We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and quiet - but bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador Margarita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parador Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet - but bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Generally speaking this hotel is a good one: cntral location, quiet, clean, very nice patio, rooms roomy, albeit only moderately equipped - as all rooms seem to be of similar size and furniture, the hotel deserves a good mark ...
... but our personal stay (3 nights) was not so enjoying: although we booked this hotel 4 months in advance, we were assigned to the lowest qualtiy room, with practically no natural light coming through the window, and no wifi connection at all. As we complained we were harshly reminded, that there is not other room available. From the staff's remarks we concluded as we booked via booking.com we were not entitled to a better room - but on the homepage there was no distinction between cheaper or better rooms shown. Hence our marking is below average!

Room Tip: Be aware that there are one or two rooms in very dark corners of the building - they receive no dayl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    72
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
36
126
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

There are MANY hotels on all the little streets in San Cristobal. From the outside this hotel does not look like much. However, once inside you will be impressed with the small but beautiful garden and patio area. The rooms are very spacious and we had almost zero noise from the outside. The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms were very clean, the TV worked good, and the internet speed was good. They serve a very nice, order off a menu breakfast that was included. No pool or spa or gym, just a nice, comfortable, quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: It seems all the rooms are about the same. We heard nothing at night from the surrounding homes or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Gringo_Del_Norte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed three glorious nights at the Hotel Parador Margarita in Feb and it was such a great experience.
We had been staying in nice enough hotels prior to now on our tour, but this hotel was by far the nicest of our 25 day tour.
The rooms were so lovely - fresh and clean and looked relatively new? The bed was huge and so comfy and cosy given that San Cris can get a bit cold at night!
The TV was a nice little bonus too, with lots of good channels for when jetlag meant sleep wasn't happening.
The bathroom was lovely. The shower had amazing water pressure and was hot, which given the cool temps at night was a godsend!
There is a gorgeous courtyard you can sit in and relax, it gets great sun during the day. You get great wifi reception there too.
The hotel staff were also really sweet.
One small issue is if you're out at night and come back a bit later you may need to press the doorbell or knock to get in, but the staff are really quick to respond!
It's a good location, a few streets back from the main pedestrian street but it's literally a 3 minute walk to get there. There is also a really good laundrette up the road if you need it - super cheap and very fast.
I didn't eat in the restaurant but some people had breakfast and said it was good value.
Couldn't recommend this hotel more and if I ever come back to San Cris, which I hope to, I'll definitely be staying here. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We tried to book this hotel through Booking.com which appear to be inevitable when you book on line.. The stated this hotel was full and directed us to Casa Margarita, which was nice enough but the rooms were too small... We insisted on switching locations and sure enough there was room at this wonderful Hotel... It is a bit more expensive, sure, but beautiful with very pleasant staff. The amenities were excellent and we are enjoying our stay here...We have not yet partaken of their breakfast but are sure it will be fine//// This hotel has an attached parking and very agreeable staff. Casa Margarita did as well....We highly recommend HOTEL PARADOR SANTA MARGARITA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelyneml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nice courtyard and good rooms, but for the price there is much better value with better location in town. After staying one night we looked around next day and found something else. My wife really didn't like the street it was on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff,clean and comfortable room, enjoyable garden and generous breakfast. Done in traditional Mexican hotel manner. Location was excellent for access to zocalo area. We extended our one night stay to 3!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Hidden behind a nondescript colonial facade, this hotel opens into a garden and then a beautiful courtyard with a view that makes one feel at home, at ease. The large stone rooms are great, and the fireplace in the room is a nice touch -- very welcome for us as it was cold at night. Lack of carpets on the floor made the rooms seem colder. Decor and design was very attractive. The makeover of the old colonial house into a modern hotel was very successful. Staff were very attentive, and kept us supplied with wood for the fireplace all night. I was riding a motorcycle, so got to use the large and safe garage. View out across San Cristobal and the mountains was inspiring. All rooms seemed ok, though the ones out back, off the courtyard would be quieter.

Room Tip: in back off the courtyard away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Margarita

Property: Hotel Parador Margarita
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Felipe Flores # 39, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#7 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parador Margarita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Parador Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parador Margarita San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing