We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hot chocolate i had in ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Pan

La Casa del Pan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate i had in ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I only had a hot chocolate with milk (18 pesos), but damnnnnn it tasted good. They used real chocolate bars- not powdered crap. For 18 pesos I was expecting a bigger cup though. You can buy it in their shop too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosysmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    69
    24
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great buffet lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went here based on the Lonely Planet recommendation and it was a good one. The buffet lunch for 100 pesos is great value and the food excellent, even non veggies would love it I'm sure. There's a soup first, then 6 different salads which were the best we'd had on our trip and then a delicious veggie lasagne. Setting is really nice too in a lovely courtyard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good vegetarian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

La Casa del Pan is on the pedestrian-only street running off the zocalo. We passed other restaurants here adversiting vegetarian meals as well. La Casa del Pan welcomed us to a table in a room with an airy feeling thanks to a very high ceiling. On our first visit we ordered a la carte (the hour of the lunch buffet was over) and we were in the mood for a beer. I had a tostada with mescal greens, refried beans, tomatos, avacados on a large tortilla. On our second lunch visit the buffet was available. That day there was a bean soup with toasted strips of tortillas, various cold salads, including mesclun greens, a hot pasta, and a vanilla flan. Both lunches were excellent and of good value, with whole grain bread and some sort of a tapenade. On our second visit there was a roaming guitar player who roamed out after signing, followed by an in-house guitar player. Since it is difficult to find non-meat food in the market stalls, this was a good refuge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
2 reviews
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had lunch at this restaurant two days ago and really enjoyed the experience. The soup and salad bar was very fresh and delicious and the service was excellent. Our server kept us in supply of the wonderful bread, interesting dipping sauces, and the pineapple juice that came with the buffet. The meal was a great value and a nice change of pace from the standard Mexican fare. The building is lovely as well, with a nice central courtyard, a small cinema, a language school, and some other interesting things going on. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I would also suggest to the previous reviewer that it is difficult to know for sure how you got sick, so placing the blame squarely on this place may be unwarranted.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Organic Goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have eaten there three times and each one of them has been enjoyable. The food is not to die for, but it is a solid, tasty dining experience. It is a bit more expensive than other restaurants in the area, but it is good to support a business that supports organic, local and vegetarian culture.

I am looking forward to going again and eating their salad bar lunch special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mackmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Pan also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to La Casa del Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing