We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing, very clean and in the heart of the historical district”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Marcos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marcos
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing, very clean and in the heart of the historical district”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great Colonial architecture with card keyed rooms. All rooms overlook a courtyard or dining area. Rooms did not have central heating but portable heaters were provided which worked fine. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable. Internet was hit and miss. Staff was helpful in helping with directions and key points of interest.

Room Tip: We were a party of five with three different rooms and all rooms were in different locations and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftvaduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    10
    1
    6
See reviews for
22
29
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very nice rooms, ample and comfortable as well as clean.
The service is good and the restaurant has nice simple regional food.
Convenient location, close to the center of the City and the pedestrian streets.
The drawbacks.... if your stay is during the cooler months, the rooms are cold, you must request a heater as you check in and they sometimes run out. Also the restaurant is in the courtyard, again may be a bit drafty.
Some rooms face to the courtyard and Restaurant and are noisy during breakfast, I would choose a room towards the back.
It is affordable and the staff is superb.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the courtyard restaurant. They tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedidocTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It's a very clean hotel, the price is very afordable, the restaurant is good enought not fancy and the prices are very reasonable, a couple of blocks from downtown, the people that works there are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Place is clean, floor is made of wood (i love wood), room is simple, love the windows, wifi only in lobby area. Hair dryer provided.

Night in San Cristoble may be cold, but I didnt feel cold inside the room.

Water of the shower did good to my hair and skin, I felt surprised.

staff was friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in the centre of the oldcity, anyways the town is little so you can walk everywhere.

Never stay for breakfast or dinner, but I had coffee one morning it was good and so was the bread.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olitafeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
473 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed two nights here in February. The location is excellent being in the centre of the old town convenient for all main sites. We stayed on a Monday/Tuesday and found the rooms to be very quiet. The hotel inside is beautiful and tastefully furnished. Reception, lobby and bar are located at the front of the building which leads into a covered courtyard where breakfast/dinner is served. All rooms are through the courtyard at the back of the hotel. Covered parking is also available at no extra cost at the back of the hotel.
Our bedroom was exceptionally spacious with king size bed and was well equipped. Polished wooden floorboards give a tasteful feel to the room. Bathroom was average size but ample space with large walk in shower and quality toiletries/hair dryer provided. At the time of our visit it was fairly cold but on request the hotel kindly provided a fan heater which proved most welcome. Free wifi also available in the room.
The hotel seemed fairly quiet at the time of our visit and included in the price of £38 was breakfast which is normally extra. This was very good with fresh fruit, toast/jam, choice of eggs plus coffee. This is a quality hotel and the package offered represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Rustic hotel 10 minutes away from the city center. Unexpected and tasteful countryside environment, free Wi-Fi (mainly in the lobby / restaurant area), good buffet breakfast, quite cold rooms during the night in December (however probably none of the San Cristobal hotels is offering any heating), shower head provided with extremely thin / unpleasant water flow. Beautiful city center, nice restaurants and bars, nice market with cheap but good quality handicraft.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mircix2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

A friend and I stayed here one night after backpacking through Guatemala. We arrived in San Cristobal de las Casas around 11pm without a place to stay. We were fortunate enough to come across this hotel. As soon as we arrived the staff was friendly and welcoming. We even managed to get a free breakfast in the morning. It was extremely comfortable, clean, and provided the calm, quiet atmosphere I needed to rest after a week long trip through Guatemala. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
462.6 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#43 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
134 reviews
462.3 mi away
Hotel Mision Colonial
Hotel Mision Colonial
#32 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
47 reviews
463.5 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
462.5 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
309 reviews
462.8 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
238 reviews
462.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Histori...
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marcos

Property: Hotel San Marcos
Address: Avenida Crescencio Rosas 21 | between Hnos Dominguez and Alvaro Obregon Col. cent, San Cristobal de las Casas 29250, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marcos San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing