We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
A TripAdvisor Member
streamwood, illinois
11
Reviewed March 17, 2006

the hotel rooms are about 6 feet from the street.
the rooms are slightly larger than the beds in them.
don't plan on catching up on the news for there are no tv's.
my wife and i didn't get any sleep, the rooms are extremely noisy.
we switched hotels and got a better place for a lot less money.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 57 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersay
14
Reviewed February 19, 2006

This hotel is very clean, has a great location, and is very attractive. However, the rooms offer very little privacy. My room was located right off the lobby (as most of the rooms are), and had no windows. The room was very dark. The only source of light was a small skylight, and a window in the door. The walls are paper thin, so I could hear every sound my neighbors made. It was stated in the description that the staff spoke English, French and German, but they only spoke Spanish.

The food at the hotel resturant, Eden, was wonderful. The staff was polite, and very helpful.

If you plan to go on a tour of Chamula, do not go with the hotels recommended tour company, Arista, go with Alex and Raul. Alex and Raul are located outside the Church on the zocola at 9:30 am every morning. It was the best tour I have taken in Mexico.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Rooms
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2006

The hotel itself is charming with Santa Fe color scheme of turquois blue and orange. Lovely decorations and lots of plants. Courtyard is pretty, and the place is kept very clean. Excellent location, you can walk everywhere, tons of great restaurants nearby. The hotel restaurant was quite average, pretty good prices. We only paid about 500 peso for our room, it was a double bed for the 2 of us, it was pretty cramped, but quite inexpensive. The room was basically the size of a bed, you would never want to hang around in the room. The hotel was an old hospital, and the rooms were basically hospital rooms, large enough for patients only. Having said that, I still think the hotel is fairly good value, because you can choose to hang out in the courtyard or the lobby area, which has plenty of glass windows, sky lights, tons of comfy tables and chairs, and plants everywhere. Its kind of like sitting in your living room. We ended up sitting out there, reading, or having a Margaritta with friends, it all worked out.

There are tons of other hotels in town, so I might try another one if I were to go back. Hotel Paraiso is ok though, for the money...

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BayAreaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here over New Years and were given a room that was on the groundfloor, essentially in the lobby of the hotel. While I can't speak to the exterior courtyard rooms, which may be lovely, our room was awful. It reminded us both of a dorm room, with barely enough room for a double bed. There was no way we could both have our suitcases open, and forget about 2 people "hanging out" in the room at the same time. And since the only thing separating us from the front desk and our room was a thin door and a curtain, it was extremely noisy. We were supposed to have dinner in the restaurant, but the front desk bungled our reservations so the food may be good, but we wouldn't know...I guess you could say the room was clean, though. Stay at Casa Felipe Flores instead if you want to have a great experience. El Paraiso was horrible.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

In december we stayed a few nights in San Cristobal de las Casas in hotel possado el paraiso. The hotel is located in the centre but in a quiet street. The hotel has 14 rooms. Some of them are located on the groundfloor and more or less in the lobby. We had one of these rooms. It was a very small room with a small double bed. It was hard to pass each other in the room. It was impossible to open a suitcase except when you put it on the bed. The room was also very noisy; early in the morning we could hear people checking out. Worse; in the bathroom you could easily hear all the sound of the neighbours!
The hotel has a good restaurant.
We paid 55 euros per night ( breakfast not included)
We loved san Cristobal but if we decide to go there once again we would choose another hotel ( there are serveral in the centre)

1  Thank ernavandeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
The Netherlands
623
Reviewed November 24, 2005

Very nice hotel in the center of town. Nice rooms with high ceilings. Tasteful garden, friendly staff. Good restaurant. A maid saved us from a big spider! Enough blankets for a cold night. Very tasteful bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

We stayed for two nights at this hotel, based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and although it was okay, we would definately not rave about it.

The courtyard area is stunning, really pretty with a comfortable seating area, but the rooms themselves were just average.

The walls between rooms were paper thin and we could hear everything going on in the rooms next to ours. The room itself was narrow and quite dark all the time, although clean and the bathroom was fine.

The staff were very nice and our only worry with them was the ease in which they would hand our key to us when we returned to the hotel, even if they had not met us before...you just ask for your key and they hand it over with no verification of who you might be.

Overall like we said it was not bad, but we wouldn´t scramble to stay here again.

Quick word on the restaurant...we were bemused by the negative comments from a previous review, as the food and service was excellent. My husband had a steak, which was one of the best he has had in some time and I am vegetarian and had a wide choice of vegetarian options. The only negative we would have is that it is slightly more expensive than is normal for Mexico.

NB. Visit Naturalissimo on Novembre street for gorgeous smoothies, tasty veggie hotdogs, a salad bar and pancakes with maple syrup for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marriedcouplefromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#33 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nuestras Raices
Nuestras Raices
#31 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Casa Morada
Villas Casa Morada
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada El Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada El Paraiso

Address: Calle 5 de Febrero Centro 19, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada El Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada El Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Paraiso Hotel
Hotel Posada El Paraiso San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing