We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Casa azul in Oaxaca”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to your comfortable, private apartment in our home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to your comfortable, private apartment in our home
Dining table Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Welcome to your comfortable, private apartment in our home
Dining table
Living area
Living area
Kitchentte
Private ensuite bathroom
Fully furnished bedroom
Queen sized bed and hanging space for your clothes
Your well equipped kitchenette, including complimentary drinking water
All guests have access to the home kitchen
Enjoy use of kitchen essentials, e.g. oil, salt, sugar
Guests have 24 hour access to our rooftop terrace, where we offer free water and coffee
Relax and enjoy views of Santo Domingo from our rooftop terrace
The famous Santo Domingo church is less than 400m away from our home
You'll find us here, simply ring the front doorbell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Wendyk9
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Casa azul in Oaxaca ”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We felt so fortunate to find this place. The location can't be beat, the house is lovely, clean, and very comfortable. We loved our fully contained apartment, but also used the common space: Including great coffee, cooking, and best of all, a beautiful terrace. There is some noise from the street, only to be expected from the location near Santo Domingo. It is located next door to the gym, which we actually used and enjoyed. Last but not least, Jose is a wonderful host, and when we return to beautiful Oaxaca, we definitely hope to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherryeth...
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly located to enjoy Oaxaca”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying in Jose's 1-bedroom apartment for 2 months and loved the proximity to the main cultural area of the city. It is an easy 5-minute walk to amazing coffee, jewelry, food, and LOTS of festivities. And the roof terrace has an amazing view of the city. Important thing to note is that the apartment is RIGHT next to a gym that blasts music until 8pm on weekdays. Not an issue for me because I appreciated having a gym so close to me and gave me NO excuses to not work out while on vacation. :)

Jose was a perfect host! He introduced us to our favorite mezcal, El Rey de Matatlan, and took us to the factory to see how it was made! We so appreciated the local POV. I would easily stay here again on future visits!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris V
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is one of my favoriete places in whole Mexico! Jose is so friendly and helpful,best host ever! And best mezcal ever! The house is beautiful and very Central,magnificent roof top terrace with view over the stunning Santo Domingo church. There is everything you need and it's very clean,so if you go Oaxaca,stay in casa JM!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykoivu
Carpinteria, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice accommodations, great host!”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2015

When wife and I stayed in Oaxaca a few years back we had a fantastic time, and a big part of the reason for that was Jose's Osorio's Casa JM de Oaxaca. The location was perfect in that all the good sites were within walking distance, but we weren't smack in the middle of all the tourist bustle and noise around the zocalo. And our host Jose was great: accommodating, available and not overbearing. We appreciated his welcoming nature, the privacy of our own kitchen-included apartment, and being able to use the rooftop terrace and its sweet view anytime we liked. The only drawback is the gym located behind the building. They play music all day, which isn't a problem if you're out and about seeing the sights. Also, they do close down at night. We were made well aware of the noise issue prior to booking, so it was expected. Other than that, we totally recommend staying at Casa JM de Oaxaca!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anngeles
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the BEST places to stay in OAXACA!”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Casa JM is one of the best places to stay in Oaxaca! It's located in the middle of everything; just two blocks from the Santo Domingo church. While I was there I saw all the festivities happening only a few steps from my door on the Andador Turistico. The place is always clean and it is extremely safe. The owner and the staff of the hotel are excellent, they will help you with any question you may have. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace with a magnificent 180 degree view of Oaxaca, and chairs where you can sit and relax. I have stayed in many different places in Oaxaca and by far Casa JM is number one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_maja
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best place to stay when in Oaxaca”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Casa JM is the absolutely the most welcoming stay where we ever been. It has excellent location, beautiful terrace and the owner is magnificent host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendjon
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa JM de Oaxaca”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

José is a perfect host who will go out of his way to make his guests feel welcome and their stay enjoyable. The location is perfect overlooking the 16th century cathedral of Santo Domingo with so many restaurants, mezcalerias and sights to see. There are 2 rooftop terraces with views of the city and the surrounding hills. This was my 6 th stay with José over many years. Highly recommend. He goes above and beyond what is expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing