We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Villada Inn
Nearby Hotels
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$64
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
52
13
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
13
3
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 72 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here December 24th to 26th 2013. The wifi didn´t work which was disappointing because we wanted to try and Skype our families over xmas but couldn´t. They do have internet in recpetion but it was very slow so we still couldn´t skype. It is out of the way and up in the mountains but we did expect this so the location didn´t bother us so much. It did have an incredible view. The rooms were clean which was a positive but the walls were paper thin so we could hear everything in the next room as clear as crystal. We did also get a cockroach in the room on the first night so we blocked the doorway on the second night. We were also woken up in the middle of both nights with stray cats fighting and stray dogs howling. This really was so loud and went on for ages so it kept us up a while. They also strut around the place all day and bother you when eating. It seems like it used to be a really fun, chilled out place once but not anymore, The website said English speaking staff would be on hand but this wasn´t the case. There was one English speaking man who was really helpful when we saw him but that was only 2 times briefly he happened to pass by. It was really stressful because we were hoping they could help us book an internal flight that we had been struggling to do on a website and there was no one English speaking to help us do so it wasn´t great. The lady that seems to run the place spoke ok English but tried not to speak English to us wherever possible. When she checked us in knowing we didn´t speak Spanish and only the basic phrases she carried on giving us instructions in Spanish and there were a lot of instructions!! So we understood none of them! The awards they have won were quite some time ago, about 5 to 6 years ago and they seem to have let themselves go since then. Perhaps it´s changed hands, I´m not sure but in the cafe there are hundreads of messages from travellers on the walls but the majority of them back date to 2008 ish. It seems it´s more of a place for families now as that´s who mostly stayed there. Not that we would have gone but the bar they mention on their website didn´t open either. I think this place is ok but nothing special. You would be better off staying somewhere more central if your a traveller on a budget. As mentioned, it´s more of place for families on a budget who don´t mind being out of the way and having no internet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here one night in the hostel with a big group traveling with us. We spent about an hour trying to find the place even with maps. The streets are a maze when you get close and not all have easy to find names. Even harder finding it at night! A more detailed map would have helped, one that showed all streets and maybe a few more landmarks.
The view was great and we enjoyed the stay very much. Hospitable staff. Good food. The hostel was rustic and we did get eaten up by mosquitoes that night- I recommend some bug spray.
View great.
Food great.
Fun and unique place.
Would stay there again in a private room if I could make sure I could find it.
Next time, I am going to have to ask about the Temazcal! They have one there we just didn't have time!

Room Tip: The hostel was great for our big group but the bunks don't have rails so it won't work for small kids to be on the top. One room has 4 bunks and the other has two. Your sleep quality depends if there is a loud party going on in the town below.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gtzfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days,and had a wonderful time.a nice,offcentre location,great hosts,a 10meter pool and nice oaxacan style rooms.the hammocks are nice too.the place has everything necessary to have a most enjoyable rest. would surely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonKozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

While you can stay in fancy hotel's you would miss out a true experience of Mexicana. The rooms are all different and set in different groups of buildings. There is every thing you need. Pool, Bar, Gameroom and Bar, a small chapel if you need some reflection, plenty of parking behind a gate and a great restaurant that does not have a lot of verity but it's excellent food. We were here 4 days and it became more of a family atmospher than a hotel. They will help with intertaing your visitors also. It is a little out of the way so could be hard to find but well worth it. The view from this hotel is also typical Mexico beautiful. If I ever visit Oaxaca, Mexico and visit Oaxaca City this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Loved the Villada. It is a good 10-15min drive to the centre, but the staff will call you a taxi which costs 50pesos (about $4). The breakfast is amazing - although not included in the price!! I didn't mind that it was included, as it meant it was a proper good breakfast, with lots of choice, not just the standard continental breakfast that you would expect to be included. The staff are lovely and will do anything to help you. They had a bigger, nicer room available, and upgraded us at no extra cost. Definitely worth staying in if you don't want to be stuck in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews