We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Oaxaca
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Great guides, fascinating sights and experiences and a swim as well!

We spent two very enjoyable days with Tanya and Ralph. They are very engaging and knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
4RobpK
,
Oaxaca, Mexico
The Hierve el Agua tour is amazing!

I cannot speak highly enough of the Go Well tour of Hierve el Agua that I took with Tanya and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DRS26052014
,
Phoenix, Arizona
Read all 98 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $33.84
More Info
from $33.85
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
from $7.99
More Info
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
96
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
96
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread gourmet lunch hierve el agua cave tour refreshing dip picnic lunch wonderful hike tule tree dry off donut shop great homemade day trip great nature flora and fauna dietary restrictions favorite memories interesting details
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 98 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2020

This was the most special day of our week in Oaxaca and only wish we had found them sooner. It felt like being w friends who are extremely knowledgeable and articulate about the local history, culture and phenomena. They accommodated our particular needs and dietary restriction and are remarkably kind and generous. By the end of the day we were not only more informed, but we really enjoyed our day and felt like friends. Next time we will use them for more adventures, thank you Tanya and Ralph!!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 850pollyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Owner at Go Well Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Polly & The Gang!
Thank so much for taking the time to review your day with us, we always appreciate it and we had a great day with your family. You let us take tons of fun pictures of your crew, too! We wish we could have spent at least another day together, as you could likely tell from Ralph's offer to go out and explore together later in the week. We hope to see you back in Oaxaca.
All the best for the new year,
Tanya & Ralph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2019

Having previously visited hierve el agua on an anonymous mass trip, I was excited to do it a little different this time. And I'm so pleased we did! Ralph was incredibly friendly and attentive, with reams of knowledge about the history of the site, the culture of the area, and the botanics (especially of agave!)

We had a great paced walk around the site with plenty of time to stop and admire the views, before a delicious picnic which Ralph had made - all fresh salads and homemade bread. He made these vegan for me as well. He even bought us a drink each and was very attentive to our needs.

On the way back, we stopped at an amazing mezcal factory Don Agave which was much much better than what we'd been on the previous day.

At the end, Ralph even offered that they could give us additional help later if we needed - which just gives you an insight into the kind of people they are!

Couldn't recommend this more - you won't regret it!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank 502katyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Owner at Go Well Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2019


Katy,
Thanks so much for taking time to post your review of the day. I am sorry I could not join you. We were at Don Agave yesterday for lunch and Martha said you guys had stopped in. We love the family there and glad you enjoyed it as well. I am so pleased we had the pleasure of showing you Oaxaca a different way. :)
Safe travels.
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2019 via mobile

Tanya and Ralph took us on an absolutely brilliant tour. They picked us from our hotel early in the morning so we got to the site before the crowds arrived. We weren't quite sure what to expect from a private tour, but they were really friendly and completely put us at ease. When we arrived at the site, we went on a hike that lasted for about an hour and a half around all of the different formations. Ralph and Tanya were really knowledgeable, with lots to tell us about the site and the surrounding plants and wildlife. We were then able to swim in the pools, which was an amazing experience. Tanya and Ralph were on hand to look after our belongings, provide towels and take photos when requested! They then provided us with a really delicious homemade lunch, a real treat after a week in Mexico. On our return, they were happy to take us to one of a number of sites on the way back to Oaxaca. We asked to go the Tule Tree, which was great to see. The additional cost of admission was reasonably not included in the price of the tour (everything else in the day was fully included) but it was great to have the opportunity to see something else while having people who knew the area with us. Throughout the day, Ralph and Tanya were really attentive and ensured we had everything we needed. I arranged the tour through Tanya and she was really easy to communicate with, always replying promptly and being really clear and informative about what was included and how the day would work. I would absolutely recommend booking any of their tours.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank andrewgraham2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Owner at Go Well Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2019

Andrew, thanks for sharing your comments with the wider travel community. It was a pleasure sharing the day at Hierve el Agua with you. Ralph always has fun making sure everyone has more pictures that they could ever need! I am happy you felt looked after, that is exactly what we hope for, that you can have a relaxing and enjoyable day. We hope your travel adventures find you back in Oaxaca some day!
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2019

Tanya and Ralph took us to Hierve el Agua on the Sunday after Day of the Dead. We were the only people on the tour (everyone seems to leave town as soon as Day of the Dead's over) which with some tour guides that might be awkward, but not so with Tanya and Ralph - they're lovely and very easy people to spend the day with. If you'd like to visit Hierve and learn about the local area, people and fauna I highly recommend them. This is much more than a typical tour where you rush around various sites without having enough time to really see them. This is a 'slow' tour (or at least one that goes at whatever speed you'd like) where you spend a decent amount of time there not just in the pools but exploring the area, and checking out some pretty cool cacti and views. They also offer to take you to another place on the way back into town. We chose the market in Tlacolula. Even though it was quieter than usual because it was just after Day of the Dead, Tanya and Ralph were great at helping us find what we were interested in (in our case trying barbacoa and buying some mole paste) and knew exactly which parts of the market and stands were to visit. If you're in Oaxaca and want to visit the surrounding area get in touch with them!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank joemakingsense2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Owner at Go Well Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2019

Joe,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with the travel community. We had a lovely day with you guys and I hope you have made mole since getting back home. Next time, more goat barbacoa for sure!
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019 via mobile

A wonderful hike, rich in flowers with an excellent local guide. Ralph and Tanya drove us high in the mountains to Lachatao, where our young guide met us. He knew where to see orchids, cacti and other plants. Very rewarding. And with all their tours, a delicious lunch prepared by Tanya.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Owner at Go Well Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2019

Hi Julie,
Thanks for taking the time to write about our day in Lachatao, it is such a special place so it always feels like a gift when we get to take our guests there. We look forward to sharing more Oaxaca adventures the next time your travels find you in Oaxaca!
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews