We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience :) !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've travelled twice to San Cristobal de las Casas, and both has been a great experience to stay in El rincon de los Camellos, Its a small place but its one of the best hostals I ever visited, you can find praivate rooms or dormitories at good price, clean and with a cool decoration. Its comfortable and you will feel like at home. It have a good references from visitors of other countries, and Its a good place to meet people. The owners, Fabian and Steph are very friendly, they not only treat you well, they help you to have a great experience during your travel, and you could share good moments with them.

It perfect to spend some relaxing time, reading a book and listen music in the commons areas, It have a well equipped kitchen, a nice garden, and It is ubicated over one of the main streets of San Cristobal, and you can find a lot of places to drink a coffee or a beer, and eat delicious food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evcaravantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

Ive been in chiapas and San cristobal during several years and i always come back to Los Camellos. In total I´ve probably stayed at this place for about 3 months... This is actually one of the best hostel ive ever been in, and ive been around quite a lot. The atmosphere is really relazed and nice, there are plenty of places to hang out, two nice gardens, a nice well-equiped kitchen and good, spacy colour-ful rooms. Ive always had a nice time here and have met lots of symphatic people. The owners are super-friendly and really healpful, for example, the first time i stayed there my friend forgot his VISA-card in the room and one of the owners ran all the way to the bus station to return it. This may sound like an uncritical, somewhat biased review, but there is actually nothing negative to say about this place. My advice is: Go to San cristobal and stay in Los Camellos.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antontornberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Franchement super! This is definitely a good reference for backpackers. A great value with everything you need ( lockers, chill area, kitchen, hot shower, wifi) and well located.
The staff -Steph and Fabian- was really helpful and made everything to make us having a good stay. and you get free coffee all day long :)
Come here to chill, meet people and live your Mexican trip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphverbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed in this place for 2 weeks and loved every second.

The location is fantastic - close enough to get to everything in a couple of minutes on foot but still chilled and relaxed. Excellent value too with free coffee on tap.

The place was clean and well maintained and the staff were brilliant. Fabian the Mexican owner gave me a lot of help finding my way around the city and has become a great friend.

Looking forward to getting back there someday!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philyio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We arrived in San Cristobal de Las Casas at about 6AM on an overnight bus from Oaxaca and accepted an offer to another hostel on promises of a free cab ride and complimentary breakfast. This shall forever be known as the mistake. Upon getting to said hostel we immediately went looking for better accomodations. San Cristobal had such an amazing vibe that we needed to find a place that better represented the city. On to Los Camellos!

This hostel immediately welcomed us in and showed us what a hostel with the right ingredients is made of. Once you walk through the wooden doors you enter into an open air communal hang out spot with tables, candles, and antique lighting usually paired with awesome music quietly playing in the background. This hostel is owned by a relaxed French and Mexican duo who keep this place clean, tidy, and humorous. The room that we scored was huge and the best deal we've had to date in Mexico. We had plenty of blankets to fight off the cool morning temperatures and the beds were pretty good as far as hostel beds go. The showers were hot and the kitchen was what a hostel kitchen should be. It had all the necessities for travelers on their path with well worn pots, pans, and recycled bottle glasses. The free locally grown coffee was an added perk and I definitely indulged in multiple refills of the caffienated concoction. There was also a small courtyard area with an awesome succulent and tropical plant garden which was a great place to take in the slow pace of the morning before heading off on adventures.

The long and short of it is if you are a relaxed traveler looking for a cool place to hang and call home in San Cristobal than this should be the place you stop looking. I helped put a fresh coat of paint on the walls in the entranceway with the Mexican owner one day so make sure you compliment them on how well the walls look. We stayed for four nights and were sad to leave. Great overall experience!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back were great, but all rooms seem pretty quiet here. This is not a party hostel so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed there for only one night but was one of the best hostel i've been while travelling in Mexico. The French girl and the French guy running the hostel are incredibly friendly and make you feel at home straightaway. Definitely a place I'd recommend to anybody but especially to travellers on a budget looking for a chilled out place where to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Totally adequate hostel. We had a double private room with shared bath (240MXP) , it was nicely quiet and had enough blankets to deal with the fact that it was very cold in the room. The bathrooms were very clean and the water nice and hot. The place lacks a bit of ambiance, not super friendly but good enough. The major draw back was the bed, thin foam over a slab of wood, felt like sleeping on the ground. Probably felt it more since my hips were already bruised from camping.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#55 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 120 in San Cristobal de las Casas
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#3 of 120 in San Cristobal de las Casas
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Sancris
Posada Sancris
#7 of 92 in San Cristobal de las Casas
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal La Casa de Paco
Hostal La Casa de Paco
#9 of 120 in San Cristobal de las Casas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos

Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe No 110, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 120 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $16 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Camellos Hostel, established in 1998, was one of the first in this city and is still the most recommended to enjoy your stay in San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas.It’s a beautiful colonial house with courtyard and garden, located in one of the main streets of the historic center, 5 minutes walking from the Zocalo (Central Park) and tourist walkways, in a central, quiet and safe area, next to all the shops that you may need (laundry, fruits and vegetables, mini market, bakery, butchers, restaurants, etc.).We offer a large kitchen super equipped (fridge, oven, blender, juicer, many dishes, utensils and condiments) including free drinking water, coffee and tea all day.The indoor and outdoor commune areas are spacious and well distributed, with places to rest, share and eat.The rooms are spacious, nice and comfortable, with table, chairs, sheets, blankets and towels.Managers are French & Mexican travelers receiving you personally in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.The experience of more than 10 years as travelers and hoteliers allows us to always improve, providing cleaning and hygiene, safety and comfort, affordable prices and kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Rincon De Los Camellos San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing