We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
8
25
23
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
25
23
17
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a room with 4 people and were positively surprised by the nice atmosphere of the hotel itself. However, I found the staff at the reception (a woman) rather unhelpful as well. An advertisement offers ordering pizza until 10pm at the reception, when we asked for that at 9.20pm she said it's pretty late already and she doesn't think they'll deliver. After asking a 2nd time if she could at least try to call them, she did so and - surprisingly- they delivered.
As we've been there in december it was super cold during the night and the rooms have no heating system.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank lilly_dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepth S, ventas y reservaciones at Hotel Jardines del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario, lo tomaremos en cuenta para mejorar nuestro estándar de calidad para brindarles una mejor comodidad durante su estancia y esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel partly because they had a promotion of three nights for the price of two – 911 pesos per night. We requested a double on the third floor, room 321 as suggested by friends, in order to use a common sitting area with a view. The sunsets were great. But, we were lucky to use the area. The other rooms on the third floor have 3 or 4 beds per room – this means big families traveling. Fortunately, they were empty and we had free access to the common area. That was the best part of this hotel experience.

There were several significant negatives with this hotel. The carpets were stained and the room had a peculiar odor - perhaps the cleaning supplies? The shower drain was clogged and overflowed the bathroom floor quickly. Although this was reported to the front desk, no one came to clean the strainer. So, we had to fix the drain ourselves. The Wi-Fi did not function in the room and it took us several attempts to get connected out in the common area. It appears that the day staff didn't tell the night staff that the access point code had been changed. Two bottles of water were provided each day. Morning coffee was available for purchase in the little restaurant for 15 pesos. I would suggest you purchase your breakfast at some of the nice establishments on the “walking” streets.

The maids were friendly and the front desk staff helpful. They did let us store our bags after check out. We had a late night bus out of town and they let us “hang out” on the third floor common area although we were no longer guests. That was a nice touch!
We’d consider going back. But, there are many choices in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLA_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepth S, ventas at Hotel Jardines del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with an assessment of your stay, an apology for the inconvenience, which we are already working on, all your comments are essential to improve our service and thus provide a better comfort to all guests, We hope to have your visit again so we can give you a better impression of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

At the first look: "very nice". But then the problems started.

Bathroom really smelled of humidity and canalization. I had the room in the backyard. Not even the open window helped!

Night receptionist was a nightmare. A guy. Very unhelpful, unfriendly, plus he didn't know the basic stuff such as what time does the hotel restaurant opens for breakfast...

Breakfast was nothing special (you will find better and cheaper in San Cristobal - try TierrAdentro). I was buying it for the entire group (12 people) and wanted to pay with a credit card. They automatically charge tip which I didn't mind, but they wanted to charge me an extra 16% if paying with a card! Thought the price was a fixed price on the menu! I found that abusive.

I booked through booking.com and some of the rooms were actually cheaper right at the hotel than through booking.com

I found the hotel quality and service very "up and down" and would not go back.

Room Tip: In the back the rooms are older. They have windows into the backyard, however the bathrooms smell bad! Around the reception area, the rooms don't have windows that you could open, but they seem newer, nicer and overall better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepth S, ventas y reservaciones at Hotel Jardines del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018
Google Translation

Agradezco su comentario, lamento leer que su estancia no ha sido de lo mejor y hemos estado trabajando sobre el tema para que su próxima visita sea lo mejor. esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The first room we were assigned was damp and moldy. The second room was worse. Black Mold was everywhere. The walls wooden doors, I won't attempt to describe the bathroom. I did notice that the rooms off the lobby area had undergone a renovation but they appeared to be empty. We booked on expedia and maybe this is the room assigned to the price. However, at any price the mold level is enough to be considered a health risk.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepth S, Ventas y Reservaciones at Hotel Jardines del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario, lamentamos que haya pasado un mal rato durante su estancia en nuestro hotel, ya nos encontramos trabajando sobre el tema. esperamos contar con su visita en en futuro cercano para cambiar la imagen que se llevo de nuestro hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Traveling on a budget can be daunting but we found the Hotel Jardines del Centro to be clean, comfortable and conveniently located in San Cristobal. The staff is helpful. Rooms are cleaned daily, and they provide bottled water. No heat in winter so it's chilly but plenty of hot water. Free wifi available in the rooms. For an additional charge, breakfast is available at 7:00 am.
The lobby is a garden with plenty of comfortable chairs and sofas in which to relax and read. In winter it's sweater & jacket weather, maybe gloves too!
Knowledge of Spanish is almost a must, but everyone is friendly and helpful. If we go back to San Cristobal we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Try for the inside garden for peace and quiet. We heard the parking lot side can be noisy later in the evening.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepth S, Ventas y Reservaciones at Hotel Jardines del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018
Google Translation

Le agradecemos de la manera más atenta de su comentario, es un gusto para nosotros que hay disfrutado de su estancia en nuestro hotel y esperamos en un futuro cercano volver a atenderlos. gracias por su preferencia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews