We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Still great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villada Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villada Inn
Ranked #18 of 122 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Second visit to La Villada this year. Spend three nights and two days with seven others in my group. The owner is a wonderful family who is ever willing to accommodate their guests. Stayed at the cabin across the office this year. There were ongoing renovations last year which are complete.

There is a new wing with three rooms, what appears to be a meeting facility and new club above the swimming pool. The club has six flat screen TV's where I watched game 7 of the baseball World Series. The restaurant serves tasty and affordable meals, had pancakes one morning and eggs Oaxacan style with tortillas the next. This is still a friendly and tranquil getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. There is wireless internet which is password protected but the signal does fade out at the far end of the compound.

While I am glad to see the additions I am ambivalent about the club. The music was loud and filtered throughout the compound. Thankfully I had earplugs to sleep with. For me the loud music in the evenings took away one of the things I like about La Villada which is the peace and quiet at night while watching the stars or lights of the city below. Thankfully the club does not open every night. I rated it four stars this year because of this. However it is still my favorite place to stay in Oaxaca City.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at La Villada for 3 nights in a beautiful cabin/chalise with views over the valley to the mountains opposite. The rooms contain one double bed, 2 singles, TV and a lovely decorated and large bathroom. There's plenty of room to have your own space and lots of sociable areas as well. Outside the rooms are hammocks along the verranda area and lots of seating set around the pool. The owner and his family are so friendly and he speaks excellent English. It is a little way from the town centre but it's definately worth it as the hostels in the centre were over priced and horrid! The price of the taxi is compensated by the fact you can very comfortably sit around in this beautiful location with drink you have bought from town or they even have a help yourself fridge full of beer (and water) with an 'honesty box' policy. The family advised us on what day trips to go on and can organise tours (commission free), where the small tour bus will come to pick you up from right outside the hostel. Really lovely find!

Room Tip: If there are 2 of you go for the private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missfranbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

La Villada is in a tranquil setting high above Oaxaca. Because of this it can be hard to find, as there's a maze of roads that wind up into the hills from the city below; but you can park, free, once you get there. The inn is classed as a hostel on some web sites and has mixed accommodation. We stayed in a private room with en suite shower, which was basic but comfortable, clean, and spacious. They also have a dormitory with shared facilities. There's a dining room, although most people ate by the pool, and traditional Mexican food and drink is available all day - the food is very good and we enjoyed everything we had. The swimming pool is a big plus, as it was hot when we were there in May. There's also a bar, but unfortunately it was only open at weekends and we were there mid-week. Another great thing about La Villada is the cost. We paid less that $50 per night for a double room, and the food/drink was also very reasonable. This was in strong contrast to B&Bs in the city that were asking well over $100 per night. All of this, plus the helpful, welcoming staff, a parrot that loves to be stroked and a friendly dog called Miel, makes La Villada a relaxing retreat in Oaxaca that's also great value.

Room Tip: I would recommend a private room in the 'new' block. The fittings are modern and less rustic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgina1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have been to La Villada Inn twice - once alone and once with a friend - and I can't wait to go back. Like the other reviews state, this place is not only comfortable and beautiful but the family that runs it is warm and hospitable. Both times I stayed I had a private room so I can't really speak to the dorm/hostel vibe but I certainly met great people in the dining/bar area. Again, the family that runs the place is amazing. When I was their the first time (during Day of the Dead) a group of us went out with one of the sons for a great and raucous night on the town - truly a memorable experience. Some may scoff at the distance from the main part of town, but it truly is a treat to stay in this mountain retreat, and in all honesty it's not that far away and is perfectly accessible by bus. I can't say enough about this place! Love La Villada Inn.

Room Tip: Try to contact the operators directly - esp. if you need a single. They have a FB page too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irunbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and myself and our 8 year old son stayed here in July, initially we were booked in for 2 nights but stayed for 4 as we just didn't want to leave. Julietta and her brothers are the most helpful and friendly hosts and their children are adorable. I can't fault this place, it is a short taxi ride into town but this never bothered us. It is very nice to be up in the hills and the view really makes it. Our son loved the pool. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable, we had a terrace and a view of the hills right from our room. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Villada Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Very nice hostel once you are there.

The access is very complicated (on a hill with a lot of a little street).
There is a parking on site, and by car you need 15mn to go in the centre.

In exchange for the bad location, the hostel is very welcoming, spacious and pleasing.
Too much cold in the night during december, the rooms are badly isolated and extra covers were needed.
Internet not available from all the rooms.
Not very clean, and the shower was a bit rusty.
Still a good experiences :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melina_Guadalajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Very peaceful location with great views above the city. The property is well-maintained and comfortable. If you want to get away from the city center, this is a good choice. Bilingual owners are very helpful. Good food, WIFI, limited hot water so be quick. Secure parking if you have a car. The pool looked nice, and I'm sure it's great to have during the summer. 50-60 peso taxi to the Centro. Take the map with you if you go into town- it would be difficult to explain to the taxi drivers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puxesaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cantera Real
Hotel Cantera Real
#56 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#5 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villas del Sol
Hotel Villas del Sol
#52 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.2 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#11 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villada Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villada Inn

Property: La Villada Inn
Address: Felipe Angeles #204 | Ejido Guadalupe Victoria, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Villada Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing