We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveling by San Cristobal de las Casas trough Chiapas.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Certificate of Excellence
Ciudad de México
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Traveling by San Cristobal de las Casas trough Chiapas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My sugestion is to know this magical place and Area staying in the hotel that makes you confidence...in my opinion people in general are the best host ...I mean you are welcome...the food is just exquisite and cheap, the same as most of the hotels, the city has a collection of wonderfoul museums and markets, restaurants (keeep away of greasy food), food is 80 percent ok meaning quality of restaurants....please contact a guide to visit San Juan Chamula, the native textil factories with creativity an colors of regional clothing (choose a gift for anyone in family) as well as tablecloths, tapestry, floor covers, etc. All of them are wonderfula and very cheap (ask for lower price by dozen or fraction); as well as a lot of natural places and precolumbian sites -Yaxchilán, Palenque, Bonampak, Izapa, Tenam Puente, Chiapa de Corzo, Chinkultik y Toniná- . Spend a wonderful season all around the year, just remember that even when it is on a tropical zone it is located in mountains and could be some cold and windy atmosphere. Remeember it is a very good choice to be in contact with your planet.

Room Tip: Check personally a room and food or make a reservation with the most of information of what is inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicaviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear traveler,
We were so excited while reading your lines about San Cristóbal. Thanks for visiting Chiapas, it is a great place to be in contact with nature and regional culture.

Hope you come back soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    61
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel location cannot be complained about-- as other reviews mention, right in the middle of town. It has a few options to eat there (I counted like 3 restaurants?) but we didn't try any of them (choosing to go out for breakfast and so on).

I stayed in a room with queen size bed which was very comfy and cant really complain too much about the size of it (it was 2 of us staying there).

Biggest complain was no wifi access in rooms-- but i guess its ok to "disconnect" yourself for a while. In any case, you can go to the breakfast restaurant to go online, or to the main square (right in front of the hotel) which also has free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for giving your opinion about the hotel. We really appreciate your comments because through them we can improve our services. We would like to inform you that we are working with the wifi issue so in your next stay you can enjoy of it inside the rooms.

Thanks again and looking forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

It is defintely a very central hotel and quite nice as well. The only problem was that the rooms were very small for 3 people with huge luggages. Hotel staff did not speak English but nonetheless they were still very friendly. Breakfast at this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment about Hotel Ciudad Real. We really appreciate the time you took to make the survey. As you mentioned, location is one of our strengths, we are in the city center, just in front of the principal square.

I would like to mention that we were certified by the program “Tesoros de Mexico” (Treasures of México) that recognize hotels with historic constructions, that is why we made fewer changes in the building in order to maintain the original architecture. However, we also have huge rooms on the second floor that have a beautiful view to the city hall, bandstand and the principal square. We will be very pleased to have you in our upgraded rooms.

Thanks again and looking forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayer here 3 nights with the family.
Good points: On central square, very clean, helpfull staff, great restaurant, great breakfast, good showers.
Lesser points: rooms are way to small for 4 persons, (even for 2!)rooms don't have windows on the street but on a inner court yard which makes it noisy, there is no where to sit and relax, not inside the room and not in the lobby so We spent a lot of time at the neighbouring bar and hotel wich has a nice and cozy atmosphere. The beds where the hardest we had in Mexico in 3 weeks time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments about how you felt during your stay in Hotel Ciudad Real. We really appreciate that you highlight our strengths and let us know your perspective about the things we need to improve. Definitely we will consider creating a space to hang out and be with family and friends, besides the restaurants. It is a great idea!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, nice location just in the center, friendly stuff. free wi-fi working not in all rooms, but works on lobby anyway. Beds are comfy and fresh. Hotel has a cozy cafe downstairs. Not modern, but is OK.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArishaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is nice to hear from you, we really appreciate your time to write an opinion about the Ciudad Real Hotel.

We want to apoligize about the internet acces. It is an issue that the hotel is working on and hope that in a few days free wifi wil be working in every room.

Thanks a lot for your comments,

Looking forward to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Splendidly situated hotel, right in 'the thick of it'. Rooms mainly are built around a courtyard, now roofed, which means no external windows for most. Rooms relatively small compared with most hotels but you are in a prime position. Having explored a few eating places we decided to use the hotel restaurant, which was an excellent choice, and we ate there both nights of our stay. Food was very good and reasonably priced and the staff were extremely obliging. Unfortunately the same could not be said of the staff at breakfast, one of whom (rather officious female) was attempting to force my husband and I to sit at separate tables to fill up gaps rather than sit together at an empty table. However she appeared to be the exception and I daresay the management know who the individual is. Overall, recommended.

Room Tip: Probably attracting a premium, but room 212 is large and has two floor length windows overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you take to write your opinion about the hotel. Without question, the hotel has the best location in San Cristobal. We are glad you had a great time with us.

On the other hand, it is important to mention that we will take into consideration the inconvenient you had with the staff at breakfast. I am sure it will never happen again.

Please, follow us on facebook and Twitter @hotelesCiudadReal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel on the best location you can get in San Cristobal. Located in front of the Plaza, you can walk on the downtown of this little town. 10 minutes walk to the market. 3 minutes away form the main church. Near to a lot restaurants. Actually they have their own restaurant but I dare you to taste the flavors on the streets in this little town. The hotel is clean, comfortable, it is a bit small but it is a great cozy place to stay. The staff is nice, the only detail I didn't like was that you have to request the flatiron on the lobby because they don't have them on the rooms.

Room Tip: If you can get a double room for the same price get it, the single king bedroom is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about the hotel. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. Definitely, we will take into consideration your comment about the irons on the rooms. Thanks for your time.
We are on Facebook and twitter. Follow us!!
Hoping to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#43 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico

Property: Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Address: Calle 31 de Marzo No. 10 | Col. Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel chain with properties in San Cristobal and Palenque Chiapas, Mexico, at the hart of the Mundo Maya region. Our hotels are charming and refined, decorated with the traditional Mexican colonial style and designed to give the ambiance and comfort that your customers are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing