iguana for two nights and they stay for two weeks... This is because Iguana Hostel can host only up to 27 people, so it's easy to make friends to share fun with, and we will always take good care of you. Our main asset is our staff: travellers on the road, who love making friends, and speak your language. The IGUANA HOSTEL is situated in a historic Barrio del Cerrillo, with a panoramic view from the terrace. The hostel is located near Santo Domingo a church surrounded and a colourful handcraft market, 2 blocks from the public market and only 7 minutes walk from the very heart of the city: la Catedral and el Parque Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Iguana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Iguana Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing