We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting food, lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Biznaga

La Biznaga
Ranked #17 of 453 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Beach, MI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting food, lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

La Biznaga offers some interesting takes on traditional Oaxacan flavors. The restaurant is in a partly covered courtyard. The menu is extensive, and many dishes feature unusual and tasty-looking sauces. We tried bananas wrapped in thinly sliced chicken breast with a slightly sweet sauce, and a small steak in a tart, dark sauce. Drinks are generous and generously poured. Biznaga seems popular with both locals and tourists, and we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table. Service was a little slow, but again, the place was busy. Two mains with an appetizer, three drinks and a tip ran us about 500 pesos, somewhere between US $35 and $40, moderate by U.S. standards but a little high for Oaxaca, we thought. Nevertheless, we'd go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    269
    122
    69
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst in Oaxaca”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

If I was lucky enough to stumble upon a time machine, instead of travelling back in time to improve my wealth or love life, I would go back to the hour before I decided to go to La Biznaga. We waited over 1.5 hours for overpriced cold food and were forced to listen to complaints by the owner of how busy he was.

Avoid this place.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Litolindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey (for Oaxaca) but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

By pricey, I'm talking $150-$250 pesos per entree ($12-20 USD) so if you're only in Oaxaca for a short time, it is well worth going. In the US, that would be considered relatively cheap for a restaurant in a major city, but most places in Oaxaca you can get a full meal for about $35-50 pesos ($3-5 USD). If you're on a budget, then La Biznaga is probably out of your league, but if you have some extra money to spend or want to treat yourself, then go for it. The are going for the slow food movement, so everything is very fresh. The menu was creative and the ambiance artsy yet comfortable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
637 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“First Night - First Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Ate here 27 Dec by chance. Other choices were all booked. Stopped in for a happy hour glass of wine at the bar while searching out a dining spot on our first night in town. Seeing the food and experiencing the aromas made our choice to stay easier - that and the other 3 places we tried to drop in on were fully booked. Place is not pretentious, a bit more 60's bohemian might be closer. Their motto is slow food. A decent (to us) sound track was playing at a decant volume. Shortly after being seated at a table the restaurant was full.
The wine selection is adequate and fairly priced. The Azteca soup was OK but was served too cold. The Oaxaca salad with string cheese was OK but had way too much cheese. The banana wrapped in chicken was a bit of a novelty. Banana was good but the thin strip of chicken breast wrap was dried out. Service was adequate.

Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice setting, undependable service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food is generally very good, though we've had one or two meals over the years that have left something to be desired. The main fault at Biznaga is the service. They like to tell people they serve "Slow Food". I'm all for that, but they could look at you within 5 minutes of sitting down. And they could bring the beer within 15 minutes of ordering. They just don't care about their customers. The atmosphere however is about the nicest in Oaxaca - so, we go back and get treated badly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank atriportwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Biznaga also viewed

 

Been to La Biznaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing