We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Parador Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
winnipeg
Level Contributor
173 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value, convenient location”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff,clean and comfortable room, enjoyable garden and generous breakfast. Done in traditional Mexican hotel manner. Location was excellent for access to zocalo area. We extended our one night stay to 3!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    75
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
134
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Hidden behind a nondescript colonial facade, this hotel opens into a garden and then a beautiful courtyard with a view that makes one feel at home, at ease. The large stone rooms are great, and the fireplace in the room is a nice touch -- very welcome for us as it was cold at night. Lack of carpets on the floor made the rooms seem colder. Decor and design was very attractive. The makeover of the old colonial house into a modern hotel was very successful. Staff were very attentive, and kept us supplied with wood for the fireplace all night. I was riding a motorcycle, so got to use the large and safe garage. View out across San Cristobal and the mountains was inspiring. All rooms seemed ok, though the ones out back, off the courtyard would be quieter.

Room Tip: in back off the courtyard away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This was a good find for us in San Cristobal. A really nice, well located, quiet hotel - very close to the city centre
Rooms are large and well appointed - suggest garden view. Bathrooms clean with nice shower. No heating for those chilly evenings but plenty of nice blankets. Beds comfy - linen + duvets excellent.
Breakfast is very good - ask for it to be included in the room price
All the staff are very pleasant and helpful
Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The charming building surrounding the well-kept patio is a reason itself to stay here. Rooms are huge, breakfast buffet can't just be better, so tasty. Front desk staff speaks perfect English, not so common in Chiapas. Rooms cosy and warm enough despite cold outside and no heater provided. Only minutes from pedestrianised Calle Real de Guadalupe, very convenient and avoiding noise from the main drag.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowe_rozdanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peer, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable but the room is very dark with little light. Good location, peacefull and not too far from the centre. The first night there was much noise in the hotel: we had the room near the private garage of the hotel and we heard much talking and driving cars in and out. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willem j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We ended up here by accident as we'd planned to stay at the sister hotel Casa Margarita closer to the zocolo but due to a cold snap and the fact we were coming from Puerto Escondido which is very hot, we couldn't face the prospect of a chilly night. So a very nice bellhop wheeled out suitcases a few blocks away to the Parador Margarita which was a little more money but offered space heaters. The staff was very accommodating ( we had an early check-out which they thankfully accommodated and assisted with when our shuttle van didn't arrive), the rooms were spotless and there was plenty of hot water. The front courtyard setting was quite loverly and the breakfast delicious. i was in one of the front rooms and didn't notice noise as other have commented except for some fellow guests who tended to chat loudly when coming or going. That's fairly typical with any courtyard room and the hotel has posted signs asking people to be quiet but what can you do. It didn't bother me that much. No barking dogs at the front. Overall a very good stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for several nights and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. There was PLENTY of hot water contrary to what other reviews said. It was nice to warm up in the hot shower as it is quite chilli at San Cristobol. The rooms do not have heating (I think normal for Mexico) so it does get cool.

The service was excellent, we called the night before for a last minute reservation, the reception staff all speak excellent English and were very helpful. When we extended our stay we asked to change rooms (our first room had very poor wifi), this was not a problem and when the new room was ready they even came to help us with our luggage (without expecting a tip).

Breakfast was included in the cost and it was quite tasty. There is a lovely courtyard in the hotel and a very nice view out over the mountains. One thing I noticed is that not all the rooms are the same. Our first room was smaller (but still decent sized) and had a large flat screen TV and a very nice rain water shower. The second room was huge, there was a table, couch and coffee table but the TV was small and the shower was just an old shower head.

Finally if you are going to the airport ask them to book a private taxi for you, it is much faster than the Bus and doesn't cost too much more.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have Wi-Fi so ask for a Wifi room if you are planning on using it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Margarita

Property: Hotel Parador Margarita
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Felipe Flores # 39, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parador Margarita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parador Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parador Margarita San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing