We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely & peaceful hostel”
Review of Ganesha Posada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganesha Posada
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really lovely & peaceful hostel”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little find on a budget. The hostel has dorm rooms and private rooms, with breakfast, wifi and HOT showers included. There is a great little courtyard and a communal area to relax in, plus it has its own yoga studio which you are allowed to use to yourself if there are no classes on. They have daily classes which are really cheap, unfortunately there was no yoga teacher during my stay. The place is extremely quiet and peaceful, and only 3 blocks from the main Plaza. I would really recommend staying here if you want some down time to relax

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello M.B. Thanks about your comments on trip advisor.com about Ganesha posada and so sorry about the yoga instructors and yoga calsses. the next time if you visit san cristobal and Ganesha posada, all the clases will be free for you.

Regards

Fabian Solorzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    5
    11
    2
See reviews for
3
29
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place is just lovely. Pretty quiet, Indian fabrics on the walls, relaxing, sunny courtyard. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the staff are friendly and considerate. There are only 2 bathrooms for the 7 rooms but the steaming hot showers and incredible water pressure (a necessity when you have thick long hair) make it absolutely worth it. Breakfast is nothing to sing about but it is served in a cozy little library off the interior garden and is sufficient and you can supplement your breakfast using the clean communal kitchen. I would highly recommend this place to someone coming San Cris. Mattresses are AMAZING.

Room Tip: Get the cabana if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakermarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I can warmly recommend this place with its outstanding atmosphere. The simple rooms were definitely great value for the money with its tasty decoration and excellent quality mattress (something you seldom come across when traveling). You also feel that this place takes pride in being clean and hygienic. A further plus is the breakfast served including coffee, tea, fresh fruit, bread with jam and butter as well as the yoga classes. I would not hesitate one second to go back and stay there, - a real nice oasis in the middle of San Cristobal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Melanie, gracias por tan lindo comentario, te agradezco mucho escribas tan bien en tripadvisor de nosotros, te envio un cordial abrazo... te esperamos pronto...fabian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the best places i stayed in Mexico. All the essentials are there: clean, great location, comunal kitchen and a fair price. The outstanding things are the big yoga room with really affordable classes by the end of the day and the cozy open air area. The staff were really concerned about making us enjoyng the best out of the time we had in the city. They even took me to play some football with them, followed by some deserved beers at the end of the match!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianofatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay, walking distanc to center and really good price for what you get.... Really relaxing.... Only but would be that there is 2 bathrooms for 7 rooms.... I had an amazing experience! Cngrats

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

For one of the most relaxed environments and great energy spaces that my partner and I encountered in San Cristobal, Mexico I would say that Ganesha Posada made us feel like family. The Yoga classes were excellent, staff and Hostel Owner were incredibly gracious and informative. I even got myself in a Blog article from the experience! Too cool. The rooms were super cozy, meeting other like minded travelers with lot's of stories to share was great and I really felt like I was in a cabin, but in the city. A big bonus for someone who is not too keen on over crowded city scenes. We even got sushi delivered from one of the staff's friend's to the Hostel! Amazing! Very cultural. I was in heaven. For everything that we experienced in Mexico... and that was ALOT... I would give our Ganesha family a BIG Om's up! To say that we even got magically directed there from some other travler's on the road, truly shows to me that this place is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Dyana , thanks for your nice comment on trip advisor, we are doing every days all with so much love dedication and happines.... thanks a lot,


regards

Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a cheaper hostel for a few nights but then the water went out so I decided to check this place out. The breakfast sucks, the price is expensive considering other hostels in the area, they charge you to leave your bags for the day after check out (I have never had a hostel or hotel do this). The claim of yoga was false. They said the instructor was on vacation. I just didn't get a good vibe here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtawWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#34 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Posada

Property: Ganesha Posada
Address: Calle 28 de Agosto #23, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ganesha Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesha Posada San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing