We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Villada Inn
Nearby Hotels
Parador Del Dominico(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$68
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$74
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$165
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
52
13
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
13
3
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 72 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I can't overstate how good this place is - all the comforts of a really good resort (pool, deck chairs, sauna, hammocks on the balconies, private rooms if you like), combined with the friendliness and feeling of community which is the heart of a good hostel. The owners go out of their way to help you out, the little restaurant provides great breakfasts (wonderful local coffee), the beer fridge is open to you at any time (honesty system) and all of this in a spectacular location overlooking the city.

If there is one weakness of the place, it is that it's about a 30 minutes walk from the town centre. However, if you'd rather not have the exercise, taxis are not exactly expensive, and as the place is priced so incredibly, it's not hard to justify staying up here in this wonderful spot.

Be aware that this IS a hostel, with all the fun that goes along with that (obviously no room service, and can get rowdy on the weekends, especially as there is a bar). But embrace it and you will have a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GourmandasaurusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We read good things about this place, and weren't disappointed. The owners were super friendly and all staff were willing to offer assistance. It's in a great spot to the north of the town. You can't walk to town from there, but a taxi only costs 50 pesos, which doesn't break the bank. There is a bar upstairs, but it was only open on the first night of our stay. I suppose it depends on demand. The pool is pretty big and looks very nice, though the water is cold, so the weather needs to be hot to use it.

The room we had was simple, but large. There's no tv, but we didn't want one anyway. The only downside of our room was that the internet signal did not reach it. It was around the back though, so perhaps it would have been better in one of the ones closer to the pool or near the office. Luckily the pool area was a lovely communal place to sit and do things online. With a toddler a couple of spots were a bit dangerous e.g. no barrier at the end of the balcony, so we had to be on our guard. Overall though I'm very glad we stayed there and would happily do so again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Second visit to La Villada this year. Spend three nights and two days with seven others in my group. The owner is a wonderful family who is ever willing to accommodate their guests. Stayed at the cabin across the office this year. There were ongoing renovations last year which are complete.

There is a new wing with three rooms, what appears to be a meeting facility and new club above the swimming pool. The club has six flat screen TV's where I watched game 7 of the baseball World Series. The restaurant serves tasty and affordable meals, had pancakes one morning and eggs Oaxacan style with tortillas the next. This is still a friendly and tranquil getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. There is wireless internet which is password protected but the signal does fade out at the far end of the compound.

While I am glad to see the additions I am ambivalent about the club. The music was loud and filtered throughout the compound. Thankfully I had earplugs to sleep with. For me the loud music in the evenings took away one of the things I like about La Villada which is the peace and quiet at night while watching the stars or lights of the city below. Thankfully the club does not open every night. I rated it four stars this year because of this. However it is still my favorite place to stay in Oaxaca City.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at La Villada for 3 nights in a beautiful cabin/chalise with views over the valley to the mountains opposite. The rooms contain one double bed, 2 singles, TV and a lovely decorated and large bathroom. There's plenty of room to have your own space and lots of sociable areas as well. Outside the rooms are hammocks along the verranda area and lots of seating set around the pool. The owner and his family are so friendly and he speaks excellent English. It is a little way from the town centre but it's definately worth it as the hostels in the centre were over priced and horrid! The price of the taxi is compensated by the fact you can very comfortably sit around in this beautiful location with drink you have bought from town or they even have a help yourself fridge full of beer (and water) with an 'honesty box' policy. The family advised us on what day trips to go on and can organise tours (commission free), where the small tour bus will come to pick you up from right outside the hostel. Really lovely find!

Room Tip: If there are 2 of you go for the private room
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missfranbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

La Villada is in a tranquil setting high above Oaxaca. Because of this it can be hard to find, as there's a maze of roads that wind up into the hills from the city below; but you can park, free, once you get there. The inn is classed as a hostel on some web sites and has mixed accommodation. We stayed in a private room with en suite shower, which was basic but comfortable, clean, and spacious. They also have a dormitory with shared facilities. There's a dining room, although most people ate by the pool, and traditional Mexican food and drink is available all day - the food is very good and we enjoyed everything we had. The swimming pool is a big plus, as it was hot when we were there in May. There's also a bar, but unfortunately it was only open at weekends and we were there mid-week. Another great thing about La Villada is the cost. We paid less that $50 per night for a double room, and the food/drink was also very reasonable. This was in strong contrast to B&Bs in the city that were asking well over $100 per night. All of this, plus the helpful, welcoming staff, a parrot that loves to be stroked and a friendly dog called Miel, makes La Villada a relaxing retreat in Oaxaca that's also great value.

Room Tip: I would recommend a private room in the 'new' block. The fittings are modern and less rustic and rooms look straight out across the valley.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgina1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews