We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location really lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Margarita
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location really lovely little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Right on the main street but not at all noisy, only 3-5min walk to the Zocalo. Bedrooms are spacious and very clean, some really cute little extras in this hotel, like little wooden windows that open from the middle and a roof terrace. Excellent location and fab budget hotel. They don't offer breakfast but that's really not a problem round San Cristobal, there's amazing coffee shops almost opposite and the Oh La La bakery down the road it out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiScott32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    73
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
66
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very lovely hostel with friendly staff, right in the middle of the pedastrian street:)
Closeby are the chocolate shops, wine bars, bakeries and all you'd need. We were there by the end of october and they had some live music right on the street at nights (though the hostel is really quite and tranquille for a good night's sleep).
I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begumgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights in Sep-2012.
It offers cheap rooms for couples, yet clean and pleasent to stay in.
Its location is the best in the city (central but quiet) and the staff is very friendly.
Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We checked in at another hotel 3 blocks from the centre (Hotel del Media Luna) which was charging US$50 per night. When we discovered Casa Margarita, we immediately checked out and moved in here. For a comparable price, you get a great location, very clean rooms and a lovely courtyard with charming ochre arches.

The rooms are a little small and dark but the beds are comfy and solid and the bathroom is lovely and the whole place is so clean. There is a lovely rooftop where you can see the tiled colonial rooftops of San Cristobal. The free wifi was great as well!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor - it's quieter and has a lovely private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Me and my new wife wanted to stay in this hotel.
We checked the price a day befor it was 400 MXN and the next day when we went to check in the price was 700 MXN.
So we dident stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you going to stay there make sure that they save the original price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
With writen words if posible...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itayge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is decent, great location and a beautiful indoor garden. The space is clean and inviting, but simple. The rooms are cosy and quaint, the bed is okay but pillows are far too big and thick for my liking. The shower was shooting in every direction, getting my clothes on the "Dry side" of the flimsy shower curtain all well.. but it was warm and clean. They don't have any 3-prong plugs for computers except out in the garden, no iron and no hair dryer, which are not deal breakers but mere inconveniences. At least the internet connection is good and the cable tv kept my mind occupied when I was bed ridden for a day with the flu.

Lots of ups and downs here, but was hoping for the price for more ups...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacadiense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Casa Margarita is a charming colonial style hotel located on the Calle Real de Guadalupe's pedestrian only section. Rooms on the first floor around the courtyard are newer than the second floor rooms. The high ceilings on the courtyard rooms gives a feeling of space on otherwise small rooms. The room was well appointed and the bathroom was clean. Amenities included extra blankets as SC can be cold! There is an onsite restaurant and travel agency. Only the first breakfast is free. Same day laundry service is also available for a very modest fee.

Wifi is also free but was not available in the room. The courtyard location was too cold especially in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the courtyard are more recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaNonnaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#38 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Margarita

Property: Hotel Casa Margarita
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe 34, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Margarita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Margarita San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing