We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parador Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Enough.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Pleasent little place a little relatively close to the centre of town. You can walk to the main streets easily enough. Wifi works.

The decor is a bit dated and the staff aren't very helpful. Hot water was a bit of an issue (There wasn't much.)

There are other options available nearer to the centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhar_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    74
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
130
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

My husband and I were in San Cristobal during Semana Santa (Holy Week) so all the hotels on Expedia, Hotels.com, and other such sites were fully booked. I found this hotel listed in trip advisor and emailed them to see if they had availability. We are grateful they did because it was a great find. We booked a room on the second floor with a king size bed for three nights. The cost of the room was very reasonable even with their high season rates. The rooms were beautiful with a simple decor, lots of space, a fire place, and a good size bathroom. The shower in this hotel was the highlight of our trip. We had lots of water pressure and plenty of hot water. The hotel also had a parking lot one block away that was very secure.


The hotel staff was very helpful, courteous, and pleasant. They made great restaurant recommendations and helped us navigate the city. The courtyard and garden were beautiful and well-maintained. The location of the hotel is also perfect because it is within walking distance to the city center and many of the must see churches, plazas and museums. San Cristobal is also a great place to stay if you want to visit the nearby towns and sites. We have stayed in several hotels throughout Mexico and this is one that is at the top of our list. We’ll definitely stay here again when we return to San Cristobal.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

The prices are outstanding, best value for the price in San Cristóbal. The rooms upstairs are bigger, more beautiful and have great decoration. The rooms downstairs are darker and not as nice. Make sure to ask for a room upstairs.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank balkan_bidaiari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Parador Margarita for four nights in early October 2010. The hotel´s staff was very friendly and the outdoor garden area was quite beautiful. The location is decent, about a 5 minute walk from the central square. Unfortunately, the rooms were dark, cold and uncomfortable. In the evening it was literally 55 degrees Fahrenheit in our room as noted by the little space heater that turned off every 5 minutes. The hotel has a no frills breakfast with two options 1) Coffee or tea, juice, toast and eggs or 2) Coffee or tea, juice, yogurt and toast. After four days we were ready for a little more variety.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel is perfect for spending a few days in San Cristobal, especially if you want a nice, quiet room, yet within walking distance of the Zocalo. We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

+ Very clean rooms, that are very spacious and decorated with new furniture. Ours had a working fireplace, which was great (and necessary) for chilly evenings
+ Zocalo is a 10 minute walk, while the hotel itself is located in a quiet street
+ Breakfast is nice, and quite cheap (50M$)

- At 550M$ per night, the hotel is slighty more expensive than many other ones in town
- The beds are quite large, but mattresses are quite hard

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsPhiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed there four nights. The hotel is ok, clean and close to downtown, But it is very noisy. You hear the cars in the street, people talking outside and everytme someone rings the bell the guy that stays there at night opens the door, greets the guests Etc..
I guess you can´t ask much more for the price
The parking is free but a little far and very very tight. If you are driving a big car as I did, you'd be better paying 70 pesos per night elsewhere
I would not stay there again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Close to Zocalo with all services you may need. The staff is nice and helpful and rooms are tidy and confortable.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michal_Paprocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Margarita

Property: Hotel Parador Margarita
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Felipe Flores # 39, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parador Margarita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Parador Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parador Margarita San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing