We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 111 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2019

Traveled for two weeks on birding, natural history, culture, archeology tour for eight plus two guides. Local guide was Benito Hernandez. He was driver, interpreter, history and archeology guide and anything that was needed. His love for Oaxaca in all aspects was evident. He has knowledge also about botany and birds as well. If I return to enjoy Oaxaca he wii be the first person I would call. Benito.guide@gmail.com 52 951-100-1169 Thanks Benito

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank harrybF5090RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

We hired Suzanne for a private custom tour of Oacaxa for a day. We had an incredible time. She is so knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. She reccomended Miguel Angel to help us with a private art tour the following day. I highly reccommend touring with Suzanne!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank SibilaVivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019

I hired Benito for a day of bird watching. He picked me up right on time at the house at 7am and we headed into the mountains. We visited many spots, changing plans a couple times to steer clear of fog and rain. We saw about 30 species including the Mountain Trogon, Red Warbler, and Broad-tailed Hummingbird (7 species of hummingbirds in total). Lunch was fabulous too as we were able to bird watch right from our table. We ended at 3pm (Normally he said a day goes until 4 or 5pm, but I didn’t want to miss too much of the Day of the Dead festivities.). I had a couple follow up questions about species we saw post-trip, and he promptly answered them via email. Benito was extremely knowledgable not only of the area birds, but also of plants and trees. If I ever make it back to Oaxaca, I will hire him again!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank rrminardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

Discover Oaxaca Tours was recommended to me by a food writer in Mexico. We wanted a tour that combined visits to Mitla and Monte Alban with visits to village markets and a home cooking experience in one of the villages. We had an experience that was beyond our expectations in the span of a two day tour. I can't recommend this service enough. Suzanne, who was our guide, was incredibly accommodating, easy to spend many hours with and a wealth of knowledge coming from her 20 plus years of living and raising a family in Oaxaca. Her knowledge of the local ancient and recent history (as well as the history of Mexico in general), the indigenous cultures of Oaxaca and their traditions was encyclopedic. Definitely five stars/EXCELLENT!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Jeffresonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019

We had two incredible days in Oaxaca with Benito as our knowledgable and friendly guide.
One day we toured Monte Alban, Cuilapan and Zaachila Market. The other day we went to Mercado de Tlacolula, Herve el Agua, and Santa Maria el Tule. Benito knows everything about Oaxaca. For hours we discussed the history of Oaxaca and Mexico, ancient civilizations, architecture, the multiple different types of fruits and vegetables in the markets and how best cook and eat them; and different trees, plants, birds and butterflies as we were hiking. My wife, fifteen year old son and I were thrilled to experience so much as we went from place to place. Honestly, my son will listen to me for about 20 minutes before drifting off. To Benito he listened in rapt attention and asked questions for 8 hours one day and 9 hours the other day.
Benito was incredibly flexible. When we decided to take a long hike where no tourists go, below Herve el Agua to encircle it and look at the rock formations from different vantage points, he was immediately game and off we went. He took us to phenomenal restaurants for lunch. At La Capila near Zaachila we ate the yummiest Mole Coloradito sauce,. Restaurante Rancho Zapata was equally beautiful and clean with great customer service and phenomenal food.
I would recommend Benito (and Suzanne who was our initial contact person) as a 15 on a scale of 10. You can’t get any better. We look forward to returning to Oaxaca and joining them again.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Explorer761792
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews